Walmart Managing Associate Reviews | Glassdoor

Walmart Associate Manager Reviews

Updated Apr 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Walmart CEO Doug McMillon
Doug McMillon
6 Ratings
  1. "Walmart Corporate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Operations Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Strong corporate culture. Large enough company to encourage internal networking and exploring work on different teams. Conservative compared to other bay area jobs with frugality in benefits and job perks but scale of work adds a lot of job satisfaction.

    Cons

    Corporate bureaucracy - frequent presentations, reports, check-ins, etc.

    Walmart2019-04-21
  2. "Technology role in Bentonville"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Technical Project Manager in Bentonville, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Walmart Technology has great leadership, culture, and the resources to enhance your skills/experience in the field of technology.

    Cons

    The business and technology are located in separate facilities, so meeting with business stakeholders requires frequent traveling from one campus facility to another or using conference call tools. These conditions are in the process of changing.

    Walmart2019-01-10
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Associate Marketing Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Marketing Manager in Bentonville, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing work life balance for an man level job. Small work force so you get a lot of responsibility early on.

    Cons

    Living in Bentonville sucks.

    Walmart2017-07-25
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Okay job, if you get on managements good side"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Toys Sales Associate/Secondary Department Manager in Hamburg, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Health insurancd after a year Pay is above minimum wage Most postions are easy to fulfill Most department managers are kind You are give your schedule 3 weeks in advance

    Cons

    You are expected to learn and cover departments that have a higher pay margin without compensation. If you're a decent worker prepare to be taken advantage of Hours are constantly cut, and no one is allowed overtime They constantly find ways to cut our bonuses and raises No longer offer holiday pay Understaffed Only allowed 9 sick days for 6 months Must request days off at least a month in advance Biweekly pay...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your good employees better, stop keeping around bums, allow for more sick time, go back to the old backroom process.

    Walmart2016-07-17
  5. "Associate Marketing Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Marketing Manager in Bentonville, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart for more than a year

    Pros

    Incredible scale and huge budgets Great middle management leaders Constantly looking for innovation Walmart CEO has great vision for growth

    Cons

    Honestly there are only a few cons. The area is small and if you want to live near a big city this might not work for you. Marketing must adapt and change constantly. If you don't like change, you definitely wouldn't like it here.

    Advice to Management

    Keep after the omni-channel goal to align dotcom and Walmart Stores

    Walmart2015-12-12
  6. "Pros and Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate, Former Department Manager in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good working environment. Able to work within different departments if you show the initiative and drive. Flexible on scheduling, if you need time off they are understanding. Upper management is approachable.

    Cons

    Pay. It can be unfortunate that they sometimes neglect the workers that go above and beyond. Raises should be by merit, they are in a way, but those who are the best may recieve the same as a weak worker. Accountability is a major concern.

    Advice to Management

    PAY your good people what they deserve. Im not blowing my own horn, but im underpaid for the job that i do. Reward the best, the will stay even longer. Hold people accountable.

    Walmart2015-09-06
  7. "Most lied about employer ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Sales Associate Former Department Manager in Antioch, CA

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    OK, the starting pay is low (though about to get better) but the reputation for no or minimal benefits is just a lie. I hated having to go on Medicare because the Walmart healthcare plan I chose was better and cheaper. After one year I got a week's vacation, after two, two weeks, after 7, 3 and now, after 15 years four weeks. And I now make $16 or so an hour as a sales floor associate. They do have sick time off and after...

    Show More

    Cons

    Mainly pay. Many complain about having to work holidays, evenings etc. but my take is that this is a retail company that does most of its business when others are not working and that means most of the hours need to be scheduled when people want to be off. My one big gripe is that to get extra pay for working overnights you have to be classified as an overnight associate. Over 15 years I have probably worked six months...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Make any associate who works an overnight shift eligible for the overnight premium regardless of job classification.

    Walmart2015-08-17
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Associate Marketing Manager in Bentonville, AR

    I have been working at Walmart

    Pros

    The supportive environment and friendly people make this a great place to work. Fantastic benefits and work/life balance

    Cons

    Depending on what your priorities are in a location, there isn't much in terms of area culture/history. Lots of outdoor activities.

    Walmart2014-09-14
  9. "I enjoyed my time at Wal Mart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good training. Everyone there was a joy to work with.

    Cons

    I can't really think of anything,

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    Walmart2013-12-26
  10. "Very exciting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    salary,respect ,advancements in positions,open door policy

    Cons

    medical benefits,sometimes lack of communication

    Advice to Management

    We need a way of communication with all members of management,maybe some one on one training.

    Walmart2012-09-11
Found 15 reviews