Cover image for Walden University
Logo

Walden University

Engaged Employer

Walden University

Add a Review

Walden University Reviews

Updated Jan 22, 2023

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 332 of over 360 reviews
3.2
44% Recommend to a Friend
Walden University President Michael Betz
45% Approve of CEO

Found 332 of over 360 reviews

3.2
44%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
Walden University President Michael Betz
Michael Betz
10 Ratings

The latest conversations about Teachers

Join the conversation on

Teachers

1y

a 

West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

2,950

984 Comments

Teachers

216.6K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/teachers/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Walden University~133142
Join the conversation on

Got a burning question about Walden University? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with Walden University employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What's Fishbowl
Ask a Question

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Walden University and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Work Environment

    Jan 4, 2023 - Faculty 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people, great systems, and flexible hours. Excellent for people who need to work from home. Company has a mission to provide opportunities for underserved populations to earn advanced degrees.

    Cons

    Very little room for advancement.

    1 person found this review helpful

    Walden University Response

    Company Representative

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a thoughtful review. We are very fortunate to have employees like you who are passionate about Walden’ s mission and values!

  2. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Flexible job but the work never ends

    Dec 9, 2022 - Senior Core Faculty 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fully remote. Lots of flexibility. Can work on your own hours for the most part. Just need to attend meetings during work hours. Rewarding to see students grow as scholar-practitioners. Immediate coworkers are great.

    Cons

    Company lost its soul when acquired by Adtalem. Now the focus is profits over people. Upper administration has no idea what they are doing. Initiatives are haphazard and typically put more demands on faculty without compensation. Minimal raises and almost no bonus the past two years. Work never ends. The university runs on 4 quarters with two weeks in between, but that time is still full of finishing grades from past quarter and setting up the next quarter's classes. Students send messages at all hours of the day and on weekends. With the expectation of returning a response within 24-48 hours, there is never time off. Even if you ask for vacation, you never get to fully break away. When you come back, there is twice as much work to get done because no one can totally take over your courses or mentees. It's a continual grind with no prospect for promotion. The only thing to look towards is administrative work, which sucks the life out of every coordinator and director I've seen at that level. No professional development or support for attending conferences. Burnout becomes an issue over time.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Walden University Response

    Company Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about working at Walden. We appreciate and value your input as a former employee and want to be sure we’re consistently working towards providing a positive experience for our colleagues. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your concerns and any suggestions that you may wish to share. Fostering a supportive workplace is very important to us. Please reach out to us at tafeedback@adtalem.com. Thank you!

  3. Join the Walden University team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Micromanaging Environment

    Jan 9, 2023 - Assistant Field Education Coordinator in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There was nothing good about working here. It was a hazard to my health.

    Cons

    Leadership micromanaged everything. Our department specifically would work incredibly hard to never get raises, bonuses, or anything else. The nursing students calling or chatting in treated us like garbage. Pay was horrible and benefits were not great. Barely got time off.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Awful since Adtalem sale

    Jan 22, 2023 - Instructor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I worked with some really great colleagues at the same level

    Cons

    Leadership is awful right now and so disorganized. New approach is to always side with a manager or higher up even if you report abusive and problematic leadership behavior. They really don't have a clear plan moving forward and nothing seems to get done or have a clear process.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Unhealthy Work Environment

    Jan 13, 2023 - Academic Coach 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Remote work, snack boxes, $5 gift cards...

    Cons

    The environment at Walden/Adtalem promotes extreme micromanaging. Employees are treated as unprofessional baboons that do not even have the capability to formulate a basic email even though a higher level of education (Masters) is required for the position. I guess this would make sense considering they accept anyone who has a bank account or gets federal FA. Number, numbers, numbers is all "leadership" cares about. They need to maintain enrollment to keep up with all the upper-level positions with 6 figure salaries, while those actually interacting with the students barely get a live able wage.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Good benefits; acquisition changed top team

    Jan 6, 2023 - Core Faculty Member in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits. Pay was fair for all-remote work. There were some outstanding colleagues.

    Cons

    The acquisition left questions that I cannot answer.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Walden University Response

    Company Representative

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. Your feedback will help continue our work to improve our overall experience. If you’d like to discuss your questions further, we’d like to hear from you at tafeedback@adtalem.com. Thank you!

  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Lack of respect and dignity in operations

    Dec 15, 2022 - Contributing Faculty 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexibility to log on to most classes on your own schedule.

    Cons

    The treatment of contributing faculty. Last minute course assignments, lack of transparency on who get's assigned what courses and why. No career movement. No financial incentive or raises for 10+ years Poor Communication from all levels of administration Faculty expected to support students at all cost, to not lose money. This means to be 100% flexible on late assignments, lack of follow through, or support when retaliation occurs for remediation. Yet, when a faculty member needs the same grace, there is zero.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Walden University Response

    Company Representative

    We appreciate hearing about your personal experience. We care very deeply for our current and former employees and strive for our colleagues to have a positive experience. Although its without its challenges, we are dedicated to always improving our employee experience. Please provide further feedback at tafeedback@adtalem.com. Thank you!

  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Scam

    Dec 26, 2022 - Enrollment Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The pay is higher than most comparable in the higher education industry.

    Cons

    This school only wants students and money. They don’t value graduates nor employees.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Walden University Response

    Company Representative

    We are very sorry to hear about your experience. We strive for our former and current employees to have the best experience here at Walden. We value your feedback and would like to learn more about what specifically it was that was not positive during your time here and how we can improve. Please contact us at tafeedback@adtalem.com. Thank you and we wish you the best.

  10. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Very busy

    Dec 23, 2022 - Customer Service 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Management is understandable in most situations

    Cons

    You get many calls a day

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Walden University Response

    Company Representative

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. If you'd like to share additional information, please reach out to us at tafeedback@adtalem.com.

  11. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Excellent

    Nov 3, 2022 - Online Professor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Graduating doctoral students and and providing excellent credentials

    Cons

    Expensive and no help with placement

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Walden University Response

    Company Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We appreciate hearing about your personal experience and are glad to learn that you enjoyed your time at Walden. We care very deeply for our employees and strive for everyone to have a positive experience. Although its without its challenges, we are always dedicated to improving, so thank you for providing your feedback. Feel free to email us at tafeedback@adtalem.com and share more information.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 332 Reviews
</>Embed

Walden University Reviews FAQs

Walden University has an overall rating of 3.2 out of 5, based on over 360 reviews left anonymously by employees. 44% of employees would recommend working at Walden University to a friend and 38% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -3% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Walden University employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.1 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Walden University. This rating has decreased by -4% over the last 12 months.

44% of Walden University employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Walden University 3.5 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.1 for culture and values and 2.8 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Walden University to be work life balance, coworkers, benefits and the cons to be senior leadership, career development, management.

Popular Careers with Walden University Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Walden University? Share Your Experiences

Walden University logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Walden University Job Seekers Also Viewed

Laureate Education Logo
Laureate Education

3.9

1,257 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 360 Walden University reviews submitted anonymously by Walden University employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Walden University is right for you.