Wabtec Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Wabtec Manager Reviews

Updated May 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
91%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Wabtec CEO Raymond T Betler
Raymond T Betler
3 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Growing Fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - EHS Manager in Greenville, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wabtec full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast Paced and Growing Business

    Cons

    Moving too fast to keep up

    Wabtec2019-05-02
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Made good decision by joining Wabtec"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wabtec full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Have been working for last 6 months. It is wonderful experience Great work and latest technologies Team work & Global Good leadership Very good 401K match

    Cons

    Not many people know this great niche company

    Advice to Management

    My family is very happy me working here with flexible hours. I work on latest technologies and learn from team members. Sr management support you for every good thing and at the same time don't encourage unprofessional behavior impacting the team or company. It is perfect place to grow your career and enhance your skills.

    Wabtec2017-12-11
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Sad situation in Duncan"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Spartanburg, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wabtec full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the smartest and hardest working people I've ever been around. They are friendly and helpful and I enjoyed my time with them.

    Cons

    The place is crazy. Very mismanaged and I am surprised at the corporate oversight there in Duncan. A new leadership team should step in and run the place like they care. Right now it's a big joke and the customers are not happy.

    Advice to Management

    The good people are leaving. Someone should take note.

    Wabtec2017-03-10
  4. Helpful (12)

    "Leadership failure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Program Manager in Duncan, SC

    I have been working at Wabtec full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    history, past leadership and industry leadership

    Cons

    current toxic leadership failure destruction since 2015 driving moral to historic low

    Wabtec2017-02-11
  5. "Solid Company, Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Duncan, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Wabtec full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company and employees do their diligence to make the best possible products. They hire employ experts and management keeps employee goals & objectives aligned well with the management, division, and company.

    Cons

    Challenging to meet needs of final end user as well as direct paying customer when they don't agree. Requires patience and tact.

    Wabtec2014-08-06
  6. "Large corporation with great upward growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Plant Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wabtec full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very diverse. Management has action plans for upward mobility for those that put in the work. Awesome benefits

    Cons

    There are times when Lean theories contribute to a lack of training and compensation.

    Advice to Management

    Understand that the bottom line is money but be aware of the hazards of leaning too thin.

    Wabtec2014-07-08
  7. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wabtec

    Pros

    Relatively good culture and a great mix of skill and experience across the various offices. There is a lot of opportunity for self-improvement and career progression depending on which office you work at...

    Cons

    Leadership was not as strong as it could be - there were times when there was too much empowerment allowed to team managers, which led to misalignment of the team to business goals and overall profitability, customer satisfaction, repeat business opportunities, etc.

    Advice to Management

    Leadership should be stronger across the offices to ensure alignment of all team leaders to business strategic objectives.

    Wabtec2016-06-26
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Stable company, Interesting industry, not a lot of innovation."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manager in
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wabtec

    Pros

    Fairly stable company, interesting products, good people to work with, work/life balance does exist. The corporation carries no debt. Well run at the very top.

    Cons

    At the divisional level, it is too tactical and not strategic. Lack of true innovation. Too many people just worried about getting the next job out and not the long term health or opportunities of the industry. HR benefits are meager. Office decor is depressing.

    Advice to Management

    HR needs to get more creative and flexible - more vacation, flexible hours, some form of incentive based pay for the "little guy". We are not all locomotive assembly workers. Cater more to what white collar professionals expect and can find in other companies.

    Wabtec2009-02-04
Found 8 reviews