Walmart Reviews in Bismarck, ND | Glassdoor

Walmart Bismarck Reviews

Updated Feb 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
34%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Walmart CEO Doug McMillon
Doug McMillon
4 Ratings
  1. "Awesome Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Market Human Resources Manager in Bismarck, ND
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay! The people are awesome! The schedule is flexible!

    Cons

    Sometimes leaders can lose focus on the big picture that workers are customers too!

    Walmart2019-02-18
  2. "Good benefits, but poor management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Frozen/Dairy Associate in Bismarck, ND
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you get full time you will most likely have a set schedule and you get great pto/sick time. The 10 percent discount is also nice especially on big electronics purchases. Work isn't difficult after learning the basics and while requesting vacation can be difficult you do earn up pto quickly. MyShare bonus can be really high if your store has good enough scores and you receive one every 6 months.

    Cons

    Horrible treatment of hourly sales associates. Poor management and poor fellow associates with low work ethic. Either expect to do everyone else load of work or fall in line with all the other under achievers. No in between.

    Continue reading
    Walmart2018-07-16
  3. "Hard work, long hours, good people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Co-Manager in Bismarck, ND
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with. Never have the same day. Lots to learn and will pick up a lot of talents

    Cons

    Long hours during holidays, salaried managers have a lot of pressure put on them.

    Continue reading
    Walmart2018-02-14
  4. "Customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Bismarck, ND
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay, meet different people everyday, hours are steady

    Cons

    Management is horrible, not enough worker's, turnover rate is very high, point system, Dr note to excuse u from work doesn't count, you only get promoted if management likes you not based on ur work ethics

    Continue reading
    Walmart2017-10-12
  5. "ASM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ASM- Assistant Store Manager in Bismarck, ND
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    decent pay if you don't need a personal life

    Cons

    it is a huge political game to see who can get ahead, no matter who is hurt. That proverbial "open door" leads only to a closed window. Think you are "family"? Keep dreaming. If you drop dead tomorrow, there will be no tears.

    Continue reading
    Walmart2017-10-17
  6. "Former employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Bismarck, ND
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You get a wide variety of experience, friendly employees

    Cons

    Never slows down both pro & con

    Continue reading
    Walmart2017-03-11
  7. "Electronic Dept Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Supervisor At Different Job in Bismarck, ND

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good payment, Break time every 2 hours, Growing opportunities.

    Cons

    I don't have anything to say about cons.

    Walmart2017-03-06
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to start career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Bismarck, ND
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pay is good, benefits are better than average. Training seminars for ASM's have been beneficial to the growth of career.

    Cons

    Work to family time is not the best. Upper management can be "too busy" to assist with issue. Ethics are somewhat at times on a sliding scale.

    Continue reading
    Walmart2015-12-04
  9. "Maintenance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Stocker/Maintenance Associate in Bismarck, ND

    I worked at Walmart for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Management worked hard to keep me employed in spite of my medical issues.

    Cons

    Negative work environment with management not concerned about it.

    Continue reading
    Walmart2015-10-23
  10. "Been here too long..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Overnight Stocker in Bismarck, ND

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The 401K is pretty darn good. Also, working the graveyard shift stocking the shelves, and doing it for 5+ years, means that management allows me to do my job. I do better without excess pressure, and they finally know it. They don't micromanage me near as much as some.

    Cons

    The health insurance is downright crappy. The regular associates can only afford the lower two rungs of it, and those two have the highest deductibles. No one can save money to pay the deductibles when you only get paid $9 an hour. (That's for most of the Walmart community. I'm getting $14.60 an hour right now.) I rated the work-life balance only three stars b/c no matter where you're working, if you're working nights, you're on a different schedule than everyone else. That's why you get paid an overnight differencial. You can't function well when you have to take care of your babies during the day, and have to work at night.

    Walmart2015-10-04
Found 11 reviews