Walgreens "low pay" Reviews | Glassdoor

Walgreens Employee Reviews about "low pay"

Updated Dec 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
42%
Recommend to a Friend
30%
Approve of CEO
Walgreens Executive Vice Chairman and Acting CEO Stefano Pessina
Stefano Pessina
3,546 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low Pay, short of staff due to budget management(in 436 reviews)

  • "Sometimes hard to communicate with upper management(in 419 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "low pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good for working during school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Tucson, AZ

    I worked at Walgreens part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked at a top district, busy store at a very prominent intersection. My managers were always happy to work with my school schedule with appropriate notice and they were extremely friendly and flexible. I would've loved to continue to work my way up through the company.

    Cons

    Low pay. I would've loved to work my way up through the company, but needed to find something else to make a living.

    Continue reading
    Walgreens2016-07-25
  2. "Assistant store manager trainee walgreens"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - ASMt 

    I have been working at Walgreens full-time

    Pros

    flexible schedule good prices sometimes

    Cons

    long hours understaffed low pay

    Walgreens2019-11-21
  3. "Good for temporary work-high schoolers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmacy Technician in Omaha, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Walgreens full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours. Friendly staff at most locations.

    Cons

    Low pay. Poorly managed at times.

    Walgreens2019-11-20
  4. "Its Retail, but Seems like the company doesnt care about its employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in Lowell, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Walgreens part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discount, PTO, Sunday Pay, Flexible Schedules

    Cons

    Working holidays, budget cuts, Low pay, Minimal raises

    Walgreens2019-11-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate 

    I have been working at Walgreens part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employee discount, learn a lot about dealing with the public.

    Cons

    Understaffed, relatively low pay, quality of management varies by store.

    Walgreens2019-11-03
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Walgreens full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Employee team, stuck together thru tough times of underemployment and a sinking ship of a store. Met nice and made friends with customers and some employees

    Cons

    Everything. Low pay for what you have to do. No specific job training, sit on a computer to “train” then throw you on the sales floor which is not the same. Always underemployed, some shifts are a cashier and shift lead, then pharmacy needs help, cashier needs back up ringing, photos need to be picked up, as a shift lead you run around like a chicken with no head, and no other help in sight. Walgreens adds more and more with no training. Added fedex and western union and literally was trained by “just doing”. Pharmacy is a mess, just as understaffed and even more stressful, as a shift lead you have to help them as well. Most stores have 2 shift leads and a store manager, store manager wont work holidays, now were forced to work thanksgiving, Christmas, New Years, and don’t even get 1 holiday off ! It’s awful. Nobody is applying! And nobody should! Low pay, stressful environment. Not even a higher pay is worth 5 out of 7 days of pure chaos and stress ! Not including your everyday life stress. Walgreens Go back to what worked ! If they weren’t flexible with my college schedule, I would have left years ago ! Literally waiting to graduate and never looking back.

    Continue reading
    Walgreens2019-12-06
  7. "It was Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Designated Hitter in Carmel, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walgreens full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility, team building, but not a lot after that

    Cons

    Boring, low pay, low career opportunity

    Walgreens2019-10-31
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Where to begin...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Walgreens part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You'll get good exercise from all the moving and lifting and stocking/unloading the truck into the warehouse. The employee discount is good enough that you'll end up spending a good bit of your paycheck on snacks and drinks throughout your work day. That's probably more of a con, considering you're not paid very much and most of the items, despite your discount, are still cheaper at Walmart.

    Cons

    Low pay for a lot of work. They hire senior citizens at the same rate as regular employees, but they usually only have to work the register. They'll work you just enough hours to not receive full-time status. They'll lecture you for not getting all your chores done by the end of your shift despite knowing full well that you're understaffed because they have a limited amount of hours to dish out to employees. If you make a mistake, expect at least 3 of your managers to come and talk to you about it. Management knows the associate job is a meat grinder with a high turnover rate. Its all about the bottom line with this company. The customers range from old to homeless, to young to mentally handicapped. Some happy, some patient, some angry, and well that's customers anywhere. The couponers will drive you nuts. At least 75% of the low-income shoppers come in with bags full of flyers for couponing. If the rules say only to use one per purchase they will hold up the line with 5-10 separate transactions so they can use all of their coupons. If the reward system is down they will raise H3ll and you'll have to call a manager to manually add the points into their accounts. I've learned to hate coupons, reward points, and penny pinching low-income riffraff who seem to enjoy holding up the line so they can buy 20 rolls of toilet paper in 7 transactions for 50cents.

    Continue reading
    Walgreens2019-10-20
  9. "Pharmacy Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Pharmacy Technician 

    I worked at Walgreens part-time

    Pros

    You learn a lot being there

    Cons

    Low pay, customers are beyond rude

    Walgreens2019-10-11
  10. "Pharmacy technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walgreens full-time

    Pros

    Good management, uniforms, discounts, scheduling

    Cons

    Low pay rate, low starting rate, exam cost

    Continue reading
    Walgreens2019-09-16
Found 436 reviews