Walking Company Holdings Reviews | Glassdoor

Walking Company Holdings Reviews

Updated Jun 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 242 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
29%
Recommend to a Friend
22%
Approve of CEO
Andrew D. Feshbach
116 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fun and goal oriented to be the best that you can be while your helping people out(in 14 reviews)

  • "Employee discount, opportunity to earn free shoes(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management keeps most of the power from the store manager(in 16 reviews)

  • "The district manager is extremely rude and does not know how to talk to anyone(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walking Company Holdings full-time

    Pros

    Decent company Lots of downtime Opputunity for growth Easy access to management

    Cons

    Retail, so retail hours are dreadful.

    Walking Company Holdings2018-10-30
  2. "Great advancement opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walking Company Holdings full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Love doing a rewarding job, you get to be quite independant with corporate on your side when needed. Great discount.

    Cons

    Long hours and can be physically challenging

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing, make sure to keep wages fair for all

    Walking Company Holdings2019-06-20
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Like to be micromanaged?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Third Key in Eastern Summit, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walking Company Holdings part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great employee discounts, and lots of training regarding feet and sboes.

    Cons

    I'm over 60 and am micromanaged to the point where I question everything I say or do. I don't need this. I know I can sell to people, but not when everything I do is being watched like a hawk.

    Advice to Management

    Your signage does not reflect the type of buyer we get here. People who work retail, people who are in the trades, and people who are not thin and blonde, would probably come into the store more often if they saw themselves reflected in the signs. The software on the kiosk is 10 years out of date. Customers have told me that they receive too many emails when they sign up for Rewards.

    Walking Company Holdings2019-06-10
  4. "Pretty good for high school students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Sales Associate 

      I worked at Walking Company Holdings part-time

      Pros

      - team was good - free lunch - holidays off

      Cons

      - low pay for entry level

      Walking Company Holdings2019-05-20
    • Helpful (1)

      "Average retail environment, except you are required to put shoes on other people's feet."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Walking Company Holdings full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      You do have the opportunity to really help people with their pain and mobility.

      Cons

      The company expects a lot of their sales representatives. You are expected to give a top notch experience with specialized information for minimum wage.

      Advice to Management

      Pay your people more, and back them up verses always taking the customer's side of a situation.

      Walking Company Holdings2019-05-13
    • "Good Retail Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Associate in Burlington, MA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Walking Company Holdings part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Less stressful than other retail jobs Employee Discounts

      Cons

      Low pay - commission does not add much to paycheck unless you are working heavy hours

      Walking Company Holdings2019-05-14
    • "Okay place to work/ low maintenance sales job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Walking Company Holdings part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great sales experience, learned a lot about foot wear, rewarding helping customers with really bad foot problems or injuries

      Cons

      Commission was always changing- Ex. No commission on sale Uggs when they still carried them, all of the training modules were really annoying and time consuming

      Walking Company Holdings2019-05-04
    • "Small but growing company! Noticeable cultural shift!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Store Manager in Hartford, CT
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Walking Company Holdings full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Workload Training Leadership (improved) Products (improved) Employee Discount

      Cons

      Technology (lacking innovation and compatibility) Benefits

      Walking Company Holdings2019-05-02
    • "Great Boss not a great company."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Newark, DE
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Walking Company Holdings full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      I had a great boss that taught me a lot.

      Cons

      Not good with accountability with co-workers that didn't do their job and harassed co-workers.

      Walking Company Holdings2019-04-30
    • "Customer Service Representative- Call center environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Walking Company Holdings full-time

        Pros

        Great culture. Great people. The company helped older folks get comfortable shoes.

        Cons

        There was no commission based pay, calls could get overwhelming.

        Advice to Management

        Add commission structure.

        Walking Company Holdings2018-12-28
      Found 242 reviews