Walmart Bakery Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Walmart Bakery Manager Reviews

Updated May 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Walmart CEO Doug McMillon
Doug McMillon
5 Ratings
  1. "fafdasfa"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Bakery Manager 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They have tons of opportunity to retrain the management and give their employees a better environment

    Cons

    There's no communication. We aren't able to work together because they do not enforce an environment where we are able to communicate.

    Advice to Management

    What do you know about management

    Walmart2019-05-01
  2. "Bakery Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bakery Department Manager in Holly Spring, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Pay , Great hours

    Cons

    Management are no nice , not compassion at all

    Advice to Management

    learn to have compassion with people who has any kind of illness , Try to understand what they are going through

    Walmart2018-04-02
  3. "Bakery Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Bakery Manager in Carson City, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is not a good reason to work at walmart

    Cons

    Don't care for their employees at all.. Treat you like dogs and expect so much more out of you so they don't have to do it

    Advice to Management

    Try helping your associates, instead of passing it through a chain of command and goes directly back to the person that asked for help. Advice would also be to treat your employees differently they are human and working hard for you, they are more then just how much money you will get as a bonus!!!!!

    Walmart2017-08-04
  4. "Deli/Bakery Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli/Bakery Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time

    Pros

    I was scheduled to work 5 am to 2 pm on my days I worked. Nice hours for me.

    Cons

    I had to work most days to 1100 at night. Ï had people in my department that had no clue what was going on and didn't care to try to learn to do anything. People always called off of they would come in when they wanted to not when they' were scheduled.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the people who always call off we need reliable people.

    Walmart2015-06-18
  5. "Bad company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Bakery Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart

    Pros

    Benefits,401k, health insurance and vacation.

    Cons

    The company, upper management rude, disrespectful and unethical.

    Advice to Management

    Be more open to listen to those dealing hand in hand with the customers, you know those that aren't salary and are getting paid just enough to survive

    Walmart2015-06-09
  6. "not the company it once was"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bakery Department Manager in Lewisburg, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The Walmart I worked at gave you decent amount of training and tried to work with you as far as time off.

    Cons

    I personally felt that as the years went on the dedication to their employees and customer service was going by the wayside. The perks of working there we're starting to slide and their leadership was also very sketchy. As a department manager myself I felt that more and more work was being piled on but not the type for a supervisor but just as a regular associate.they were taking away your role as a manager and just...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    management needs to seriously reconsider the way things are ran in most stores and actually listen to the hourly associates and not just put there thoughts into the back of their head. Because if it wasn't for most of those hourly associates those managers would not have a paycheck.

    Walmart2014-10-07
  7. Helpful (1)

    "My personal experience at Walmart is double edged."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bakery Manager in Auburndale, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I learned alot in my position at Walmart, but I was lucky enough to have a supervisor that trained me well and gave me many opportunities to learn in different parts of the store.

    Cons

    Walmart has changed over the years, hiring less and working its employees harder and harder. They set unrealistic goals for many of the positions without the necessary tools, training or manpower, to accomplish them.

    Advice to Management

    My advice to management is to learn the positions in the various departments for which you are in charge. If you don't know all of the responsibilities of the employee's, then you can't constructively lead them.

    Walmart2014-08-21
  8. "It Paid the Bills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bakery Manager in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There is a diverse group of people and a wealth of knowledge about a commercial bakery for those who care to learn. The benefits are descent for full time and there are bonuses on rare occasions. The work is structured and the routine is easy to learn.

    Cons

    The company has changed since Sam Walton died and seems to be more concerned with bean counting than taking care of their associates. The managers at my particular store were not entirely supportive and apathy soon became a virtue.

    Advice to Management

    Sam Walton had good ideas that make a difference in morale and by proxy, the customer experience. Since the customers are the business, maybe Walmart needs to get back to its roots.

    Walmart2014-02-13
  9. "From part-time associate to assistant of the store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Meat/Deli/Bakery Assistant Manager in Laval, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Really easy to go up the work ladder and to try new job or just get a promotion

    Cons

    If you are young and that you dont have kids, you can as a manager you pass after ALL the other manager for the schedule. At some point I used to work every single Thursday and Friday evenings and the whole weekend for almost 16 weeks in a row and it's important to concider that I was was 20-21 at that time

    Advice to Management

    I was the management....

    Walmart2018-03-29
  10. "I actually love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bakery Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities. Hard work pays off.

    Cons

    Moral is so low it's hard to stay above it.

    Walmart2017-12-10
Found 11 reviews