Walmart Reviews in Madison, WI | Glassdoor

Walmart Madison Reviews

Updated Sep 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Walmart CEO Doug McMillon
Doug McMillon
11 Ratings
  1. "Enjoyable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Stocker in Wisconsin Dells, WI

    I worked at Walmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    To interact with persons and to make them happy

    Cons

    I have no problem working at walmart

    Walmart2019-09-04
  2. "Great first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Cake Decorator in Madison, WI
    Recommends

    I worked at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome coworkers Flexible/accommodating scheduling

    Cons

    Lack of help/support from upper management Lack of helpful training

    Walmart2019-05-15
  3. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Store Operations Intern in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart for less than a year

    Pros

    Learned a lot, great experience especially getting the opportunity to go to home office

    Cons

    sometimes disorganized, management would have nothing for us to do so we would do sales associate work

    Walmart2019-02-11
  4. "It was okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Randolph, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The discounts were decent. Break room was clean.

    Cons

    Breaks were short, there were never enough of us working, the pay was bare minimum, and management never really paid enough attention to what was going on with their employees.

    Advice to Management

    Spend more time checking on the floor and the people working.

    Walmart2019-02-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Okay place to get your start!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - VISION CENTER MANAGER in Wisconsin Dells, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They promote heavily from within and are always looking for hardworking self motivated people.

    Cons

    Say goodbye to your friends and family until the one holiday Walmart is closed.

    Advice to Management

    Look for market level our distribution center jobs stay out of the retail side.

    Walmart2019-01-17
  6. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Monona, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay pretty was good for high school students .

    Cons

    Never gives warnings, no hours, breaks are never on time and barely got them, etc.

    Walmart2018-07-13
  7. "Walmart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate - Seasonal Lawn and Garden in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It’s not a difficult job, everything is fairly simple and it’s very routine. I’m also able to work the hours I want for a reasonable wage, and am given a voice when I feel there are issues.

    Cons

    Being a sales floor associate can get extremely boring after finishing all of your work (zoning/returns). I’m often left trying to find something work-related to occupy my mind/time. The routine can also get dull and fixing what customers have messed up is less than stellar.

    Advice to Management

    Job needs to be more challenging, work amount wise.

    Walmart2018-02-12
  8. "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good money for the area

    Cons

    Little support from home office or other managers. Benefits are ok but not the best

    Advice to Management

    Work together

    Walmart2017-09-10
  9. "Very respectful and good customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Overnigth Stocker in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The stocking position and helping people as I work and working hard to get the job done right and being able to get off ssi

    Cons

    Some co-workers don't take there job seriously I like to do my job to satisfaction and make people feel happy about what I do even my boss

    Advice to Management

    You guys are doing great and keep up the good work

    Walmart2017-08-17
  10. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Cashier in Dodgeville, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people and the discount

    Cons

    The working holiday season and keeping customers happy

    Walmart2017-05-21
Found 28 reviews