Wag! Reviews

Updated May 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
60%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Wag! CEO Garrett Smallwood
Garrett Smallwood
15 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Make sure you do your due-diligence before joining this dumpster fire"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Engineering in West Hollywood, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Wag! full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Unlimited PTO - Free lunch - Friendly coworkers

    Cons

    - Mass layoffs, most recently laying off 80% of employees, Google it - Untrustworthy management; the CEO spun his way to the top - Massive technical debt and a poor UX

    Continue reading
    Wag!2019-12-28
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Train Wreck"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wag!

    Pros

    Working with dog and their owners

    Cons

    Bro Culture lacking in integrity. They think they have all the answers. Spoiler alert. They don’t.

    Continue reading
    Wag!2019-12-12
  3. "I think they’ve given up"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wag! full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people (before the layoffs) Dogs

    Cons

    Complete lack of leadership and transparency

    Continue reading
    Wag!2019-12-10
  4. Helpful (4)

    "LOL"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Coordinator in West Hollywood, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wag! full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Place is a joke.

    Cons

    Free food but really is not worth it

    Wag!2019-10-15
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Poor management"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Chandler, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wag! full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Basic ok environment. They provide snaks. Decent benifits.

    Cons

    Sexual orientation very important for advancement. Also very important for day to day normal activity. It is shoved in your face with t shirts and day to day conversations. I support all orientations, however it has no place in the workplace. Wag! Makes changes that make no common sense, only for the sake of change. They use "we are a startup" for multiple bad buisness decisions. Most employees were stolen from lifelock or dish. No job security. Change directions about every 2 weeks, and sometimes they change expectations without instruction. They do not care about front line employees(walkers) and your job is to lie to them about what is being done to help them. They refuse to make needed changes for new owners to protect the walkers. It is 100% about making money and 0% about doing good for anyone.

    Continue reading
    Wag!2019-10-07
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Customer Service Advocate"

    1.0
     

    I worked at Wag!

    Pros

    -Co-workers -Dogs in the office. That’s pretty much it.

    Cons

    Under paid. They want you to work 3 different roles for really low pay. When HR and Directors are asked to give us a raise their excuse it’s that the company is a "startup" even tho it’s been open almost 3 years ago. Management is shady and very hypocrite. Especially one of the managers at the Phoenix Call Center. He acts all nice to get you to come work for the company. Once you start having issues or you need an accommodation he changes into this by the book kinda guy and he talks down on you like you are an idiot. I came into the office to put a 2 week notice (as customary to leave in good terms) . This manager immediately said that they ( or he) were not going to work with me and didn’t give me options. He then said, like with a tone of enjoyment or feeling empowered that my resignation was going to be effective immediately. I asked to get paid since I wanted to work my 2 last weeks. He then came up with a bs excuse that because I am new, it was gonna be a waste of money and bla bla bla... What a nightmare. Thank God this happened and they showed their true colors. All this headache and nepotism for 15.50 an hour. No thanks. It’s a shame because I liked majority of my coworkers and the office is close to home.

    Wag!2019-05-08

    Wag! Response

    May 28, 2019VP of HR

    We appreciate you taking the time to share this feedback. It sounds like your experience may have occurred prior to some recent leadership changes on our customer success team. We’re sorry to hear this happened and that you’re no longer with Wag!, but we’ll certainly make sure your feedback is escalated to our new VP of Customer Success to ensure he’s setting the right expectations for the customer success leadership team moving forward. We wish you all the best going forward.

  7. Helpful (2)

    "Wow."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wag! full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people you got to work with

    Cons

    They keep thinking that they can lay everyone off. Also the fact that we got yelled at constantly on the phone for a lot of problems that weren't even our fault.

    Continue reading
    Wag!2019-04-05

    Wag! Response

    April 26, 2019VP of HR

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your perspective. As a relatively young and growing startup with services now across 43 states and 110 cities, we remain committed to providing the best possible experience for the pet parents and pet care providers on the Wag! platform. As we continue to enhance our products and services to deliver on this commitment, we’re able to shift our resources to invest in areas that will better serve Wag! users. When we’ve made the difficult decision to reallocate roles to other parts of our business, we’ve strived to do so with the utmost respect. This doesn’t ease the pain for someone seeing their role eliminated, but we’ve offered outplacement support and allowed those in good standing to apply for other roles within the company. We do wish you the best going forward.

