Wabtec Reviews | Glassdoor

Wabtec Reviews

Updated Sep 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 167 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Wabtec CEO Raymond T Betler
Raymond T Betler
47 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to learn and grow as an Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Rosemont, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wabtec full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent exposure to all aspects of the product design process. You are not just a drafter, quality engineer, data analyst, or technical writer as these projects are integrated, fulfilling and require and go-getter mindset. Friendly people with years and years of experience in the industry that are more than willing to help you learn and are patient to help you with different tasks. Wabtec recently aquired GE... Transportation and has doubled its size and has become a Fortune 500 company. Also, you will not be trapped behind your desk doing trivial work as you will have opportunities to travel and visit various sites that manufacture, test, and refine our products.

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes work can get slow at times and it may feel like you have to constantly ask management for more tasks. However, this is not common.

    Advice to Management

    Build a comprehensive new hire agenda so that there is clear direction and exposure to aspects of the projects and products. I look forward to my future work with Wabtec and SCT!

    Wabtec2019-02-11
  2. "Big company, small feel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Information Technology 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wabtec full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Coworkers Growth possibilities Upper management has a good idea of company direction

    Cons

    Lots of overtime for non-exempt employees No alternate work schedules Lower salaries Low amount of vacation time

    Wabtec2019-01-04
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Bad Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Foreman 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wabtec full-time

    Pros

    Good Balance of work and home balance.

    Cons

    Management lies to your face, pay is low for the work you do,management steals from company( tools,parts,fuel...).

    Advice to Management

    Don't lie to your employees, and don't cheat your customers!

    Wabtec2019-01-08
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Company Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Inman, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wabtec full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good people at same level

    Cons

    Management abilities were very uneven

    Wabtec2018-12-26
  5. "Not Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QPS Coordinator in Greensburg, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wabtec full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The pay and the benefits

    Cons

    The culture is very standoffish

    Advice to Management

    Employees want to do well when you encourage them,

    Wabtec2018-12-05
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Company makes money but doesn't pass it along to employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wabtec full-time

    Pros

    Strong player in transit market Job security

    Cons

    No Employee Stock Purchase plan (have to acquire stock through 401K) No bonus or profit sharing Favoritism is visible

    Advice to Management

    Share the financial success of the company with the employees who got you there. Even a small incentive program aligned with divisions hitting their I&O would be nice

    Wabtec2018-12-04
  7. "Not the best for software engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Wabtec full-time

    Pros

    -Flexible on hour but that mostly becuase nobody pays attention.

    Cons

    -No structure -Not willing to buy new software or hardware for devlopers

    Wabtec2018-10-29
  8. Helpful (1)

    "CNC Machinist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CNC Machinist in Duncan, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wabtec full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The hours were manageable. However, the overtime was mandatory, and intrusive at times, that interrupted personal free time.

    Cons

    Old and outdated horizontal machining centers.

    Wabtec2018-11-10
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Wabtec full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People are not fired no matter what.

    Cons

    Very bad work environment. That's why stay away.

    Advice to Management

    Change the management at fort worth, tx.

    Wabtec2018-09-22
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Leaving WABTEC was the best career move I've ever made"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Positive Train Control Team in Cedar Rapids, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wabtec full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are a few decent individuals (worker bees).

    Cons

    Misanthropic, clueless management makes every workday an ethical dilemma.

    Advice to Management

    I guess they could start by getting rid of the hostile work environment - Hire some decent people with business acumen and scrap everyone who has had a hand in the epic failure of the PTC system. But the people who are obviously the problem seem to be untouchable in the organization.

    Wabtec2018-07-23
Found 167 reviews