Walmart Reviews in Houma, LA | Glassdoor

Walmart Houma Reviews

Updated Aug 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Walmart CEO Doug McMillon
Doug McMillon
7 Ratings
  1. "Benefits of heath insurance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operator in Galliano, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Like working with Family and Friends

    Cons

    The health insurance is not like it used to be, not as good at all

    Advice to Management

    Find a way to make our health insurance better, like more reasonable co-pays and not so expensive rates so our deductibles are not so high :(

    Walmart2019-08-07
  2. "Just Don't"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Galliano, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay is decent, flexible hours

    Cons

    terrible work environment, terrible management, inhumane treatment to employees, hardly any benefits to part-time associates, "open door policy" is a sham

    Advice to Management

    stop being incompetent

    Walmart2019-03-30
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Complicated in a sort of way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Forklift Operator in Houma, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great atmosphere to work for

    Cons

    Don't have any negative saying

    Advice to Management

    I'm a great worker for any job

    Walmart2018-10-22
  4. "overnight stocker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Overnight Stocker in Houma, LA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    offers insurance and pays more than some companies

    Cons

    you end up getting hours cut and insurance sucks, you have to do the work of 10 people

    Advice to Management

    go easy on the workers who actually work

    Walmart2018-05-20
  5. "It is completely awful. managers who couldn’t care less about the well being of any of their associates."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CAP Team Member in Golden Meadow, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Easy to get hired on.

    Cons

    Impossible to move up because of too much favoritism.

    Advice to Management

    Respect all of your associates, and don’t make promises you can’t keep.

    Walmart2018-06-07
  6. "Assistant store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Houma, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great experience, good customer service, friendly people, and great benefits.

    Cons

    None,they are a very good company to work for.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great things you are doing as a company

    Walmart2018-02-08
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Pharmacy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Certified Pharmacy Technician in Thibodaux, LA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    One of the highest paying retail pharmacies.

    Cons

    Very strict attendance/tardiness policy/point system that is a bit ridiculous. Even if you have a doctor's excuse, it is still unexcused and you get a point. Doesn't take many points to lose your job, especially in your probation period.

    Walmart2018-02-18
  8. "Assistant Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ASM- Assistant Store Manager in Cut Off, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Learning, and teaching/developing associates all over inside the company. You can go as far as you want with this company.

    Cons

    Managers tend to forget they're on a team and aren't great team players. Favoritism is bad in most stores, and too many associates are babied.

    Walmart2017-09-13
  9. "Garden Ceter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Garden Sales Associate in Cut Off, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good hourly pay, not too demanding, and get rewarded with bonuses

    Cons

    Not always the best hours and it is difficult to get a consistent pay

    Walmart2017-06-02
  10. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Houma, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Walmart is very friendly and nice

    Cons

    I don't have any cons

    Walmart2017-04-21
Found 21 reviews