KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Wag!

Is this your company?

Wag!

Add a Review

Wag! Reviews

Updated Jun 4, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
80%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Wag! CEO Garrett Smallwood
Garrett Smallwood
32 Ratings

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Wag! and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Dead End Job

    Apr 1, 2021 - Hiring 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Provided Meals, Benefits are decent

    Cons

    Pay is low No upward career trajectory Lack of clear leadership Careless when it comes to employees and customers

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Bad

    Mar 9, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good snacks that is all

    Cons

    Bad company bad people unfair pay

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Let's keep it real.

    Aug 23, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Mountain View, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I met some good people at the company.

    Cons

    Company was built on selfish, "money first" values so all the actions that eventually followed —reflected just that. Current CEO is immature, manipulative and exudes narcissistic behavior. He has also been inappropriate with the way he'd talk to employees (nothing sexual, but not something you wouldn't expect from someone in the leadership role). Back in December the company laid off roughly 80% of the workforce. There was complete lack of empathy and integrity in how it was handled. The people that still work there likely don't want to be out here looking for work during a pandemic and other disasters that continue to happen in the Bay Area (and country overall). I don't blame them, but I can guarantee you that these "positive" reviews were probably encouraged by the "leadership" to try and make the company look better than what it is. The saying "one bad apple can spoil the bunch" could not be more true here. The company had so much potential if the leadership wasn't poisoning it.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Make sure you do your due-diligence before joining this dumpster fire

    Dec 27, 2019 - Product Engineering in West Hollywood, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Unlimited PTO - Free lunch - Friendly coworkers

    Cons

    - Mass layoffs, most recently laying off 80% of employees, Google it - Untrustworthy management; the CEO spun his way to the top - Massive technical debt and a poor UX

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Train Wreck

    Dec 11, 2019 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working with dog and their owners

    Cons

    Bro Culture lacking in integrity. They think they have all the answers. Spoiler alert. They don’t.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    I think they’ve given up

    Dec 10, 2019 - Software Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people (before the layoffs) Dogs

    Cons

    Complete lack of leadership and transparency

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    LOL

    Oct 15, 2019 - Office Coordinator in West Hollywood, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Place is a joke.

    Cons

    Free food but really is not worth it

    4 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Poor management

    Oct 7, 2019 - Customer Service Representative in Chandler, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Basic ok environment. They provide snaks. Decent benifits.

    Cons

    Sexual orientation very important for advancement. Also very important for day to day normal activity. It is shoved in your face with t shirts and day to day conversations. I support all orientations, however it has no place in the workplace. Wag! Makes changes that make no common sense, only for the sake of change. They use "we are a startup" for multiple bad buisness decisions. Most employees were stolen from lifelock or dish. No job security. Change directions about every 2 weeks, and sometimes they change expectations without instruction. They do not care about front line employees(walkers) and your job is to lie to them about what is being done to help them. They refuse to make needed changes for new owners to protect the walkers. It is 100% about making money and 0% about doing good for anyone.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Customer Service Advocate

    May 7, 2019 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Co-workers -Dogs in the office. That’s pretty much it.

    Cons

    Under paid. They want you to work 3 different roles for really low pay. When HR and Directors are asked to give us a raise their excuse it’s that the company is a "startup" even tho it’s been open almost 3 years ago. Management is shady and very hypocrite. Especially one of the managers at the Phoenix Call Center. He acts all nice to get you to come work for the company. Once you start having issues or you need an accommodation he changes into this by the book kinda guy and he talks down on you like you are an idiot. I came into the office to put a 2 week notice (as customary to leave in good terms) . This manager immediately said that they ( or he) were not going to work with me and didn’t give me options. He then said, like with a tone of enjoyment or feeling empowered that my resignation was going to be effective immediately. I asked to get paid since I wanted to work my 2 last weeks. He then came up with a bs excuse that because I am new, it was gonna be a waste of money and bla bla bla... What a nightmare. Thank God this happened and they showed their true colors. All this headache and nepotism for 15.50 an hour. No thanks. It’s a shame because I liked majority of my coworkers and the office is close to home.

    4 people found this review helpful

    Wag! Response

    VP of HR

    We appreciate you taking the time to share this feedback. It sounds like your experience may have occurred prior to some recent leadership changes on our customer success team. We’re sorry to hear this happened and that you’re no longer with Wag!, but we’ll certainly make sure your feedback is escalated to our new VP of Customer Success to ensure he’s setting the right expectations for the customer success leadership team moving forward. We wish you all the best going forward.

  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Wow.

    Apr 4, 2019 - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people you got to work with

    Cons

    They keep thinking that they can lay everyone off. Also the fact that we got yelled at constantly on the phone for a lot of problems that weren't even our fault.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Wag! Response

    VP of HR

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your perspective. As a relatively young and growing startup with services now across 43 states and 110 cities, we remain committed to providing the best possible experience for the pet parents and pet care providers on the Wag! platform. As we continue to enhance our products and services to deliver on this commitment, we’re able to shift our resources to invest in areas that will better serve Wag! users. When we’ve made the difficult decision to reallocate roles to other parts of our business, we’ve strived to do so with the utmost respect. This doesn’t ease the pain for someone seeing their role eliminated, but we’ve offered outplacement support and allowed those in good standing to apply for other roles within the company. We do wish you the best going forward.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 137 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Wag! Job Seekers

Dog Walker
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews
Customer Service Representative
Learn About the Job
Priority Services Representative
Learn About the Job

Work at Wag!? Share Your Experiences

or