Walmart Reviews in Decatur, AL | Glassdoor

Walmart Decatur Reviews

Updated Aug 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Walmart CEO Doug McMillon
Doug McMillon
14 Ratings
  1. "My experience is if you don't mind working, you'll love walmart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Technician in Cullman, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Honest day's work, honest day's pay

    Cons

    A lot of people who complain about having to do a job

    Advice to Management

    Be stricter, it'll help everyone out, and weed out the whiners

    Walmart2019-07-23
  2. "Good place of you like dealing with people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Cullman, AL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benifits, good hours great environment

    Cons

    Management sometimes playes favorites and they all have their click

    Walmart2019-08-05
  3. "Warehouse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Warehouse Associate in Cullman, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay discounts great co-workers

    Cons

    Working conditions are hot and not temperature controlled

    Walmart2018-07-26
  4. "They hire old people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Decatur, AL

    I worked at Walmart part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They hire people over 50 when a lot of places won’t.

    Cons

    Hard to get full time as cashier

    Advice to Management

    Get a personality

    Walmart2018-08-06
  5. "Do not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Moulton, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible shifts, can basically make your own schedule

    Cons

    Low pay Low hours Poor management

    Walmart2018-08-22
  6. "Bakery Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Bakery Sales Associate in Cullman, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The department manager was very nice and knew what she was doing. She made sure everybody in the department was took care of and trained them in everything they needed to know very well.

    Cons

    Sometimes it was crazy if people called in because we only had a few people in the bakery and deli together. If somebody called in from either one we would end up borrowing people from the other.

    Advice to Management

    I really have no advice to the management. Everything ran pretty smooth, sometimes they would all want to play boss and give us all different instructions, but we finally got it all straightened out. It was because we had higher people coming in every week changing how we did things and we'd learn how to do it and they'd come back and change it again.

    Walmart2018-07-09
  7. "Great Pay but there are Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Receiving in Cullman, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Pay, dependable work, good vision plan and good medication plan

    Cons

    Only one holiday off a year, Christmas Day, cut throat tactics, no opportunity for growth unless you are part of their buddy program, PTO program to build up time off that you end up having to use to cover short hours

    Advice to Management

    Understand the importance of your leadership and promote based on performance

    Walmart2018-07-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Vision Center Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - VISION CENTER MANAGER in Cullman, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Store within a store. You run and are responsible for the success and and the failures. Bonus structure is very good for hardworking Vision Center Managers.

    Cons

    Store within a store. Its hard to overcome the reality that you can get quality eye care and a plunger for your toilet at the same place.

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate what is good. The tendency is to focus on someone when they are not preforming to expectations. The calls and visits need to be made when they do!!

    Walmart2018-01-30
  9. "Sad to see the company ran in the ground"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver in Cullman, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Parking the truck to go home for 48 hours.

    Cons

    Hours of uncompensated time the company thinks should be the driver’s loss.

    Advice to Management

    Smile more when you lie to drivers faces

    Walmart2018-01-20
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Walmart associate driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Truck Driver in Cullman, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay, benefits are ok.

    Cons

    Getting rid of options to go home nightly for some drivers. Some drivers who use to be home with family are going to lose this

    Advice to Management

    Family is what they say but how when they take away schedules that allowed nightly time at home.

    Walmart2017-10-26
Found 30 reviews