Walmart Reviews in Hawaiian Islands | Glassdoor

Walmart Hawaiian Islands Reviews

Updated 29 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Walmart CEO Doug McMillon
Doug McMillon
6 Ratings
  1. "Unloader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Truck Unloader in Kunia, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart

    Pros

    Pay was good, people are very friendly. Management works well with associates.

    Cons

    Back room was some what messy

    Walmart2016-05-09
  2. "Walmart experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lunch break and good hours

    Cons

    Bad pay and poor management

    Walmart2019-06-29
  3. "Walmart Photo Center Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Photo Center Technician in Kapolei, HI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Consistency in daily clerical and technical operating procedures. Periodic maintenance cycles; weekly, monthly, quarterly, seasonally, annually.

    Cons

    Job requires a specific skill set of technical knowledge and a few years of prior career experience in the photography imaging and computer industry. Insufficient staffing assigned within the peak hours of operation on the busiest days of the week, especially during the chaotic holiday season -- from the middle of November to the first week of January of the new year. Often working alone, unable to satisfy impatient,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    These problems can be avoided by having a working partner, another trained photo center technician scheduled to work with you in the Photo Center. The job of working in the photo lab is one of production and meeting deadlines for each customer order. Being the work is highly technical and demands clerical accuracy, retail sales becomes secondary during peak hours of demand. Forcing the Photo Center Associate to work...

    Show More
    Walmart2019-01-03
  4. "DM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Manager in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    More freedom to get work done

    Cons

    More responsibility and more issues than what's seen.

    Walmart2018-10-04
  5. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Night Stocker in Honolulu, HI
      Recommends

      I worked at Walmart part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Co-Workers were great there Constant busy work

      Cons

      Middle Management expect same amount of work with half the amount of people then blame workers for not working hard enough.

      Walmart2018-03-26
    • "Its a decent job."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Photo Lab Technician in Pearl City, HI
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Walmart part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Good group of people to work with. Everyone is usually willing to help each other. The whole store system is built on teamwork

      Cons

      Really understaffed. You often might run a department all by yourself. When people call in it makes the job much tougher. Many people take longer breaks than allowed.

      Advice to Management

      Hire more people. You would rather have more people working a department than just one person trying to do everything themselves

      Walmart2018-02-10
    • "A good place for some, but not all"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Department Manager in Pearl City, HI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Good starting pay Ease of entry Benefits package available, includes health/vision, 401/k, stock purchasing Good initial training program For those who need structure, a good place Decent PTO package

      Cons

      Company culture not for individualists Management seems to view employees as subordinates instead of coworkers Conformity to "business needs" for scheduling PTO package very small for beginning employees No real incentive for advancement beyond store level

      Advice to Management

      Act more like coworkers to gain trust and confidence with employees

      Walmart2017-01-07
    • "walmart review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Former Employee - WalMart Overnight Stocker in Honolulu, HI
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Walmart for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Great place to work, awesome team members, good benefits.

      Cons

      Only 10% discount, too much workload with only few employees. Most management are good but the rest just make you their pets.

      Advice to Management

      Management should hire more employees and pay their employees more than what their getting now.

      Walmart2016-02-23
    • "Cashier/Photo Associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Associate/Photo Lab Technician in Honolulu, HI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      I like working with the customers that need assistance/help with the photo machines.

      Cons

      I see none or anticipate none either

      Advice to Management

      I'm currently looking to expand towards management sometime soon

      Walmart2015-12-13
    • "overnight IMS pay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Inventory Associate Overnight in Kapolei, HI
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Walmart for more than a year

      Pros

      I was a overnight stocker our pay was at 9.95 . The minimum wage just went up to 10.00 in April of 2015 . Now my pay went up to 10.50 along with my year evaluation of 40 cents now I'm at 10.90.

      Cons

      I now switched over titles from an overnight stocker to The overnight IMS team as of today. It was said that what ever pay we was getting which my was 10.90 as an overnight stocker.. overnight IMS pay will remain as 10.90 my base pay and I won't be getting the IMS pay which suppose to be around 11.00

      Advice to Management

      I been working for walmart 1 year 2 months I was a stocker I just became a full time ims today. Please help on how this new change affected everything

      Walmart2015-06-28
    Found 14 reviews