Walmart Reviews in Louisiana | Glassdoor

Walmart Louisiana Reviews

Updated Aug 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 445 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Walmart CEO Doug McMillon
Doug McMillon
172 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Shreveport, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Truly a great place to work. Patience and empathy is a trait to possess when dealing with your associates and customers. Promotion is possible as long as you desire to move up. the pay and benefits are above par and the USA minimum wage requirements.

    Cons

    You work with the majority of associates that are "set in the ways." Reprimanded when doing your job as a Assistant Store Manager (ASM) or Store Manger turns over a decision made (ie, coachings, Gains, etc.) which has an effect for the ASM to loss confidence in superiors and subordinates losing confidence in you.

    Advice to Management

    Store Managers need to have confidence in the decisions of your ASMs and support their decisions. The WalMart ASM training school needs to train more in the full responsibilities as a ASM (for example, If I am trained on the Front End; then that should be my focus for my 10 hour work day....I cant speak on why the truck is not unloaded).

    Walmart2019-07-06
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Its a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - WalMart Overnight Stocker in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay is good the hours are good

    Cons

    The only thing for me is they will have you part-time working Full-Time hours

    Advice to Management

    If you are going to schedule a part-time worker full-time hours atleast change their status to Full-time

    Walmart2019-08-17
  3. "Benefits of heath insurance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operator in Galliano, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Like working with Family and Friends

    Cons

    The health insurance is not like it used to be, not as good at all

    Advice to Management

    Find a way to make our health insurance better, like more reasonable co-pays and not so expensive rates so our deductibles are not so high :(

    Walmart2019-08-07
  4. "Not Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Walmart Sales Associate in Boutte, LA

    I worked at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good starting pay, somewhat flexible scheduling

    Cons

    Management can either be the best or the worst. Absence policy is unfair.

    Walmart2019-08-14
  5. Helpful (1)

    "It’s a job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmacy Technician in Bossier City, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Guaranteed hours Insurance 401k (if you plan on a retail career) And then other opportunities

    Cons

    Too many to list honestly .

    Advice to Management

    Advice to management doesn’t matter. It will not be heard unless it’s a small fix or benefits the business

    Walmart2019-07-21
  6. "I’ve been with the company of Walmart for 10 plus years and I’m looking to try something different"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Manager in Shreveport, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Walmart offers good associate benefits

    Cons

    The downside of working for Walmart is that they cut hours and doesn’t offer raises anymore

    Walmart2019-07-08
  7. "Ehh..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandiser in Lake Charles, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    easy job with lots of free time

    Cons

    very low wages for manual labor

    Walmart2019-07-23
  8. "It's good for college students but not for raising a family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Cashier in Ruston, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Its a job where requesting days off is easy

    Cons

    Inconsistent scheduling done by managers; always wanting to cut hours

    Walmart2019-07-17
  9. "Grocery Reshops"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Denham Springs, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun and new opportunities, always busy , like keeping customers happy

    Cons

    The points system are 5 points maximum

    Walmart2019-06-27
  10. "Walmart Careers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Overnight Stocker in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They Have Good Hours And PerfectPerfect Benefits

    Cons

    Unexcusable And It Should Be A Better Way To Work Around They're System

    Advice to Management

    Better Understanding For Certain Situations

    Walmart2019-06-18
Found 445 reviews