Walmart Reviews in Baton Rouge, LA | Glassdoor

Walmart Baton Rouge Reviews

Updated Nov 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
72%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Walmart CEO Doug McMillon
Doug McMillon
26 Ratings
  1. "Self motivation, enthusiasm, seeking employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stocker in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Experience, career advancement, coming a better quality of life

    Cons

    I can not think of any downsides at that company

    Advice to Management

    I am a quick learn but I prefer hands on training

    Walmart2019-10-04
  2. "Yuck"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Baton Rouge, LA
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits if you get the hours

    Cons

    Messed up hours. Core hours. Mismanagement. Protected PTO

    Advice to Management

    Stop being lazy

    Walmart2019-11-13
  3. "Good place to work, but not a perfect career choice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    +Managment will treat you good as long as you do your job +They got an Even app that allows you to withdrawal up to half your check the week before you get paid +If you express optimism and eagerness to learn, they got plenty of departments that need an extra hand. If you want to become a Customer service manager,Department manager,etc. they'll teach you what you want to know (however you will have to stand out a... bit since they want to teach people who want to stay)

    Show More

    Cons

    -Obviously, you are an expendable resource and they have customers to please so slacking off is a no-no -They have a ridiculous point system on the time clock, if you're 9min too early or late. You get one point added to your record, five points total means automatic termination. (They have protected POT for the point system, say if it's for vacation or illness. But it is not the best option to recover from if used... multiple times) - As a normal associate you do not have the authority to approach a customer that is damaging merchandise or stealing. You either have to contact management or asset protection to deal with the issue, but the suspect in question will be long gone before any real help arrives.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Find a more effective method of reporting suspcious activity, because leaving the suspect out of sight will only prevent from fixing the issue sooner. I understand that each manager has a criteria to reach and in a supercenter will many merchandise it is your duty to fufill them-pressure or no pressure. Treat all the associates fairly, and AVOID favortism. I see it happen too many times

    Walmart2019-09-09
  4. "I enjoyed working at walmart."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Manager in Baton Rouge, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The pros are great pay and benefits.

    Cons

    The cons are at times overworked.

    Walmart2019-09-17
  5. "Good Pay, Flexible Schedule"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in Baton Rouge, LA

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Starting Pay Flexible Work Schedule (good for college students) Always more hours to pick up

    Cons

    Management can be shady Work drama Easy to feel overworked

    Walmart2019-09-11
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Its a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - WalMart Overnight Stocker in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay is good the hours are good

    Cons

    The only thing for me is they will have you part-time working Full-Time hours

    Advice to Management

    If you are going to schedule a part-time worker full-time hours atleast change their status to Full-time

    Walmart2019-08-17
  7. "Walmart Careers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Overnight Stocker in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They Have Good Hours And PerfectPerfect Benefits

    Cons

    Unexcusable And It Should Be A Better Way To Work Around They're System

    Advice to Management

    Better Understanding For Certain Situations

    Walmart2019-06-18
  8. "Exceptional Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Modular Team in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I loved the huge benefit of working closely with my fellow Team Members

    Cons

    I didn’t like working overnight

    Advice to Management

    Advice I would give management is to assist in fine tuning employees skill sets

    Walmart2019-06-12
  9. "All all around great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stocker in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay and hours are very decent

    Cons

    None At all that I can think of all around good store

    Advice to Management

    No advice to management their great too

    Walmart2019-06-10
  10. "Working with this company, wasn't easy at all.I loved my customers however management is full of it.they won't work but"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmacy in Baton Rouge, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I learned a lot from my co-workers who trained me

    Cons

    Management is horrible and don't care about the workers.

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to do the job before you try to give someone some advice on how to do the job and have some compassion for the workers.

    Walmart2019-06-12
Found 66 reviews