Walmart Meat Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Meat Manager

Walmart Meat Manager Reviews

Updated Apr 24, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
17%
Approve of CEO
Walmart CEO Doug McMillon
Doug McMillon
3 Ratings
  1. "wonderful but low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Meat Manager in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Break times, and management everything was wonderful.

    Cons

    low pay and that was all that i didn't like.

    Advice to Management

    press for higher raises.

    Walmart2017-05-09
  2. "Walmart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Meat Department Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Always growing, can go as far as you want if you're willing to work hard.

    Cons

    They own you, not enough help. Horrible payroll.

    Advice to Management

    Work hard and learn to multi task.

    Walmart2018-04-24
  3. "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Meat Department Manager in Blue Springs, MO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I'm great at retail management. I balance customers and co workers well. I always meet or exceed deadlines and expectation. I have almost 17 years retail experience of which almost 16 years as a supervisor.

    Cons

    The only cons I can think of I feel limited. We cannot grow unless challenged. I'm not currently happy . Can you challenge me

    Advice to Management

    My advice to management is treat people like people. Our customers pay our checks and our employees are people too. It's a balance beam but you can help both.

    Walmart2017-11-30
  4. "meat department associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Meat Department Manager in Mobile, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are a positive attribute.

    Cons

    low pay rate. inconsiderate with the 9 minute rule.

    Advice to Management

    Smile more, speak more to employees.

    Walmart2017-09-18
  5. "Meat manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Meat Department Manager in Saratoga Springs, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Have control of your area

    Cons

    Never enough staffing but expected to do the job as if you were fully staffed

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your department managers and care what they say

    Walmart2017-01-05
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Meat dept manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Meat Department Manager in Howell, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Walmart for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I enjoy working with the public customers will always tell you what is wrong with stuff an that helps us out by letting us know in order to fix things

    Cons

    During the holidays lots of pallets to unload not enough help to get the job done Pulling you into a different Dept then you get in trouble for not getting your stuff done

    Advice to Management

    Talk with your associates they are the eyes and ears of what customers wants and needs they are usually the first place customers go to

    Walmart2016-03-26
  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Meat Department Manager in Chapel Hill, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart for more than 8 years

    Pros

    One of if not the largest companies to work for, so if you should need to move, you have a good chance you can transfer.

    Cons

    Some times you get or have upper management that has not worked for the company before, or if they have they have never worked in your position before and have no idea what you job entails leaving you trying to please them and do what needs to be done.

    Advice to Management

    Take some time out to actually work a day in each department to understand what it takes and how your stores are actually running, so that you can better help you associates so they can better help the customers.

    Walmart2016-01-19
  8. "i am full deaf"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Meat Department Manager in Radcliff, KY

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    i love job meat dept manager long story hard job many things on meat . i was work unloader and garden center ,forklift for 17 years

    Cons

    hard chat each i use write each sometime but not easy

    Walmart2015-05-19
  9. "Very unorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Meat Department Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I heard the stock is good

    Cons

    Very unorganized,ghetto,and untruthful.from the interview to the current day of working there have been so many inconsistencies

    Advice to Management

    Accountability

    Walmart2013-10-11
  10. "From part-time associate to assistant of the store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Meat/Deli/Bakery Assistant Manager in Laval, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Really easy to go up the work ladder and to try new job or just get a promotion

    Cons

    If you are young and that you dont have kids, you can as a manager you pass after ALL the other manager for the schedule. At some point I used to work every single Thursday and Friday evenings and the whole weekend for almost 16 weeks in a row and it's important to concider that I was was 20-21 at that time

    Advice to Management

    I was the management....

    Walmart2018-03-29
Found 10 reviews