Wag! "many walkers" Reviews | Glassdoor

Wag! Employee Reviews about "many walkers"

Updated Apr 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
43%
Recommend to a Friend
14%
Approve of CEO
Wag! CEO Garrett Smallwood
Garrett Smallwood
9 Ratings
Pros
  • "Wag Support is always super helpful if you have any problems with your(in 44 reviews)

  • "Waking up early or staying up late to walk dogs is another was to find walks(in 32 reviews)

Cons
  • "Must Love Dogs (but honestly, who doesn't(in 87 reviews)

  • "There are obviously too many walkers allowed in one area, you have to respond within seconds to any request or it will get filled by someone else(in 29 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "many walkers"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "It’s great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Current Contractor - Dog Walker in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wag! for less than a year

    Pros

    - you get to set your own schedule -you can be a full time student and work - you get paid to walk/play with dogs - a dog lovers dream - good exercise - tips - overall enjoyable experience - meet new and interesting people

    Cons

    - too many walkers in a area - too little dogs - it’s basically like the hunger games, and you gotta be the first - first walk is hard to find because people aren’t so sure about new walkers (it’s sad but you can get it soon enough) - the company takes a pretty big cut of your earnings and since it’s a big price the owners pay already, some owners don’t give tips

    Continue reading
    Wag!2019-02-13
  2. Helpful (2)

    "You have to fight to get any walks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Wag Walker in Portland, OR

    I worked at Wag! for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, you can't work as much as you want as long as your quick (and I mean quick) about answer requests. Good experiences with customer services

    Cons

    There are obviously too many walkers allowed in one area, you have to respond within seconds to any request or it will get filled by someone else. For someone who is looking to do this part time, its pretty hard to watch for requests while doing other things.

    Wag!2019-03-18
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Act like they care about Dogs but they don't"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Wag! full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pretty good benefits Dogs at the office Nice coworkers

    Cons

    Everything else. Ever since new leadership came in things have changed for the worse under the guise that things are getting better. Yes they've been working on improvements to the extremely outdated app BUT the quality of the service they provide and their walkers has been severely lowered in favor of approving as many walkers on to the app as possible. They used to care about walkers having experience but now they hire walkers who have never walked or cared for a dog a day in their life. I'd come into work every day and internally scream at the poor decision making. I'd never use the service and that is telling. Sure there are some great walkers but the risk is NOT worth it. There is also terrible nepotism, cherry picking, and favoritism. Poor performers get rewarded and promoted if they know the right people. Did I mention the below average pay? Stay away if you actually love and care for dogs because working for this company will crush your soul.

    Continue reading
    Wag!2019-04-04

    Wag! Response

    April 26, 2019VP of HR

    We’re sorry to hear that you feel this way, but we appreciate your taking the time to share your thoughts. From a product and services perspective, we remain committed to providing the best possible experience for the pet parents and pet care providers on the Wag! platform. As we continue to enhance our products and services, trust and safety will always be top of mind. We continue to require every prospective walker to pass a robust vetting process and a thorough background check to join our platform. In terms of company culture, we’ve made significant investments in creating a great place to work and we plan to do more. That’s why feedback like yours is so important. If you have any suggestions for how we can create a better experience for you at Wag!, please reach out to me or another member of our leadership team.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (2)

    "It's a pretty good app"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Wag! Walker in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends

    I have been working at Wag! for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to meet other dogs and earn extra income. I have learned way over the amount of the $25 background check for you and I have been doing this for just over a month. So people that say they don't learn enough you're just not walking dogs enough. I also love that you can work when you want. I have been getting enough dog walks to make this pretty much a full-time job.

    Cons

    I signed up for this in California and there was too many Walkers so as soon as I get a notification it already be booked. Now that I moved to Utah there is less Walker's but I've learned from California that bookings can go fast so I have a separate notification sound just for the wag app so as soon as I hear a notification I immediately go in and book it. Also the app has a little bit of glitches but nothing too serious that doesn't allow you to use it.

    Continue reading
    Wag!2018-01-09
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Just not worth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Dog Walker in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Wag!

    Pros

    Dogs and cool neighborhoods Flexible schedule Pay for the work is pretty decent

    Cons

    Wear and tear on your car—I have to drive 10+miles to some dogs You’re dealing with dogs that aren’t trained—don’t want to be walked—and some that might not feel safe wtb you. It makes walking them for even a half hour impossible. App KILLS your battery-KILLS. I’ve had my phone die during two separate walks. I have to charge it at the owners home sometimes just to make it through the whole walk. You don’t find out why owners rate you a particular way. So many walkers that they get snatched up literally within seconds of popping up. Not consistent. You have to sit by your phone. Might just be the City I live in. The Wag people don’t help when you have an issue. In fact they don’t even cal you back. I had to call three times to get someone to help me with an issue after being on hold a total of 20 minutes.

    Continue reading
    Wag!2017-12-23
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Awful Company and Pet Owners should run away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Walker in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Wag! for more than a year

    Pros

    sometimes you can find a walk

    Cons

    Low pay, not customer support, offer payouts then cut them and ask for screen shot to prove you are not making it up), too many walkers, poor outlook, people lose dogs.

    Continue reading
    Wag!2017-11-21
  7. "Good when you can get the walks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 

    I have been working at Wag!

    Pros

    * Set your own schedule *Efficient payment with app *Get paid to play with puppies

    Cons

    *Walks in your area get snatched up quickly and there are so many walkers compared to dogs in an area it can be hard to get enough walks to make it worth it

    Wag!2017-10-28
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Hard to get walks once hired"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Dog Walker in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Wag! for more than a year

    Pros

    The dogs are all very cute and the pay is good

    Cons

    There are way too many walkers that there are dogs needing to be waked and its very hard to get walks!!

    Continue reading
    Wag!2017-10-07
  9. "Wag Walker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Wag Walker in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Wag!

    Pros

    Very fun job and great pay for the job! The customer service is great. Whenever I need to talk to someone about a walk, they respond normally within 30 minutes.

    Cons

    There are so many walkers that it's almost impossible to get walks.

    Wag!2017-09-19
  10. Helpful (3)

    "horrible customer service for walkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Wag!

    Pros

    none none none none none

    Cons

    It's not $30/hour. It's $12 about once a week. There are so many walkers it is impossible to get a walk. Literally within a fraction of a second, the walk is claimed (Even if you have the app open and are looking at it, someone will have a faster internet connection I guess! the walks are claimed in a split second). Worse, if you get a walk, Customer Service is impossible to reach. There is a phone number they say is for emergencies. Well, I had an emergency and called twice and was on hold over 10 minutes and nobody ever answered. There was a dog owner who wanted to review the app, but it only lets you review the walker and Wag refused to let me dispute the review. I walked a dog who was living in inhumane conditions and Wag was no help. They said they would "reach out" to the owner, but they never did. Also, you never get your $1 bonus for wearing the tshirt. Horrible/nonexistent walker support and overtaxed system without any jobs. Will be resigning.

    Continue reading
    Wag!2017-10-12
Found 29 reviews
</>Embed