Walmart Reviews in Des Moines, IA | Glassdoor

Walmart Des Moines Reviews

Updated Jul 31, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 44 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
25%
Approve of CEO
Walmart CEO Doug McMillon
Doug McMillon
16 Ratings
  1. "Fantastic company very friendly and nice management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electronics Sales Associate in Grimes, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    lots of exercise big store lots of walking

    Cons

    walking on concrete floor all day to hard on your feet

    Advice to Management

    Hire more help and let workers sit when they are on the sales floor all day

    Walmart2018-09-30
  2. "Fun workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electronics Sales Associate in Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly, pay is good for the area, laid back, and helpful coworkers

    Cons

    Customers are entitled and being short staffred seems to be normal

    Walmart2019-07-16
  3. "Not a place for the weak hearted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Des Moines, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some of the staff at your level treatment was good. Benefits were ok. Some of the managers were ok. Walking off the job after 4 plus years of doing it all.

    Cons

    Everything else not mentioned above. Half the time management did discriminate against employees seen it many times. If you weren't a favorite you got slammed into the ground with heavy workloads, wrote up for things you couldn't control, or things that when pallets were 6 plus deep and they were always on your back breathing down your neck harassing co-workers, and seeing this, dealing with these issues made it hard...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fire all management and rehire from top to bottom. Place is a sespool of disrespectful people, that don't understand ergonomics of the workplace. I've known several people that worked for this company, that walked off the job due to being treated poorly by management. The open door policy didn't work when managers have favorites nether.

    Walmart2019-08-01
  4. "Professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Altoona, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Stay busy, use, multi tasking

    Cons

    Rules can be vauge.not clear

    Advice to Management

    Standerize procedures to unify staff

    Walmart2019-01-25
  5. "Its ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Des Moines, IA

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good pay, coworkers are nice, fun environment

    Cons

    management is not the best

    Walmart2019-01-09
  6. "they were good to me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electronics Sales Associate in Fort Dodge, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    in my experience, the managers treated me well, customers was great .

    Cons

    time off is hard to get, they stretched there employees thin

    Advice to Management

    schedule properly and listen to co-workers

    Walmart2018-06-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Receiving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receiving in Fort Dodge, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The best reason i found to work at walmart is the people. The ones who work there and customers.

    Cons

    The main reason i no longer work there is the policy on call ins. The company has no understanding of disabled children.

    Advice to Management

    Be understanding for hardworking employees who have no alternative but to call in due to disabled children.

    Walmart2018-06-22
  8. "stocker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It was close to where I lived didnt have to struggle to get there

    Cons

    there were some racist comments that were never handled

    Advice to Management

    hands on learner

    Walmart2018-04-15
  9. "Thumbs Down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electronics Associate in Indianola, IA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Pays decent -Fellow associates are fun to work with

    Cons

    -Will not allow anyone to get overtime -You will get "coached" -Management are not very nice and do not really care about their associates

    Advice to Management

    Care about your associates and don't be rude or full of yourselves. Your associates need the money, so let them have overtime without consequence if they hit overtime. Most businesses allow overtime so why can't you?

    Walmart2017-12-04
  10. "all"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Altoona, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    the high pay and some coworkers

    Cons

    job sucks managers are rude csms flirt with you ( have been called nicknames that i have been called only when in a relationship by them)and make you uncomfortable i used to love my last job but since i started this job i never want to be there its a drag and it just complacently sucks

    Advice to Management

    be nicer and get rid of the sexual harassment

    Walmart2017-12-03
Found 44 reviews