Wabtec Reviews | Glassdoor

Wabtec Reviews

Updated Oct 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Wabtec CEO Raymond T Betler
Raymond T Betler
50 Ratings
  1. Helpful (7)

    "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Azle, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wabtec

    Pros

    Large and stable company Growth via acquisition

    Cons

    Growth does not produce additional opportunities for movement. Employees are held in existing position Principals are unwilling to share business operations knowledge with techs No training offered in how complex systems are supposed to operate.

    Advice to Management

    Train new hire and existing tech staff in how the systems they are to work on and support are supposed to work.

    Wabtec2017-01-08
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Great site team, company management is a struggle"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wabtec

    Pros

    Great people and many long term knowledgeable employees.

    Cons

    Scatter-brained management strategies. Often found ourselves tasked to execute priorities before management had adequately aligned support. This led several times to situations of hurry up and wait, leaving the customer reasonably upset and venting this frustration to the crew on site.

    Advice to Management

    You have the talent in your company but you leave them our in the field. Hire more people and quit running a fortune 500 company on a skeleton crew for profiting. Quality suffers. Lastly, promote your talent and pay them appropriately.

    Wabtec2016-10-06
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Revolving Door"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Sales and Marketing in Moorpark, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Wabtec full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Clean professional facility in a good location for Simi and Thousand Oaks residency.

    Cons

    Overly dependent on out sourcing of materials hence not price competitive in the market.

    Advice to Management

    Trust the loyalty of your management team.

    Wabtec2016-10-11
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Rough place to work. I worked there almost 5 years although the money was good. The management is biased to their frien"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Machine Operator in Chillicothe, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Wabtec

    Pros

    Good money but hard and miserable place.

    Cons

    Always changing the rules to benefit a friend or family member. If you are a woman be careful of the main guy he is a sexual predator and will lie about anything. Not all the people there have to do their job. It's a boy's club and your either in or out. Harassment is there biggest policy.

    Advice to Management

    Dump your -- and start listening to your workers. Make everyone do their job.

    Wabtec2016-10-27
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Par for railroad industry."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wabtec

    Pros

    Easy to get hired, hard to get fired.

    Cons

    Too many temps, no quality control. No real job titles or responsibilities. Always hear about shops closing and downsizing at other locations across the country.

    Advice to Management

    Bring in experienced supervisors to lead teams of mechanics, painters, electricians, field services etc.

    Wabtec2016-10-02
  6. "Technician II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Wabtec

    Pros

    Good Benefits Package is Provided

    Cons

    Management will Not Allow experience / expertise outside of Immediate Job title.

    Wabtec2016-08-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Overview of Vapor Stone Rail Systerms"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Purchasing Agent Vendor Negotiation in Plattsburgh, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wabtec for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fast pace, very challenging and rewarding place to work. Great benefits and great coworkers to work with.

    Cons

    Not alot of advancement opportunities.

    Wabtec2016-07-28
  8. "Profitable business and great people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wabtec full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is a great deal of manufacturing experience and knowledge in the company. Great people and an employee friendly work environment.

    Cons

    The vast body of manufacturing experience and knowledge is not well documented for the future and new employees. It takes longer to finish tasks than it should.

    Wabtec2016-07-09
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Supply Chain Intern in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wabtec

    Pros

    Good people Awesome work envt

    Cons

    Cant Think of anything. H

    Advice to Management

    I think they are doing good

    Wabtec2016-06-24
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Wabtec

    Pros

    Great company to work for, great benefits.

    Cons

    I can't think of anything. It was a good experience working with them.

    Wabtec2016-06-22
Found 172 reviews