Walmart Reviews in Boise, ID | Glassdoor

Walmart Boise Reviews

Updated Jun 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 44 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
30%
Recommend to a Friend
8%
Approve of CEO
Walmart CEO Doug McMillon
Doug McMillon
16 Ratings
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Unloader Associate in Meridian, ID
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This will be my first job

    Cons

    I need my senior year only going part-time looking for a career to start my life

    Advice to Management

    I have no work skills this is first time job.

    Walmart2018-01-03
  2. "Stressful job that sucks souls"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Overnight Stocker in Nampa, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    After 6 months of working here you get to be apart of their my share inventive. Get about 100-200 dollars every quarter bonus

    Cons

    Stressful managment style. Favoritism rampant. Not much room for growth

    Advice to Management

    Its a corperate problem not a store proble

    Walmart2018-01-13
  3. "Not a place for Women / not equal pay or equal rights as an woman's employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sporting Goods Sales Associate in Meridian, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They came up with the $10.50 pay for the Sporting Goods Area,

    Cons

    No respect, pay raise of 22 cents after a year while the men got over $1.00 raises. for the same job with less customer service training. Being a woman is a draw back .

    Advice to Management

    Hard working women do need to be respected and your 22 cents yearly pay raises suck esp when the men get at least 50 cents to an hour more. This is called Sex discrimination since I had more training and told always I was making"THE BIG BUCKS". sorry management I made more ten years ago at Lowes. You need to also look at age discrimination too,young and pretty was better seller then older and experienced.

    Walmart2017-08-26
  4. "OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Meridian, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy job Flexible Schedule Some supervisors are fantastic

    Cons

    Won't give you days off when requested Won't let you swap shifts Long hours on feet Terrible customers Humiliating to tell people "I'm a cashier at Walmart."

    Walmart2017-08-04
  5. "Good starting job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Overnight Maintenance Associate in Nampa, ID

    I worked at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Constant work and good people

    Cons

    Customers can be challenging and no matter how hard you work you have to do it again the next night

    Walmart2017-06-28
  6. "In decline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmacy Manager in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good salary, benefits begin immediately, good pto benefits. They put a lot of care into their health care and have an excellent software system geared toward safety.

    Cons

    Division is being run by former CVS and Walgreens executives and appears to be moving in a different direction. Pharmacy and pharmacists were once well supported to do their jobs but are being asked to do more tech related duties which leads to distractions.

    Advice to Management

    Don't lose sight of where we came from and what's most important. There's no reason to support giving up any amount of patient safety for the purpose of increasing the bottom line for shareholders.

    Walmart2017-06-27
  7. "Fine for short term plans"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Walmart Sales Associate in Nampa, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Managers were friendly and understanding and most of the employees are friendly as well. Left on good terms when I moved out of state.

    Cons

    Little opportunity that I saw for upward movement. Unable to get more hours when I requested.

    Walmart2017-05-30
  8. "Asset protection manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Asset Protection Manager in Nampa, ID

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice store, great store manager.

    Cons

    Corporate removed many asset protection associates from stores.

    Walmart2017-05-16
  9. "Overnight Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Modular Team in Meridian, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working as Team environment good overnight management great co workers.

    Cons

    I don't know of any issues great company

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    Walmart2017-05-07
  10. "Ok place when starting out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Manager in Boise, ID

    I have been working at Walmart for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good place to get your feet wet and gain retail/customer service experience. If you enjoy that type of work there is multiple opportunities for advancement especially if you continue your education.

    Cons

    Lot of politics and negative perception

    Advice to Management

    Management varies per store. Mine wasn't bad

    Walmart2017-03-22
Found 44 reviews