Walmart Reviews in Akron, OH | Glassdoor

Walmart Akron Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 78 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Walmart CEO Doug McMillon
Doug McMillon
26 Ratings
  1. "Walmart unloader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Walmart Unloader in Stow, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very communicative and strives for greatness.

    Cons

    Breaks are too short.

    Advice to Management

    I think you guys are amazing, I think the only problem would be for you guys to increase the breaks because it’s entirely too fast.

    Walmart2018-11-05
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Overall, it's a great company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Produce Department Manager in Austintown, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great start out pay. Great incentives. Health. Vision. 401k. Paid time off and more.

    Cons

    In my experience, when moving up in the company they dont give you proper training. They tell you what you need to do and from there its sink or swim. Not enough equipment to be able to do your job in a fast and efficient way. Upper management tends to be MIA.

    Advice to Management

    When you see your department short staffed due to your scheduling dont be afraid to jump in and get your hands dirty instead of telling us we are being insufficient.

    Walmart2019-03-30
  3. "It is what it is. You get what you put into it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Manager in Tallmadge, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Bonuses and fun people to work with.

    Cons

    Corporate is blind to certain things that if remedied would make this a great place to work.

    Advice to Management

    Fix what is broken.

    Walmart2019-02-01
  4. "Wal-Mart, Capitalism's end game."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Third Shift Maintenance in Akron, OH

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Your check cashes and they offer insurance.

    Cons

    Sam Walls' "respect for the associate" doesn't exist. There is no reward for hard work, only for attendance. Opportunities for advancement limited to insiders and friends. Associates generally can't be trusted and , regardless of gender , act like "mean girls". Watch your back and your mouth.

    Advice to Management

    If Wal-Mart loses its price advantage over competitors it is done. The company does not respect the customer or its employees. Manage employees instead of controlling them. Offer customer real value and respect not cheap throw a ways and half assed service.

    Walmart2019-02-14
  5. "WALLYWORLD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Store Remodel/Associate in Poland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Walmart for more than a year

    Pros

    Meeting new people and learning about stores ins and outs.

    Cons

    They don't value hospitalization, family emergencies, doctors excuses, anything dealing with YOU.

    Advice to Management

    If this is how "family" is treated I'm glad I'm not a Walton.

    Walmart2019-01-14
  6. "Great for young people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Shopper in Kent, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Teaches work ethics and gives young people something to strive for with frequent promotions. Pay isn’t bad.

    Cons

    Very physical and fast paced

    Advice to Management

    Do not YELL at people. It is unacceptable and makes you look incompetent.

    Walmart2018-11-12
  7. "Decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Grove City, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good starting salary; assistant managers approachable

    Cons

    Point system can be difficult for some; Difficult to advance or increase wages

    Walmart2018-11-23
  8. "Cap 2 Associate (OneTouch) at Walmart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cap II Associate in Aurora, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The work and pay are very reliable, the company treats associates well considering how many of them there are. For those who are employed for longer amounts of time, there are a wide array of benefits available.

    Cons

    The work can get boring sometimes, but if you find a way to enjoy the work it goes by much faster. Not very fulfilling work, would not choose to work here long term. The hours blow (2-11pm when I was there, but I hear it is now 1-10pm)

    Advice to Management

    I appreciate that the opportunity for advancement is high. Try to better monitor visiting Assistant Managers as sometimes they can disrupt the workplace balance.

    Walmart2018-10-15
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work in this area"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Kent, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart

    Pros

    PTO, annual bonuses, flexible schedules

    Cons

    Very busy store. College area

    Advice to Management

    Hire more part time employees with open availability

    Walmart2018-09-12
  10. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Akron, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    There are none none at all

    Cons

    Bad all bad recruiting is the worst

    Advice to Management

    Get your stuff together

    Walmart2018-10-03
Found 78 reviews