Walgreens Boots Alliance "pharmacist" Reviews | Glassdoor

Walgreens Boots Alliance Employee Reviews about "pharmacist"

Updated Jan 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
38%
Recommend to a Friend
31%
Approve of CEO
Walgreens Boots Alliance Executive Chairman Stefano Pessina
Stefano Pessina
130 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "They wanted to perform tasks that were not for a pharmacist(in 16 reviews)

  • "No equal opportunities /work life balance(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "pharmacist"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Work/home life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmacist 

    I have been working at Walgreens Boots Alliance full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedules and good work environment.

    Cons

    Not enough technician help, too much work overwhelming the pharmacist especially in busy stores

    Continue reading
    Walgreens Boots Alliance2019-10-09
  2. "Remember Strict Liability and Don't Overwork"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmacist-in-charge in Jackson, MS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walgreens Boots Alliance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good managers, well developed best practices for efficient work procedures, well-known brand, modern facilities, Fortune 500 company, large network of pharmacies, good technicians kept and valued.

    Cons

    Working overtime for free unavoidable, but should not be done. Cutthroat competition for all positions, bare-bones operations in terms of clerks and technicians, pharmacists can thrive if work efficiently, have quick hands, can multitask.

    Continue reading
    Walgreens Boots Alliance2020-01-20
  3. "Got worse at the end"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmacist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Walgreens Boots Alliance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good wages and a good staff.

    Cons

    They wanted to perform tasks that were not for a pharmacist. No support from the store manager

    Continue reading
    Walgreens Boots Alliance2019-10-04
  4. "A good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Operative - Boots DSP in Preston, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walgreens Boots Alliance part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay Good amount of holidays Flexible hours Great canteen facilities Lots of friendly colleagues

    Cons

    Age discrimination (especially towards young workers) Hostile 'professional staff '- ACPTs, Pharmacists and Engineers Management can be unfair and often times lack good communication Lots of over ambitious colleagues clinging onto tiny bits of power from extra responsibilities Working environment can be toxic at times especially due to all the cynical attitudes there Training and NVQ attainment is a sluggish and unorganised process (if you aren't full time it's even worse)

    Continue reading
    Walgreens Boots Alliance2019-12-15
  5. "Blame culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Locum Pharmacist in London, England

    I worked at Walgreens Boots Alliance for less than a year

    Pros

    Rigorous SOPs that cover most situations you come across as a pharmacist Breaks are respected and sometimes can be negotiate

    Cons

    Less willing to negotiate on pay per hour More pressure for pharmacist to complete services Pharmacist working by themselves sometimes on weekends Blame culture

    Walgreens Boots Alliance2019-11-05
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Store Management is not the problem."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmacist Store Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walgreens Boots Alliance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A large corporate with decent peer support and some fantastic individuals that work at various levels. The pharmacist managers, or those with pharmacy background are leaving in droves and the workforce is being de-skilled. The non-pharmacist management is highly varied in its capability to lead such a large pharmacy brand - with recent experience being disastrous, but past experience being extremely good. It is obvious to see working day to day on the job. From the outside, its amazing peers and dispensary staff at all levels that keeps most of our local stores afloat. The public may catch on soon. I just hope that the diligent and skilled governance managers working at area and regional level are fighting strongly to maintain a 'pharmacy led' health and beauty aspect of this so-called heritage British institution.

    Cons

    You are a cog in a huge machine, that is relentlessly marching towards something you ''won't recognise in 10 years'' (#quote from C&D), consequences be damned. The pharmacist forum, internal networking and raising concerns does little to mitigate the damage done to the local population that you serve. To make this sound less harsh, I would like to stress that change, which revitalises a workplace and challenges practice in order to improve the proficiency, professionalism, reputation and future-proofing the pharmacy profession is good. However I am put off by the middle management disregard for genuine (i.e. those that walk the talk) work done on the ground by all the hard working dispensing team.

