Walmart Reviews in Manassas, VA | Glassdoor

Walmart Manassas Reviews

Updated Aug 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
23%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Walmart CEO Doug McMillon
Doug McMillon
6 Ratings
  1. "I loved working with everyone. We all were like one huge family. An amazing place to work at. Very clean and friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Manassas, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Because I love Walmart and also because it's a very friendly and clean place to work. They treat you with the up most respect. Your treated like family once you become employed. They do not judge nor discriminate against anyone. Walmart is a place id highly recommend someone else to work.

    Cons

    Well, Walmart is a very busy company, so id say trying to keep up with all tasks.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Walmart2019-05-16
  2. "You work a lot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Asset Protection Manager/Assistant Store Manager in Manassas, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Decent pay, pretty good people

    Cons

    You are never off. Even at home I would get multiple calls a day.

    Walmart2019-08-26
  3. "Could of been better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Meat Sales Associate in Manassas, VA

    I worked at Walmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay was crazy awesome

    Cons

    But management could of been a bit more professional.

    Advice to Management

    Maybe get new staff or retrain the management.

    Walmart2019-06-26
  4. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Supervisor in Manassas, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Loved the working environment and people.

    Cons

    Too much work and less staff sometimes

    Walmart2019-05-02
  5. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Manassas, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule, Health Insurance, Open to all level of people

    Cons

    Low Pay, no overtime, hard to get 40 hours

    Advice to Management

    Pay raise at least employees can survive.

    Walmart2018-01-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Receiving Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Overnight Receiving Associate in Manassas, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    it's not required a high level of qualification and most people can do their work

    Cons

    there you can be treat as a robot, they want workers to perform like robots

    Advice to Management

    they need better managers

    Walmart2017-12-24
  7. "Rigorously demanding, destructive, and uncaring."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Cashier in Manassas, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay rate is usually livable, and steady with good hours. Coworkers are usually tolerable, with frequent encounters that enable you to become friendly. Frequent events/gifts from management for associates and their families.

    Cons

    Constantly demanded more of, management is unable to keep track of more than two workers, paid vacations are far and few between with an entry level associate only earning 1-1:30 hours of paid time off per month versus a CSM’s WEEKS per month, impossible to switch positions in a reasonable amount of time, and regularly, quickly changing and confusing rules and methods of completing given tasks.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your associates more. Overexplaining is better than not explaining at all. Have some empathy, even if the associate isn’t disabled. Do NOT talk over them or assume you are in the right just because the associate is unable to verbalize their experiences well enough for you to take them seriously.

    Walmart2017-12-21
  8. "Walmart Lawn and Garden Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manassas, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nothing too complicated. As a lawn and garden associate I was able to be outside most of the time.

    Cons

    Managers would ask you to complete tasks for no apparent reason. Managers would also move you around the store away from your department.

    Advice to Management

    Explain why things are important and need to get done. Don't punish employees for being on their phones, when everyone sees that you are on yours.

    Walmart2017-10-16
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Management takes sides"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Asset Protection Manager in Manassas, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work, pay is good, APA is probably the best position you can get outside of management.

    Cons

    Cant talk to anyone while in that position because everyone will think your talking to them in a uncomfortable way. Management will take sides on an issue, even when you have evidence to support your innocence. Policies are way to strict on certain positions but are forgiving for regular associates (i.e. Dating Associates)

    Advice to Management

    You terminated a great employee for just talking to people, they are human not robots. If how I as a former employee was making them feel uncomfortable by the way I was talking to them? Then you should've have spoken to me first, before firing me.

    Walmart2017-08-08
  10. "Asset Protection Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Manassas, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart for less than a year

    Pros

    Ability to gain a lot of experience, room for growth, endless careers

    Cons

    poor work life balance, miss communication from leaders

    Walmart2016-06-15
Found 15 reviews