  8. Helpful (5)

    "Act like they care about Dogs but they don't"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Wag! full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pretty good benefits Dogs at the office Nice coworkers

    Cons

    Everything else. Ever since new leadership came in things have changed for the worse under the guise that things are getting better. Yes they've been working on improvements to the extremely outdated app BUT the quality of the service they provide and their walkers has been severely lowered in favor of approving as many walkers on to the app as possible. They used to care about walkers having experience but now they hire walkers who have never walked or cared for a dog a day in their life. I'd come into work every day and internally scream at the poor decision making. I'd never use the service and that is telling. Sure there are some great walkers but the risk is NOT worth it. There is also terrible nepotism, cherry picking, and favoritism. Poor performers get rewarded and promoted if they know the right people. Did I mention the below average pay? Stay away if you actually love and care for dogs because working for this company will crush your soul.

    Continue reading
    Wag!2019-04-04

    Wag! Response

    April 26, 2019VP of HR

    We’re sorry to hear that you feel this way, but we appreciate your taking the time to share your thoughts. From a product and services perspective, we remain committed to providing the best possible experience for the pet parents and pet care providers on the Wag! platform. As we continue to enhance our products and services, trust and safety will always be top of mind. We continue to require every prospective walker to pass a robust vetting process and a thorough background check to join our platform. In terms of company culture, we’ve made significant investments in creating a great place to work and we plan to do more. That’s why feedback like yours is so important. If you have any suggestions for how we can create a better experience for you at Wag!, please reach out to me or another member of our leadership team.

  9. Helpful (10)

    "Don't do it."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in West Hollywood, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Wag! full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Dogs in office. Eatclub. Snacks. Why do I have to enter 5 when there aren't anymore pros?.........

    Cons

    I have been at Wag! for a decent amount of time. I have watched this company scale up very large, unfortunately, with that, we attained Hillary Schneider master of destroying companies (Yahoo...Lifelock....) The executives have no idea what they are doing. They do not realize we are dealing with LIVE ANIMALS. Unfortunately, what could have been a good thing has now turned into a disgrace to tell people I represent. Luckily, it pays rent or I would have left ages ago. The goal here is to automate so don't feel like you'll have your job too long :)

    Continue reading
    Wag!2019-04-04

    Wag! Response

    April 26, 2019VP of HR

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on the direction of our business and culture. While we know change isn’t easy, progress sometimes requires it. As a growing company, we remain committed to providing the best possible experience for pet parents and pet care providers on the Wag! platform. One thing that won’t change is our commitment to trust and safety. If you have any examples where we’ve fallen short on this, please reach out to me or another member of our leadership team so we can address them immediately. On the culture front, we’re constantly looking at how to improve, and while we’ve made significant investments in creating a great place to work, we know there’s more we can do and that’s why feedback like yours is so important. If you have any specific feedback for Hilary or another member of our senior leadership team, please don’t hesitate to reach out directly.

  10. Helpful (7)

    "Horrible horrible horrible"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Wag! full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is absolutely no pros about this place.

    Cons

    This is the worse company Ive ever worked at. All the top management including supervisors and trainers havent a clue of what is going on and definitely cant train. They are wayyy overly overstaffed for the work they dont have. The hiring person likes to hug you which is something I do not appreciate being touched and falls into sexual harassment he is my employer not even my friend dont touch me! Besides that they are the rudest people you will hopefully ever meet. My biggest advice is stay away.

    Continue reading
    Wag!2018-11-26

    Wag! Response

    November 28, 2018VP of HR

    We're sorry to hear about your experience and take this type of feedback very seriously. We're investigating and if you're comfortable sharing more details, please reach out to me or another member of our HR team so that we can follow up on this immediately. Thank you.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 101 Reviews
</>Embed