    Continue reading
    Walgreens Boots Alliance2019-06-16
  7. "Follow the rules"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Relief Pharmacist in Lincoln, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Walgreens Boots Alliance part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pension scheme is generous.

    Cons

    Low salary. Too many tiers of management - especially non-pharmacist managers. Too much emphasis on services.

    Continue reading
    Walgreens Boots Alliance2019-06-02
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Don’t Bother"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmacy Dispenser 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Walgreens Boots Alliance part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I really enjoyed the interview and was looking forward to joining the Company

    Cons

    I started my new job with Boots as a Pharmacy Dispenser on Monday and left never to return on Thursday evening! Although I am a trained and qualified pharmacy dispenser I was new to Boots. My first day consisted of being left on my own in a small office to go through all the legals on the computer. I wasn’t phased by this as I realised pretty quickly the place was short staffed and I’m a big girl I don’t need babysitting. I had high hopes for Tuesday! Went in only to be taken to a room upstairs and told to dispense weekly prescriptions. There was no equipment and I wasn’t shown where anything was. Anyway, I got on and did it. The afternoon was spent in the dispensary downstairs dispensing prescriptions. Stock was left in boxes and not put away so I had to trawl through loads of stock to find the right meds. This took ages! Has Wednesday off. Went in Thursday only to find I was expected to cover the front of the dispensary with 5 minutes training on systems! Not surprisingly I didn’t do well! Back to trawling through boxes and the pharmacist moaning about being behind!!! Never going back. Don’t work for Boots.

    Continue reading
    Walgreens Boots Alliance2019-03-29
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Wrong for years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Walgreens Boots Alliance full-time

    Pros

    Can’t really say they got much right, ripped gullible people with advantage points countering sky-high retail prices. Shop elsewhere for better value!

    Cons

    Everything was a con.Ignorant, bullying, aggressive managers. Superintendent office is a puppet position with no real power, overruled by owners. Systems always changing and getting more complex and useless. Avoid at all costs, new Pharmacists, don’t get sucked in, go USA, Canada, anywhere else than Boots.Everything was a con.Ignorant, bullying, aggressive managers. Superintendent office is a puppet position with no real power, overruled by owners. Systems always changing and getting more complex and useless. Avoid at all costs, new Pharmacists, don’t get sucked in, go USA, Canada, anywhere else than Boots.

    Continue reading
    Walgreens Boots Alliance2017-10-26
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Grim"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Pharmacist in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Walgreens Boots Alliance

    Pros

    The company is unlikely to go under in the next year or two. You get paid if youre permenant staff (maybe not if you're a Christmas temp or locum).

    Cons

    Dramatically and dangerously understaffed Staff are untrained, often illegally working the counter. Managers are unskilled non-pharmacists with minimal knowledge of law or ethics in pharmacy A pharmacist risks their license just signing on here Profits before patients Company promises services it cant deliver Doesnt provide staff to support pharmacist, yet bullies pharmacist if not enough services done. No respect for the person taking on all the legal liability Lazy arrogant staff on minwage who are 'turned off' Patients are permitted to abuse nhs and staff and boots encourage this and do not support staff No cctv or security guard. Staff are sitting ducks All benefits and bonuses removed, no reward for staff loyalty. No pay rise for pharmacist in yrs. Pay now £15 to £16 an hr. Relief workers treated like trash and sent far and wide No staff parking Dismal staff rooms. Just atrocious lack of facilities Dirty, crowded, musty work space, on your feet all day. Messy. Excessive systems that slow process right down. Duplicate data for head office causing staff massive stress Greedy managed repeat service which is an utter fiasco and so poorly maintained it is dangerous to patients Staff leave as quick as they arrive, so no one ever knows how to do their job. The pharmacist will do everything for everyone else. Wretched place to be trapped for 10 hour shifts

    Continue reading
    Walgreens Boots Alliance2017-01-09
Found 16 reviews