Walmart Reviews in Baytown, TX | Glassdoor

Walmart Baytown Reviews

Updated 22 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 31 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Walmart CEO Doug McMillon
Doug McMillon
8 Ratings
  1. "I love working in this Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Database Administrator in Baytown, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I work 3 days and have 4 days off.

    Cons

    I should get paid more.

    Advice to Management

    Pay me more.

    Walmart2019-03-16
  2. "Slavery"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Order Filler in Baytown, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits. Good pay. (Depends on what you're doing. It's not worth it if you're an order filler) Depends on what shift you're on, you get 4 days off. Quarterly incentive is ok.

    Cons

    Breaks your body. After you get hurt, they don't care about you. You're replaceable like one of the boxes in the warehouse. All these people care about are numbers, which is what they see all order fillers as, the number 2400. You're suppose to make "production" of 2400 cases over a 12 hour shift which has two 20 minute breaks, no matter how heavy the boxes. If you miss that 2400, you get an occurrence. Three... occurrences= 1 step. Four steps = you're gone. Trust me, they can accumulate fast. Worse thing is you have to stay in that position for 1 year before you can transfer to another department. In my time there I have seen so many people walk out, it's unbelievable. I don't think management or the persons who designed the system thought about the physiological effects this job would have on the body, or Walmart just does not care.. I'm shocked that someone has never gotten some permanent physical damage from this job yet, (well I don't know). I have never worked somewhere with such high expectations for such a simple job. There are employees that simply don't care but this job is too simple to be so physically, mentally, and psychologically stressful. If I knew then what I know now, I would have never joined their team. This is not a stable and secure job, you could think you're fine and get 4 occurrences at once, and be out of a job in no time. I DO NOT RECOMMEND anyone for this back breaking, energy sucking, unstable job with this company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I have seen too many unsafe practices in this place because employees feel they need to do whatever it takes to meet production. Employees are not happy. It seems like you're killing yourself to be told that you're not doing a good job at it. I definitely understand the pressure to ensure regional DC's and stores get their products, but you will be faced with a huge problem if order filling does not change.

    Walmart2019-08-22
  3. "Culture and feel of atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QA Associate in Baytown, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Three day work week thanks to a weekend shift. (Friday, Saturday and Sunday)

    Cons

    Associates and managers alike can and do form little cliques. With that being said, their are good people as well.

    Advice to Management

    Egos are not necessary just because you have promoted up. Getting promoted is a popular game.

    Walmart2019-04-01
  4. "fair pay for amount of work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loader in Baytown, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    payed time off and incentive pay great benefits

    Cons

    not a lot of room for promotion

    Walmart2019-03-13
  5. "Stocker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CAP II in Baytown, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You can move up quickly at Wal-Mart.

    Cons

    Hours are not consistent. CAP 2 is the hardest job physically at Wal-Mart and the pay is the same or less than everyone else in the store. It's kind of disheartening to be busting my rear and having to watch others making the same money as I am just standing around doing nothing....

    Advice to Management

    None

    Walmart2019-02-18
  6. "Cap 2 associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    CAP Team Member in Baytown, TX

    I worked at Walmart for more than a year

    Pros

    They have a set schedule! you will usually work the same schedule as long as you relay to them that you would prefer a set schedule!

    Cons

    you don't always get 40 hours a week, in fact! its a rare thing,

    Walmart2018-08-06
  7. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supercenter Co-Manager in Baytown, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    customer service - associates - training new associates

    Cons

    PTO not used when you want to use it

    Advice to Management

    Work as a team

    Walmart2018-07-10
  8. "STAY AWAY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lift Operator in Baytown, TX
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Walmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pays well with good benefits.

    Cons

    Treat you like crap..Dont train you well at all, but expect it perfect even your first few days of training, if you can call it that. No job security.

    Advice to Management

    Train better, stop dangling peoples job over their heads daily. Dont do write ups during training, help your people to be sucessful. Need a more positive environment. Learn how to retain your staff. You talk culture and values but practice none of it..

    Walmart2018-08-14
  9. "Hauler"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hauler in Baytown, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The pay is better than some places

    Cons

    The warehouse as a whole is unorganized and unprofessional.

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to improve

    Walmart2018-07-18
  10. "Yard Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Yard Driver in Baytown, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You can work a lot of hours when its busy.

    Cons

    The longer you've been there the better the shift

    Advice to Management

    Try to pay more attention

    Walmart2018-04-16
Found 31 reviews