Walmart Reviews in Lynchburg, VA | Glassdoor

Walmart Lynchburg Reviews

Updated Jul 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Walmart CEO Doug McMillon
Doug McMillon
6 Ratings
  1. "Assistant manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Lynchburg, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Salary is good benefits are good training is real friendly and knowledgeable associate can move positions in store and can transfer to any location

    Cons

    Change of policies and procedures quiet often and with little emphasis on training current associates on somethings other then that there is nothing else

    Walmart2018-04-02
  2. "Great people, poor environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Lynchburg, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with.

    Cons

    Overworked, mean customers, management could be better.

    Walmart2019-07-18
  3. "CAP 1"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cap I in Lynchburg, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The hours, and the work is not hard at all.

    Cons

    Some of the leadership is passive and afraid of conflict.

    Walmart2018-12-05
  4. "Great people, Poor Comunication, Overworked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate - Seasonal Lawn and Garden in Lynchburg, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love almost all of the managers that I have met, and my coworkers are great to work with. Everyone is kind, fun, and everyone on my side of the store seems to get along and work well together. I personally have a great boss who will do his best to give you a schedule that works for you. If you like helping people, talking to people, and being in a fast paced environment, and you are a generally... happy/friendly person, you may like this job.

    Show More

    Cons

    The department is understaffed (as is the entire store) and overworked. There are always new projects ontop of an already heavy load. We keep our register open all day, so we have to run back and forth between our new projects, regular duties, and running the register. Training was poor. Most everything is learned on the job when that task is given to you. Despite all the training videos they make you watch when... you first start. Breaks tend to be an issue. I almost always have to take my lunch late, and sometimes I don't get my other breaks. If you like rutine, order, and neatness, you don't thrive on stress, and you don't like dealing with people (especially dificult ones)... this is not for you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people. Get on top of when people get to have their required breaks. Pay attention to who works hard and who knows what they are doing. If an employee is doing their best, and knows what is always needing done, remind them briefly of their task that day, and leave them to do it. Don't keep checking up on their progress unless you are there to provide them with much needed help. They know what to... do and if it isnt being done the problem may be elswhere. Like being shortstaffed or being over run with helping customers.

    Show More
    Walmart2018-12-07
  5. "A good place to work for the pay rate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Lawn and Garden Sales Associate in Lynchburg, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    High entry pay, work is relatively relaxed depending on your department and management

    Cons

    Decreasing schedule flexibility, difficult customers, and a toss up between being overworked or not getting enough hours to live on

    Walmart2018-08-09
  6. "Has Pros and Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Cashier in Lynchburg, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The starting pay is $11.00 per hour the job itself is pretty easy, and you get lots of breaks. After six months, you get 20% off general merchandise and fresh produce. After a year, you get health insurance benefits and a 401K. Great career job.

    Cons

    The attendance policy is very strict for the first six months. It is the number one reason for dismissal. Also, the expectations are NOT clearly explained, and the management is very shotty.

    Advice to Management

    The attendance policy needs to be more flexible.

    Walmart2018-08-14
  7. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cake Decorator in Lynchburg, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Training was good. Friendly and helpful people.

    Cons

    Bad pay and management was not understanding about pregnancy. Made me continue to lift and worked me harder until I had to quit .

    Advice to Management

    Discrimination needs to stop.

    Walmart2017-10-04
  8. "Psychological by nature (Super center)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inventory Control Specialist in Lynchburg, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - typically smart management - decent benefits - flexible hours

    Cons

    - hard manual labor (super center) - difficult to move up if not leagues with management

    Advice to Management

    Create more relationships with your associates. A lot of them do not possess the motivation due to a lack of interest, and mostly due to their own personal lives.

    Walmart2017-01-23
  9. "My entire professional career has been at Walmart with several different layers of management over the years."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Director in Lynchburg, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Offer of Company stability and a strong opportunity for growth, ability to move anywhere in the us or international. You are only limited by yourself.

    Cons

    Walmart is very fast paced and the business centers around efficiency and hard work. Walmart is not for everyone unless you are intrigued by he statement above.

    Advice to Management

    None.

    Walmart2016-11-15
  10. "Stressful environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandise Supervisor in Lynchburg, VA

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Being cross trained to function on different level.

    Cons

    Not having the resoarse ,to meet the expectations of company?

    Advice to Management

    To many managers delegating responsibilies,to various employers.

    Walmart2014-07-11
Found 13 reviews