Walmart Reviews in Anchorage, AK | Glassdoor

Walmart Anchorage Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
17%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Walmart CEO Doug McMillon
Doug McMillon
8 Ratings
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Manager in Anchorage, AK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People at the store are very friendly. It's a great enironment to work at.

    Cons

    Being in Alaska, we don't get our items as fast as the lower 48, therefore, customer understand by they don't care and will be mad.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on doing what you're doing, that is a great job!

    Walmart2017-04-30
  2. "Good place to learn and geow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Anchorage, AK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good learning investment if you are willing to put yourself out there. A lot of opportunity for growth.

    Cons

    Long hours, limited days off. Phone never stops ringing

    Advice to Management

    Staff your areas

    Walmart2019-06-13
  3. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Cap Team Supervisor in Anchorage, AK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart for more than a year

    Pros

    you can move up quickly, transfer to locations easily

    Cons

    Benefits are a royal pain to navigate, there is no difference between a supervisor or department mgr (yet both positions exist and are over the same areas)....worked for over a year meeting all requirements and still waiting for company 401k match... employees are constantly pulled from their tasks to do other functions, then harshly questioned why they didn't get their regular tasks done.... Also, you will get... coached on 2 minutes of overtime...yes, seriously....SOME Assistant Mgrs down talk to employees and treat people like garbage...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of Dept Mgr or Sup position. Keep your written word about matching 401k (avoid getting sued and in trouble with the IRS, my issue still not fixed even after a to call corporate....SERIOUSLY NOT HAPPY was told to call Merrill Lynch, but it's an issue with WALMART...benefits people were useless, nice but useless). Stop pulling employees from daily tasks. Stop reprimanding employees for 2 minutes of overtime....... 15 minutes per week should be acceptable for hourly leadership - OR OVERLAP their Start/End times!! Simplify benefits website and provide more in-depth information!! Where's the Summary Plan Descriptions? Where can I go to use my vision benefits, have been advised I cannot use my vision insurance at Walmart Vision center....um...What the...? Is Medical, Dental & Vision - PRE or POST tax? NOTHING LISTED!! Everything Walmart does is on the cheapest level possible.... it's pathetic....

    Show More
    Walmart2018-11-13
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Cap 1"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Cap I in Anchorage, AK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly coworkers, decent entry level starting wage

    Cons

    Strict managers, typically had to finish CAP 2s work.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of people who consistently under perform compared to coworkers.

    Walmart2018-06-28
  5. "Enjoyed it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Associate/Cashier in Eagle River, AK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart

    Pros

    The people there are friendly, you can ask someone for help and they'll do it or find someone who can

    Cons

    The managers there weren't as nice and the schedules were always messed up

    Advice to Management

    Work on the scheduling more

    Walmart2017-10-11
  6. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Cashier in Anchorage, AK
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's an easy job, it can be a little stressful when it gets busy but you don't have much responsibility other than to ring up customers.

    Cons

    It gets boring. The customers can be really hard to deal with.

    Walmart2017-09-18
  7. "It's alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Wasilla, AK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay is good, lots of hours, lower management is helpful

    Cons

    The hours are sporadic and it's difficult to get time off unless you request it far off. Upper management is unapproachable and usually keep to themselves. Very rare raises.

    Walmart2017-02-09
  8. "Support Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Merchandise Support Manager in Wasilla, AK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are many Advancement opportunities Mentoring is la tool that they use a lot for associates that show interest in moving up

    Cons

    Not enough associates to properly perform the daily task Accountability Stressful Favoritism One dimensional Unstable hours unless you are management, Cap 1, Cap 2, or work overnights

    Advice to Management

    Hire more associates or lower the bar.

    Walmart2016-10-21
  9. "We don't want to push out but there is the door."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Wal Mart Cashier in Anchorage, AK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People you work with in the "low" jobs are all wonderful. Must be because we are in the same boat.They have computer courses to take before you go on the floor.

    Cons

    They are interested in only young low paying person who think getting a promotion after 3 months of work is great. If they last another 3 months it will be surprising, The computer courses are so outdated that you've wasted days, and the company wasted money.

    Advice to Management

    Try to get off the pedestal long enough that your demands and the ones coming from "company headquarters" make no sense. headquarters in the south maintaining the heat in Alaska???

    Walmart2015-08-07
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Asset Protection at Walmart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Asset Protection Associate in Anchorage, AK
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart

    Pros

    Good pay, companionship with coworkers

    Cons

    Rude bosses, constant write-ups, high turnover

    Advice to Management

    Stop looking for every little fault with every employee, it's walmart. What do you expect?

    Walmart2015-03-31
Found 16 reviews