Walmart Reviews in Boise, ID | Glassdoor

Walmart Boise Reviews

Updated Jun 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 44 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
30%
Recommend to a Friend
8%
Approve of CEO
Walmart CEO Doug McMillon
Doug McMillon
16 Ratings
  1. "Grocery stocker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Grocery Stocker in Nampa, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Grate store to work for good benifts and lot good people to work with. Always willing to help ower castmer find what they are looking for.

    Cons

    It's hard to move up in the company there are some nagive people. Sometimes it's hard to meate mangments expectations. Also it's hard to make everyone happy when u don't have a product they need

    Advice to Management

    Be more direct on what u need done and always be will to help an associate move up in the company. And listen to what the Costner want to see in the store

    Walmart2018-04-10
  2. "Okay place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Meat/Dairy in Boise, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is a pretty laid back enviroment

    Cons

    There is a lot of downtime.

    Walmart2019-06-29
  3. "None"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dairy Clerk in Boise, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    None, we can't see any pros.

    Cons

    Payroll is ridiculous, you can never have a holiday with your family, never get approved time off so you can't book a flight, they wanted me to come back to work under narcotics after my teeth were pulled, and then wrote me up. No communication, most management are idiots, oh I see they can have as much time off as they want and take off holidays to spend with their families, 3 separate weeks so far this year and hardly...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get it together.

    Walmart2019-05-08
  4. "Short Timer Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Caldwell, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Walmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers, as a whole, especially supervisors, were friendly and helpful. Pay was good.

    Cons

    Online training overload, then sink or swim Cashier in training couldn't get help when needed so there were frustrated customers (and cashier!) A few negative co-workers including one who told me I wouldn't last long. Worked way more hours than what I signed on for--requested PT hours and worked closer to FT.

    Advice to Management

    Try to keep hours closer to what employee requested. PT doesn't mean FT. Cashiers in training need to be kept closer to seasoned co-workers, especially for benefit of customers. When working in cosmetics, there should have been a very visible sign reminding customers to check out at cosmetic desk for any cosmetics bought. Had to handle transactions there AND keep an eye out for customers leaving that hadn't purchased...

    Show More
    Walmart2019-03-13
  5. "Decent job if management is competent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cap I Associate in Nampa, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    very low stress, easy job. Very little thinking involved and pace of work is very manageable. Easy to get hours and move shifts around if need be

    Cons

    Bad management can ruin the job. Most managers at Walmart are only in those positions because they have been employed by Walmart the longest, not because of their capacity for management or people skills

    Advice to Management

    Honestly, company could use more outside hiring when it comes to management. Only sticking to applicants moving up from associate positions severely limits talent pool.

    Walmart2018-11-20
  6. "Food production"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Production in Nampa, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great starting pay, basic training is easy and fast most other employees are willing to help train you where management fails

    Cons

    They expect you to do the work of five people, come in on your day off, refuse to hire more, and leave you alone in high rush areas without support

    Advice to Management

    Hiring more people will stop your employees from getting burned out

    Walmart2018-08-22
  7. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Caldwell, ID
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Walmart part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Easy way to change availability Not a hard job

      Cons

      Everything from management to work environment. All the coworkers gossip about each other and the management is udder crap. They will put you down every chance they get and will take FOREVER to come when you ask a question or need help with something. Walmart isn’t a terrible place to work at but for the love of god DO NOT BE A CASHIER, work as a stocker or literally in any other dept that’s not the front end. That’s...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Learn to listen to cashiers and be leaders not dictators.

      Walmart2018-06-11
    • "It's a job."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Personal Shopper in Boise, ID
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Walmart part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      If you're in college, they're pretty good at working with your schedule.

      Cons

      Managers will listen to your problems but do nothing to try to solve them.

      Advice to Management

      Put in some effort.

      Walmart2018-05-25
    • "Lack of Communication"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - GM Support Manager in Boise, ID
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Walmart for less than a year

      Pros

      Great people and team work

      Cons

      Miscommunication between management and management teams

      Walmart2018-03-20
    • Helpful (2)

      "Good company, but..."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Pharmacy Technician in Meridian, ID
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Walmart part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great benefits Flexible Competitive pay for regular associates PTO Profit share

      Cons

      Pay for pharmacy technicians is not great compared to competitors Health and wellness CEO doesn’t care about customer service and patient safety only profits Hours in pharmacy continue to be cut and expectations continue to increase which leads to not enough help,angry customers, burnt out staff, and overall TERRIBLE work environment

      Advice to Management

      I used to love working for Walmart. I thought they were the best for the first 2 years I worked there in the pharmacy. Then they started cutting hours and increasing expectations. Our tech hours were cut in half, but our workload has doubled. This is not healthy for the employees or patients. I have lost all respect for Walmart.

      Walmart2018-02-21
    Found 44 reviews