Walker-Miller Energy Services Reviews | Glassdoor

Walker-Miller Energy Services Reviews

Updated Jan 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
80%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Walker-Miller Energy Services CEO and President Carla Walker-Miller (no image)
Carla Walker-Miller
13 Ratings
  1. "Walker Miller is the best place ever to work! I wake up everyday very energetic because I feel that I belong to WM."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Energy Specialist I, Energy Specialist II, Energy Advisor in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walker-Miller Energy Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Leadership is like family. Carla and Greg are very close to everybody and know all employees by name. Work hard and see the appreciation. It is a true family and work-life balance is always taken care of. WM gave me the chance to prove myself and believed in my abilities. Your personality and ability to be human is more important than your experience. Be Bold and Humble.

    Cons

    Be real human and loyal. Work smart not hard

    Advice to Management

    Keep up with the great work.

    Walker-Miller Energy Services2019-12-27
  2. "A High Performing, Core Values Driven Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chief Executive Officer in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Walker-Miller Energy Services full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    We are a high performing company with a heart. Our company culture is very positive. We recruit, retain, and reward based on our core values. We are determined to make working with Walker-Miller an extraordinary experience.

    Cons

    We have grown very quickly, so have had to play catchup with some of our policies. We have been slow to make much needed investment in training our People Leaders to Lead, manage and hold accountable. Every team member has to function at a very high level to deliver extraordinary experiences.

    Walker-Miller Energy Services2019-12-05
  3. "Don’t believe what you read"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Walker-Miller Energy Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The benefits are good

    Cons

    The latest reviews are written by overpaid management The company has to much management for its size. They are so focused on getting a lot of management they have no idea what they are managing. I did not know who I reported to from time to time. It could be a great company if they would stop focusing on hiring high priced people who don’t know what their doing. You need more Indians and less chiefs

    Advice to Management

    Stop being. Revolving door

    Walker-Miller Energy Services2020-01-06
  4. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walker-Miller Energy Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A great place to grow professionally and work with an awesome staff!

    Cons

    There is no restaurant in the building.

    Advice to Management

    Keep growing!

    Walker-Miller Energy Services2019-11-14
  5. "Inspiring place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walker-Miller Energy Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Mission driven, committed, nimble, flexible organization - driven to provide an extraordinary experience for its team members and its clients.

    Cons

    Candidates that thrive in a growing, fast-paced organization will enjoy working here.

    Advice to Management

    You're on the right path!

    Walker-Miller Energy Services2019-10-22
  6. "Like a Family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walker-Miller Energy Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People focused, family like Lot's of growth opportunities for the business CEO Carla is just as committed and passionate about the team as she is about energy efficiency. She's all about business but won't sacrifice the people side. Focus on impacting lives and communities - rewarding work

    Cons

    Fast-paced -- hard to keep everyone in the loop all the time

    Advice to Management

    Continue working on communication

    Walker-Miller Energy Services2019-10-03
  7. "WMES is a great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Team Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walker-Miller Energy Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Open communication platform is amazing

    Cons

    Improve all team members communications

    Advice to Management

    Continue to keep an executive open door policy and an environment of valuing reputations of all team members.

    Walker-Miller Energy Services2019-10-03
  8. "Best Company in the Energy Industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chief Financial Officer in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walker-Miller Energy Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The culture at the company is something that I have never experienced in my 20+ years of employment. The culture is very entrepreneurial, supportive and growth oriented. Everyone believes in the mission and is aligned on making the company better. We have excellent and experienced leadership that cares about their team. The most senior leaders are consumed with building a business with the right people in the right seats and it makes so much sense.

    Show More

    Cons

    If you are not motivated by working for a growing company in an entrepreneurial environment then you will not love working here.

    Advice to Management

    Management should stay focused on growing a great company!

    Walker-Miller Energy Services2019-10-03
  9. "Best Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QA Manager in Collinsville, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walker-Miller Energy Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    "I have been working full time for over 30 years and this is the most loving and caring place I have ever worked"

    Cons

    Wish I lived closer to the corporate office.

    Walker-Miller Energy Services2019-09-28
  10. "Inspiring Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walker-Miller Energy Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits and Compensation, Supportive Team, Inspiring Leaders that Care about your well-being, Monthly Birthday Celebrations, Seasonal Team Outings and fun company parties, Clean Building, Friendly Atmosphere, The leaders are constantly looking for ways to improve processes and offer perks for team retention.

    Cons

    WMES is a fast growing company and communication about happenings is not always conveyed in a timely fashion. Non-existent processes and/or existing processes not yet followed by all. Fast paced environment, often heavy workload

    Advice to Management

    Continue working on better overall communication and building an open & honest environment. Develop processes for frequent procedures, use diverse forms of communication to share/enforce those processes regularly (i.e. at new hire orientation, at company meetings, via email, etc.)

    Walker-Miller Energy Services2019-10-04
Found 22 reviews