Walmart Reviews in Charleston, SC | Glassdoor

Walmart Charleston Reviews

Updated Aug 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Walmart CEO Doug McMillon
Doug McMillon
9 Ratings
  1. "Change is good, never stay stagnant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Overnight Assistant Manager in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Daily changes, great people

    Cons

    Accountability, planning, dedication, Clicks.

    Advice to Management

    Practice the five P’s daily

    Walmart2019-08-10
  2. "Loved my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSM in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Ppto, bonuses , some co workers ,

    Cons

    Attendance policy , not enough coverage for front end management

    Advice to Management

    Na

    Walmart2019-08-26
  3. "Always pushed you to go above and beyond!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Manager in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The are encouraging, come along side you to get the job done, and have awesome benefits!

    Cons

    Sometimes you have to stay late to get the job done, but you learn time management along with that

    Walmart2019-06-23
  4. "Love Them"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, everyone is so nice

    Cons

    Only cons were the hours didn't seem to fit my schedule nicely

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    Walmart2018-03-29
  5. "stocker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stocker in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I got to meet and help nice people.

    Cons

    sometimes customers can get very disrespectful.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Walmart2017-07-05
  6. "Working with Wally World"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lawn and Garden Sales Associate in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The job is not terribly difficult. Management is usually hired from within. Management will reasonably work with you regarding days off for family and outside concerns. The company is legally obligated to pay for time worked. You will meet a large number of new people, especially co-workers due to turn-over. You will have a large number of rather unbelievable stories to tell friends and family concerning the... behavior of customers, associates, vendors & management (if you are lucky, all four may actually fall within the same story). There is very little accountability for tasks that need to be performed. If you are a cigarette smoker, you will have plenty of fellow co-workers to bum off of. If you are extremely good at your job, an elderly customer may try to slip you a quarter; do not accept it, however, as it is against company policy to accept tips. Customers are always willing to teach you new derogatory and slanderous comments concerning you race, creed or gender (once again, if you are lucky, you will have one comment cover all three). I really enjoyed the stories about Sam Walton, especially the one where he turned everyday low prices into everyday low expectations, and I admire how he died for our sins and to help us save money and live better. No joke, I swear I saw a potato one time that was his exact likeness. After informing management, we enshrined it in the breakroom. Chinese candles do tip over, but the fire hazard was well worth the atmosphere created for our daily sermon. In short, I do think everyone needs to work here at least once... Oh, and give me a W for "What is my job again?"

    Show More

    Cons

    No surprise, management is an absolute mess. They are poorly trained, poorly educated and poorly motivated. Many a time have I seen a high-school dropout manage a group of college grads; many a time have I seen a manager fired, only to have another high-school dropout promoted to manage the college grads. Be warned; money handling is atrocious; many a time have I been shorted money from a change run by an CSM or... higher.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Unfortunately, I do not think that management is able to read, so this space would be simply wasted. I do suggest that if you are reading this, the next time you are in a Walmart store (trust me, we all go)... Treat the management extra special. Carry candy in your pocket for them. Compliment the fact that they are wearing their big boy/girl shoes with the really hard knot to tie; though at least the Velcro ones... light up every step they take. Ask them what they would like to be when they grow up. If they say competent, pat them on the head, and share with them "Reach for the stars, for if you at least miss, you will land on the moon." At which point, they will take you to the cheese aisle, where the moo-cows made the tasty Colby. Request a job application, fill it out, and go to the interview. Make fun of them in it; you will be hired out of respect. Do your job terribly; get promoted. Then, the next time you see a customer wander by in your store with a spring in their step and a smile on their face, scream "MY MOO COW CHEESE!" and take their smile away because it belongs on your sticker. YOUR STICKER. Remember, Sam Walton died to bring you everyday low prices. Bow, swipe your card, and vomit in your mouth a little as you realize you wasted two years of your life trying to learn that pesky shoe knot... Velcro will always be there for you, but change the batteries on those shoes...

    Show More
    Walmart2016-01-23
  7. "walmart evauation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A good place to learn customer service.

    Cons

    See a reduction in hourly shifts.

    Walmart2015-11-29
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Was a good experience. I liked working at walmart."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time

    Pros

    Usually lots of hours Good retail experience

    Cons

    Hectic at times Stupid scheduling Need more raises

    Advice to Management

    Schedule more people to work during peak times

    Walmart2015-10-01
  9. "Good temporary job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Walmart Cashier in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1 hour lunch and 2 15 minute breaks are good . Also you get a little discount card , not much but its okay .

    Cons

    After you do tests on the computer you get to work an experienced walmart worker for about 2 days then you never get help again .

    Advice to Management

    Get CSM's that actually want to do their job.

    Walmart2015-08-17
  10. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Wal Mart Cashier in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart

    Pros

    Decent Pay, Bonuses,Hours,Team,Benefits, Environment

    Cons

    Rare overtime, physically straining,not enough hours, pay could be better, better organization

    Walmart2015-07-29
Found 18 reviews