Walgreens Boots Alliance "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Walgreens Boots Alliance Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Dec 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
39%
Recommend to a Friend
32%
Approve of CEO
Walgreens Boots Alliance Executive Chairman Stefano Pessina
Stefano Pessina
128 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "They wanted to perform tasks that were not for a pharmacist(in 15 reviews)

  • "No equal opportunities /work life balance(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmacist 

    I have been working at Walgreens Boots Alliance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Busy, makes time go fast, Okay salary.

    Cons

    On feet all day, Lack of work life balance, Social life disturbed, Weekend working.

    Walgreens Boots Alliance2019-12-17
  2. "Ops"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walgreens Boots Alliance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    You get benefits like discount card

    Cons

    No equal opportunities /work life balance

    Advice to Management

    Always stand by your words and give equality and work/life balance

    Walgreens Boots Alliance2019-06-27
  3. "Understaffed, Overworked, Underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Walgreens Boots Alliance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Friendly staff. Nothing else positive. Used to be a better work please going back a few years

    Cons

    Pressure and stress due to inadequate staff levels. No work life balance. Inadequate staff causing constant stress especially due to the nature of pharmacy and the importance of medication.

    Advice to Management

    Management at area level and above need to understand the pressure and stress that is happening in store. Invest in more people and more results would be achieved.

    Walgreens Boots Alliance2019-03-25
  4. "Career with Boots."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmacy Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walgreens Boots Alliance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great training. Good career opportunities.

    Cons

    Work life balance is difficult to maintain

    Walgreens Boots Alliance2018-09-27
  5. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Walgreens Boots Alliance full-time

    Pros

    Pros of working at WBA are international environment, stability of the job, good compensation and benefits.

    Cons

    Work - life balance can be compromised sometimes as working hours can be quite long. Moves across functions are quite uncommon.

    Walgreens Boots Alliance2017-01-15
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Sick workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmacist Manager in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Walgreens Boots Alliance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    We get wages we get wages we get wages we get wages We get staff discount we get staff discount. A pension if you are in one.

    Cons

    Colleagues are worked into the ground. Forget about any work-life balance if your a manager or pharmacist. We are all worked like dogs. Many go off long-term sick and some never return, being left as empty husks when all the goodness has been beaten out of them. Boots, like many big companies, is like a giant ship, steaming ahead, and any casualties are thrown overboard. Boots may get its colleagues to do a lot of charity work but within its ownership there is no 'kindness'.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There needs to be a sea change in Boots at the top because, in spite of a lot of talk and posturing nothing has been done about working conditions and target-mad culture at Boots. You are losing customers daily as there is nobody even serving them- great customer care is impossible!

    Walgreens Boots Alliance2016-10-18
  7. Helpful (1)

    "WBA, time for a change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commercial (B2B) 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walgreens Boots Alliance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Diverse and multicultural workforce. Skills development in a big, complex, growing company. Good for CV.

    Cons

    Very difficult (no flexibility) to get a salary increase despite many unpaid hours you need to work (due to business trips travel time, or customers overseas, or last-minute tasks to be completed the same day because of someone else not doing their bit). No formal training for new starters. No formal work-life balance (it's up to your line manager). Low salary compared to other pharmaceutical companies, if you work in an office and are not a Director. Lack of investment in people. Sudden structural changes. Job uncertainty. Fear culture. Some nepotism culture.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Staff morale and customer expectations (B2B) are affected by frequent structural changes, low salaries and lack of procedures&resources in some commercial teams.

    Walgreens Boots Alliance2016-08-10
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Not a great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Walgreens Boots Alliance for more than a year

    Pros

    Great colleagues, good salary and benefits

    Cons

    Little respect for employees, no work/life balance

    Walgreens Boots Alliance2016-02-18
  9. "Always want more"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Walgreens Boots Alliance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay is ok but you have to work hard to earn it

    Cons

    No work life balance far too many unpaid hours worked

    Walgreens Boots Alliance2014-12-28
  10. Helpful (1)

    "A company of which I will always be fond."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walgreens Boots Alliance part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Boots is a professional company with a fantastic work ethos, continuously striving to strengthen its bonds with its customers. Working as part of the team at Boots can be a very fulfilling role.

    Cons

    There is little room for professional development in terms of promotion. Moreover the current issue of the company being severely understaffed can lead to an unhealthy work life balance for employees when strain is placed on them to work longer hours while covering a number of posts.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees with an empathetic ear.

    Walgreens Boots Alliance2014-07-14
Found 10 reviews