Walmart Reviews in Kansas City, KS | Glassdoor

Walmart Kansas City Reviews

Updated Sep 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.2
0%
Recommend to a Friend
1%
Approve of CEO
Walmart CEO Doug McMillon
Doug McMillon
7 Ratings
  1. "Optical Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Optical Technician in Kansas City, KS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Awesome job, great people, lots of fun! This place allows you to learn and allow for constant improvement.

    Cons

    Pay. You will work long hours for low pay raises. No education required. r

    Continue reading
    Walmart2013-02-13
  2. "Ok job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Kansas City, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Steady pay and mostly decent benefits

    Cons

    Treated like a slave made to do the work of 3 people

    Walmart2019-09-24
  3. "It's a job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fresh Foods/Deli-Bakery Customer Service Clerk in Kansas City, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is decent, breaks are spaced well.

    Cons

    Way too many managers and the employee discount sucks.

    Walmart2019-05-21
  4. "No Personal life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Walmart Assistant Manager in Kansas City, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The pay isn’t bad, lots of PTO

    Cons

    Work 50+ hrs, no holidays or weekends. You live there

    Continue reading
    Walmart2019-06-07
  5. "Culture of Fear from top to bottom"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Asset Protection Manager in Kansas City, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    May look good on resume depending on position and length of sentence served

    Cons

    -Fear and intimidation -Reporting Class A Violations goes nowhere -Six week training is totally uninformative and unrealistic, the teachers are all failed management -Horrid schedule -Pay is low for hours required -APM position was already completely overwhelmed - then they added ASM responsibilities to that -Regional and Divisional management does not engage AT ALL with hourly associates -Market Management frequently sent dismissive or even abusive messages to store teams, threats etc via email. -Processes are too complex to work, especially at what Walmart pays -Too many new initiatives cooked up and deployed at once -Impossible standards given the staffing leads to frequent targeting of specific individuals

    Continue reading
    Walmart2018-09-19
  6. "Welcome to the plantation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kansas City, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time

    Pros

    Pros? Yea, right. Honestly I have searched for pros in the year and a half I have been there and I can't find one other than it is convenient as far as drive time. Other than that, it's quite literally all cons.

    Cons

    Negative work environment, 100% of the time. You will be required to do the job of multiple people while getting paid for less than one. Management walks around like plantation owners (not my words, same question asked when I was a support and cap team supervisor by multiple new hires). Management brags at my location about a 70% turnover rate. Management refers to themselves as dictators (not kidding at all). Employees and their opinions/suggestions do not matter, at all. If you speak to others during your shift you will frequent the office to address rumors and accusations of gossiping (sat in on multiple discussions as a support. Bottom line; shareholders are the only entity that Walmart cares about. As an employee you are valued as less than human. Google search "dead peasant" for validation of just how dark and sinister Walmart truly is.

    Continue reading
    Walmart2018-04-28
  7. "CSM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSM in Kansas City, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you work overnights, it's not so bad customer wise, the worst part is end of day/start of day, especially with the new cash recycler machine.

    Cons

    Management still treats you like dirt even though you're management yourself, work you to death and they refuse to hire more help, or they take the help they "hire for you," to stock.

    Continue reading
    Walmart2017-06-20
  8. "Hard Work Pays Off"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Kansas City, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to promote You can be as good or move as high as you want if you are willing to push yourself. Plenty of challenges that can help you grow as a person and a manager Current executive leadership has been more engaged in increasing pay for entry level and hourly management positions Lots of training tools available and opportunity to learn Most management is promoted internally.

    Cons

    Payroll can be tight Extremely high expectations for management Disconnect between executives and operators sets somewhat unrealistic goals at times Stress level can be high

    Continue reading
    Walmart2016-03-12
  9. "Co manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Co-Manager in Kansas City, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good pay, easy to move up, good benefits, good pay, good benefits, good pay, good benefits, that's all for pros

    Cons

    Long hours, hard work, no flexibility, very little reward in return, high demand, no time for family, work every holiday

    Walmart2016-03-01
  10. "One of the best casheir jobs I have ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Wal Mart Cashier in Kansas City, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart for more than a year

    Pros

    okay benefits, Good work atmosphere,

    Cons

    Managements will do everything to not pay workers Overtime

    Walmart2016-02-02
Found 16 reviews