Waffle House Reviews | Glassdoor

Waffle House Reviews

Updated Aug 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1485 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Walt Ehmer
219 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours no breaks dealing with drunk customers at 2 a(in 110 reviews)

  • "This is somewhat true but in upper management, there tends to be a lot of politics involved(in 62 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Unit Manager in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Waffle House full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and even better hours

    Cons

    The fact that you don't get any holidays off.

    Advice to Management

    Hire as much you can. It helps.

    Waffle House2019-04-05
  2. "Good place to work for humble people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager-In-Training in Tallahassee, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Waffle House for less than a year

    Pros

    Competitive pay, stock options, good work-life balance (as a manager), lots of fun if you're into the restaurant business. Upper management wants to help you succeed.

    Cons

    Stuck to traditions, Doing the same thing everyday. Not very glamorous work, can deal with rude customers and rude employees.

    Waffle House2019-08-22
  3. "I was a server and i did cashier too"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Waffle House full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Its a good job and i wanna start a career

    Cons

    The customers you got to know how to deal with them

    Waffle House2019-08-20
  4. "Hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Server 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Waffle House full-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours, good co workers, good management

    Cons

    Rude customers, lazy employees, long hours

    Waffle House2019-08-14
  5. "Love my Company and love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiting Director in Norcross, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Waffle House full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People People People. Great business model..

    Cons

    Sometimes difficult to get all managers following the Waffle House Way of doing business on a consistent basis. The ones that do, make more money, so not sure why they all dont.

    Waffle House2019-08-12
  6. "I loved my job at the waffle house"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Master Grill Op/Salesperson in Greenville, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Waffle House full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I absolutely love the waffle house and i wouldn't Tr are the 31 years I worked for them for no other company in this world !! Now how many of you can say that about a job? I would love to go back any time but I am unable to due to my health! They have a great stock plan and insurance is great blue cross blue shield. So I would and do recommend this job to anyone looking for a job I started at the waffle house in 1988...

    Show More

    Cons

    There insurance cost is outrageous

    Advice to Management

    Always keep your store looking good it helps with your sales and the employees make more money which makes then happy in return makes your customers happy so you are all happy and your employees will come to work of you give the effort so will they

    Waffle House2019-08-11
  7. "Great opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Grill Operator in Carrollton, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Waffle House full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great working environment lots of room to grow

    Cons

    Open 24 hrs a day 7 days a week

    Advice to Management

    Be nice to your grill operator

    Waffle House2019-08-06
  8. "Not a job that you can easily live on"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Shreveport, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Waffle House full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You can gain alot of experience in the serving/customer service world.

    Cons

    Hardly pays a living wage. 247/365 waffle house is open making each shift responsible to complete certain tasks before they leave and the next shift comes in. And alot of the time, the last shift doesn't leave the way they are supposed to.

    Advice to Management

    Better training on how to handle difficult situations

    Waffle House2019-08-19
  9. "Waffle House was a very great job, and was very easy to work there."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Waitress in Cherokee, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Waffle House full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You make money every day as a server, and can also make tips If you are a cook as well.

    Cons

    Customers sometimes get angry at you and the situation can become very stressful.

    Advice to Management

    Some of the shifts make less money then the other ones, and it would be great if you helped put the people that were on the slow shifts.

    Waffle House2019-08-04
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Used to be a great job need better quality management!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Rock Star Grill Operator in New Orleans, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Waffle House full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good pay, fun customers and flexible hours.

    Cons

    Poor Management and unprofessional staff members.

    Advice to Management

    Be more professional

    Waffle House2019-08-16
Found 1485 reviews