Walmart Reviews in Cary, NC | Glassdoor

Walmart Cary Reviews

Updated Jul 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Walmart CEO Doug McMillon
Doug McMillon
4 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    IMS Associate in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly work environment. I loved working here.

    Cons

    Pay kinda low, but hey, it's Walmart. Other than that, no issues.

    Walmart2017-01-18
  2. "It's Okay, management needs help but everything is okay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - WalMart Overnight Stocker in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Gets you enough hours. Point system sucks a lot of people left due to this.

    Cons

    Manager is a hot mess, but very professional.

    Walmart2019-07-16
  3. "It's ok."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Overnight GM/Grocery Stocker in Cary, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity for growth in the company. Starting pay is increasing in February.

    Cons

    Hard physical labor. No humanity from management. Incompetent supplies for employees. Expect you to do a lot in a little time.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees like they're valued, and maybe there wouldn't be such a large turnover rate.

    Walmart2018-02-11
  4. "It pays the bills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - WalMart Overnight Stocker in Cary, NC

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent hourly pay Good hours Room for advancement

    Cons

    Overworked & understaffed Management is a bit disorganized

    Advice to Management

    Value employees a little more

    Walmart2017-11-13
  5. "manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Cary, NC
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to work now

    Cons

    Employees are numbers in this company

    Walmart2016-11-08
  6. "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Salaried Assistant Store Manager in Cary, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent money and a decent job title to be able to put on a resume

    Cons

    Work long hours for cheap pay, don't get paid overtime, have to where every hat within the store. Have to deal with customer abuse.

    Walmart2016-06-10
  7. "Horrible Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cary, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Modular team is pretty much the only full time position aside from management

    Cons

    Everything else. Managers couldn't care less about your well being, or personal schedule. Especially during holiday months (even if you request off 3 MONTHS In advance)

    Advice to Management

    Get a life

    Walmart2016-06-25
  8. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Cashier in Cary, NC

    I worked at Walmart part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent job for a high school student

    Cons

    Poor management skills, resulting in poor customer service.

    Advice to Management

    Higher managers that care more about doing their job than standing around talking to their friends.

    Walmart2016-02-20
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Cap Team Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BACKROOM INVENTORY ASSOCIATE in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, good hours, great and reasonable management team, easy move up the corporate ladder

    Cons

    Lack of hours, lack of associates, not enough teamwork stability

    Walmart2015-12-09
  10. "Fairly decent job. Typical ups and downs of retail/food service."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Sales Associate in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The employee discount and some of the other discounts we can get are nice. My Assistant Manager and Department Manager are both good people to work for, and I generally like the other associates I work with.

    Cons

    More often than not, the "hard chargers" are stuck taking up the slack of the layabouts, but then again, that is typical of most retail that I've seen. Management seems "clique-ish" at times. It feels like we are being stretched a little thin sometimes.

    Advice to Management

    A good friend and former employer once told me: "You can burn people or burn money. A good boss burns money." I take this to mean not to sacrifice your people for your profit margins.

    Walmart2012-07-26
Found 10 reviews