Walmart Reviews in Monroe, LA | Glassdoor

Walmart Monroe Reviews

Updated Jan 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

4.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Walmart CEO Doug McMillon
Doug McMillon
5 Ratings
  1. "Customer Service Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSM in West Monroe, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are great and their flexibility on scheduling. PTO builds up fairly quick and it’s used for all reasons you may need to be off.

    Cons

    Being a customer service manager and trying my best to satisfy customers is always a struggle. There’s always difficult ppl from time to time but then again it’s public retail.

    Walmart2018-03-05
  2. "It was a great work experience for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cash Office Associate in West Monroe, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was a great work environment. Everybody helped everybody. Clean and neat. Great bonuses

    Cons

    none really. I was very satisfied

    Advice to Management

    Everything was great when I worked there.

    Walmart2019-01-23
  3. "Awesome company at the core."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Manager in West Monroe, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Walmart stores are like family. It is a really good job to work if you want to be on a good team. Walmart is an awesome company at its core that offers good benefits and pay for its associates. Your ideas are always open for discussion and implementation, and it only takes one voice to get your thoughts and ideas into action.

    Cons

    One con associated with Walmart is the lack of concern or policy adherence from Store Management and Field Management. One of Walmart's core beliefs is respect for the individual, and in my personal experience as an associate this is rarely found coming from my management team and market team.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your associates - they are the best people at the core. In the words of Sam Walton: "Individuals don't win; teams do."

    Walmart2018-02-06
  4. "Walmart Sales Floor Associate. I like people and really enjoy assisting my customers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Floor Associate in West Monroe, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time

    Pros

    I enjoy assisting customer and watching them smile when you've gone above and beyond your service.

    Cons

    I like working full time but sometimes we are scheduled less.

    Advice to Management

    We have an excellent management team. They go above and beyond to help.

    Walmart2016-10-20
  5. "7 out of 10 overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Receiving Associate in Monroe, LA
    Recommends

    I worked at Walmart for less than a year

    Pros

    Job security as long as you show up and work. Not a lot of micro managing. Raises are given every year.

    Cons

    Not enough opportunities to advance to full time. Management will keep you in a spot if you are good, and not allow much room for advancement.

    Walmart2016-04-28
  6. "maintaince"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance in Farmerville, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good place to work. Descent pay raises on your anniversary. Payed vacation, sick leave, and personal time. Three weeks vacation after seven years. Ten percent discount on most items in store. and on some items @ Walmart .com.

    Cons

    overloaded with to many "chores" that you could not get the general cleaning done. The use of thick bags when thinner bags would work, and thinner bags when thicker bags would work better.

    Advice to Management

    more help on maintenance when allot of extra things need to be done. Better discounts on food during the holidays. Longer time for the food discounts.

    Walmart2016-04-29
  7. "my opionion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     in Monroe, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart

    Pros

    good benefits, family oriented, stable employment

    Cons

    to many meetings, not enough appreciation shown

    Advice to Management

    promote by how good ones work is and not by favoritism.

    Walmart2015-09-15
  8. "Zone Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Zone Merchandise Supervisor in Farmerville, LA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great job. Learned alt of things that help me to promote as an assistant manager. Got a nice pay increase.

    Cons

    Took away our position without any warning. Got to interview for any available positions. Not enough associates.

    Advice to Management

    Learn to listen to your associates. MAKE YOUR SELF AVAILABLE TO ASSOCIATES. HIRE SOME PEOPLE FOR ALL AREAS OF THE STORE

    Walmart2015-05-15
  9. "Stores built too big"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounting in Monroe, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for but based on who you know

    Cons

    Wal-Mart needs to concentrate on their existing stores and stores that were built too big for the community. Case point Bastrop Louisiana was built to too big and the freight load does not match the head count.

    Advice to Management

    Advice to Home Office quit sending freight to stores that's not going to sell and have it sit in the back stock room to become deleted! Every store has very different needs and Home Office needs to look at the Front line store managers and listen to their input instead of having the District Manager dictate whats best because its not always correct! Everything looks good on paper but its not the reality that these... stores are facing.

    Show More
    Walmart2014-01-09
  10. "Overall its been alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inventory Management Supervisor in Bastrop, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Your able to move up in the company, if you move you can transfer to another walmart.

    Cons

    Lazy management, home office coning up with different ways to do things and it just diesnt wirk, cutting of hours, never hear what good job you do its always what you didnt do, under paid.

    Advice to Management

    Learn to appreciate your accociates for they are the backbone of the company. Quit letting your job titles go to your head and quit thinking you are to good to do any work.

    Walmart2013-09-21
Found 10 reviews