Walden Behavioral Care Reviews | Glassdoor

Walden Behavioral Care Reviews

Updated Nov 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
70%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Walden Behavioral Care CEO Stuart Koman, Ph.D. (no image)
Stuart Koman, Ph.D.
32 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 6 reviews)

  • "Great coworkers and supervision, the clientele are nice to work with and you feel like you're making a difference(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "This is critical in any environment especially a mental health facility(in 4 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Innovative and Supportive Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinician in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walden Behavioral Care full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Creativity is valued. Pay is competitive. The structure makes sense.

    Cons

    No downsides. This company offers everything a professional could want.

    Walden Behavioral Care2019-11-14
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Specialist in Waltham, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walden Behavioral Care full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Community, support, great patient care, good benefits

    Cons

    Sometimes slow to adopt changes company wide

    Walden Behavioral Care2019-10-07
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Hostile staff culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walden Behavioral Care full-time

    Pros

    Beautiful facility and resources. Lots of exposure to diverse population of clients.

    Cons

    Absolutely no training or orientation provided (other than in the EMR system). Management never showed me how to enter my info to get paid or to receive benefits, but expected me to complete tasks I had never done before on my first day without supervision, complete instruction or guidance. New staff are consistently expected to just “fake it til you make it!” (as management constantly states). The staff culture is... incredibly hostile due to understaffing and compassion fatigue/burnout. Staff is constantly being scheduled outside of availability or even scheduled to be in two places at once. Upper level management outwardly talks down to /belittles new employees (including interns) and makes every decision based solely on Walden as a profitable business—NOT on what’s best for the employee or the clients.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Your employees—their training, their sense of importance and belonging—are the heart of your business. If staff doesn’t feel confident, how can you expect clients to? Treat employees better; especially new ones.

    Walden Behavioral Care2019-10-06
  4. "No thanks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Mental Health Counselor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Walden Behavioral Care full-time

    Pros

    Coworkers, many opportunities to work more

    Cons

    management, disorganization, unreliable, benefits

    Walden Behavioral Care2019-09-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "MHC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mental Health Counselor in Waltham, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walden Behavioral Care full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great learning experience Great coworkers

    Cons

    Stressful Often understaffed-may have to work an overnight shift Very low pay

    Walden Behavioral Care2019-07-22
  6. "So far so good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Waltham, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walden Behavioral Care full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Salary is what I expected for a BSN Graduate

    Cons

    No cons, other than work environment can be difficult.

    Walden Behavioral Care2019-07-10
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Eh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mental Health Counselor (RESI) 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walden Behavioral Care full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Client population is really amazing to work in. A lot of the work / program are engaging (encouraging clients to cook, outings, group therapy) MHCs are all very close. Free food for staff. Structured staff meeting/MHC supervision

    Cons

    Short-staffed and strong chance of mandation. Management is poor (invalidating, out of touch with the program, LOTS of favoritism) Poor training (MHCs are expected to train but are too overworked to spend the time to do it). MHCs are given tasks that should not be their responsibility frequently because clinical/management doesn't want to do it, Eve shift is completely unsupported.

    Advice to Management

    If there is a complaint, address it instead of focusing on WHO complained. Adopt some humility so that MHCs actually feel comfortable approaching.

    Walden Behavioral Care2019-06-10
  8. "Great first job into the mental health field"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mental Health Counselor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walden Behavioral Care full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great employees, pay for my position was much higher than other companies in the area, management was very approachable and encouraged professional and education development.

    Cons

    Job description seemed off... although I was a mental health counselor I was also serving food to the patients. Some of the policies didn't make the most sense either.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the wonderful work that you are doing!

    Walden Behavioral Care2019-05-22
  9. Helpful (4)

    "mental health workers deserve mental health breaks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mental Health Counselor in Waltham, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Walden Behavioral Care full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people I work on the floor with are all amazing, we keep each other going each day.

    Cons

    The company is somehow expanding, but can’t afford to invest in their employees who prove their dedication to Walden. The pay rate for counselors is way below what is deserving. No sick time, only Pto. Impossible to find shift coverage.

    Advice to Management

    invest in your dedicated employees before even more hard working, dedicated team members leave.

    Walden Behavioral Care2018-12-21
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Mental health counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Worcester, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walden Behavioral Care full-time

    Pros

    Some of the people, routine

    Cons

    Training, rude staff. I was barely trained then scolded and written up for every little thing I did wrong. Horrible for self esteem.

    Walden Behavioral Care2018-10-29
Found 65 reviews