Wake Forest University Reviews | Glassdoor

Wake Forest University Reviews

Updated Sep 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
92%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Wake Forest University CEO Nathan O. Hatch
Nathan O. Hatch
93 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "low pay, not a lot of room for growth(in 13 reviews)

  • "No cons other than needs to get football team and basketball teams back to the level they've been in the past when they competed for ACC championships(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great part time job and perfect job for Wake students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Gym Staff 

    I worked at Wake Forest University part-time

    Pros

    Friendly people and great working environment

    Cons

    I don't think there is any...

    Wake Forest University2019-09-08
  2. "Incredible University, managers need some training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wake Forest University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fabulous faculty, talented students, incredible resources and opportunities around every corner.

    Cons

    Some managers have not been trained in how to effectively communicate & lead their teams. So busy doing their own work, and don't know how to be present to their direct reports and provide clear guidelines for success.

    Wake Forest University2019-09-09
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wake Forest University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent place to work. WFU gives a community feel for all employees.

    Cons

    Nothing comes to mind.

    Wake Forest University2019-08-16
  4. "Best Place To Work On Campus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Writing Center Tutor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Wake Forest University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working for the Wake Forest University writing center was one of the best experiences of my time there as an undergraduate student. Not only was the team of tutors exceptionally talented and fun to be around, but getting to know the students there who came in for tutoring sessions was an experience like no other. If you are a writer at Wake Forest University looking to make some extra money where you can get to know... fellow writers in a supportive and really fun community, then this job is for you! The management here is really supportive and works with you on your time sheet and hours to make sure that your work schedule fits into your lifestyle!

    Show More

    Cons

    Absolutely none! This experience was amazing!

    Wake Forest University2019-07-30
  5. "Variable happiness"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Researcher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wake Forest University full-time

    Pros

    Happiness and work hours are very dependent on the culture of your lab group. I'm lucky that my supervisor is very supportive of my professional development.

    Cons

    Does not have good support for international researchers, has few benefits for research staff compared to other university staff members.

    Wake Forest University2019-08-10
  6. "It's okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Programmer Analyst 

    I have been working at Wake Forest University full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Nice university, nice benefits, good place

    Cons

    Just regular workplace issues. One more word.

    Wake Forest University2019-07-29
  7. "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tutor in Winston-Salem, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wake Forest University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed and positive work environment

    Cons

    Sometimes it can be difficult to get a lot of hours each week

    Wake Forest University2019-06-10
  8. "I have gained a host of skills and connections that will translate throughout my professional career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PhD Candidate in Winston-Salem, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wake Forest University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The good people and top notch resources

    Cons

    You have to be in love with the location

    Advice to Management

    Keep in touch with the staff

    Wake Forest University2019-06-07
  9. "Beacon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wake Forest University full-time

    Pros

    Wake Forest has offered me a chance to use my skills in an environment conducive to enthusiasm and satisfaction. Higher ed takes a lot of shots these days, but Wake Forest has proven that painting with a broad brush is a bad idea.

    Cons

    North Carolina likes to think of itself as a progressive state, but that status has been challenged lately. That's about the only down side to Wake Forest.

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in the people and programs that have spurred growth.

    Wake Forest University2019-05-20
  10. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Wake Forest University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to start career

    Cons

    No cons, amazing place to work

    Wake Forest University2019-05-18
Found 238 reviews