Walmart Grocery Reviews | Glassdoor

Walmart Grocery Reviews

Updated May 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 162 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Walmart CEO Doug McMillon
Doug McMillon
58 Ratings
  1. "My experience working at store #2724"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Overnight GM/Grocery Stocker in Pasadena, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    you're always occupied and they're family oriented

    Cons

    Regardless of how hard you work on your shift you'll have to exert that same energyvif not more on your next shift

    Advice to Management

    Please treat the overnight crew with equal respect and dignity as you would cap 1 or cap . Overnight staff really has a lot to work with between finishing the work of cap 2 and making sure that cap 1 is set up for the mornings.

    Walmart2019-01-17
  2. "A great starter or stability job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Grocery Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good starting pay without requiring previous experience. OJT, available hours, and friendly coworkers

    Cons

    The attendence policies are pretty cutthroat and ruthless.

    Walmart2019-05-24
  3. "Bad place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Grocery in Casper, WY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedules, decent pay, decent benefits

    Cons

    They hire people that dont know what their doing, overworking, stupid policies, dont care about the opinions and feelings of average employees

    Walmart2019-05-20
  4. "Cap 2 stocker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Grocery Stocker in Georgetown, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy work and in AC

    Cons

    Paid every 2 weeks and only 11 an hr

    Advice to Management

    Show more gratitude to customers and employees

    Walmart2019-05-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "So-so"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Overnight GM/Grocery Stocker in Elk Grove, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy place to work, and most coworkers are very social.

    Cons

    Low pay, stressful work conditions and managers that are always rude/stressed out.

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees like people.

    Walmart2019-05-08
  6. "Former Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Grocery Stocker in Columbus, OH

      I worked at Walmart full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      More work should be done

      Cons

      Good hours and pay well

      Advice to Management

      Could do better at managing.

      Walmart2019-05-08
    • "Best job I've had"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Former Employee - O/N Dry Grocery/GM Stocker in Eugene, OR

      I worked at Walmart full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Great working atmosphere in the retail area.

      Cons

      Got Laid off for Medical reasons.

      Advice to Management

      Keep Hiring good workers.

      Walmart2019-04-15
    • "Not that great"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Grocery Stocker in Hagerstown, MD
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Easy to get hired to pay basic bills.

      Cons

      There is a lack of equipment like jacks and carts. Pallets from the wearhouse have been stacked worse were product is damaged. You get very little training and growth in this company. Management screws up the situation and blames you the worker.

      Advice to Management

      Know the products and locations better. By this I mean don't mix up aisles. We don't appreciate cleaning up your trash by the compactor. Don't act like you're above the company's rules. Show a positive attitude to keep the work force motivated. I mean you're payed 36K to 70K a year, so act like they don't pay you to twiddle your thumbs. You can ask for training on power equipment, but good luck if they bother. ...

      Show More
      Walmart2019-04-27
    • Helpful (2)

      "Grocery"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Grocery Manager in Garfield, NJ
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Walmart full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      If you health benefits then this place is great! You meet a ton of eccentric people. And the room for advancement is amazing!

      Cons

      To menu "challenged" peers, the store was horribly dirty half the time and I actually contracted a rash from the stock room. Turned out to be Merca, a bad skin infection as to which I was talking a slew of meds. And the statement the "the customer is always right" is 💩!

      Advice to Management

      Clean your act up and stop discriminating your employees! We are all human!!!

      Walmart2019-03-25
    • "Grocery Associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Grocery Associate in Hibbing, MN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Walmart part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Plenty of work to do Decent team work environment Management was willing to work with Religious views on holidays

      Cons

      Some associates try to get out of doing their work and ended up having to cover theirs as well Time clock system is kind of a joke -- you will be called to the office if your just minutes off on your time punch

      Advice to Management

      Continue to support your associates and team -- give a little more wiggle room on the time clock

      Walmart2019-03-14
    Found 162 reviews