Walmart Reviews in Ottawa, ON | Glassdoor

Walmart Ottawa Reviews

Updated Aug 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 80 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Walmart CEO Lee Tappenden
Lee Tappenden
9 Ratings
  1. "Customer service candidate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I love dealing with people and help customers to have a good shopping experience.

    Cons

    Work schedule may be a bit challenging.

    Advice to Management

    Hire people who are willing to do their best for their employeer.

    Walmart2019-08-10
  2. "Love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Overnight Fulfillment Associate in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love my coworkers everyone gets along also our management team are great.

    Cons

    I see so many things being done that really just waste time...there is a huge issue with priorities and consistency. Employee hiring ratio of new Canadians who can’t perform or speak the language is insane

    Walmart2019-08-30
  3. "low salary compared to the work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Dairy/Frozen Associate in Ottawa, ON

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Independent work environment 2. Managers behave well with the associates

    Cons

    3. less pay compared to the heavy work

    Walmart2019-08-23
  4. "good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Ottawa, ON

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - nice co workers - management is good

    Cons

    - can be fast paced at times

    Walmart2019-07-12
  5. "nice place to grow up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Walmart Cashier in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    easy job, no qualifications needed

    Cons

    no benefit, so much stress

    Advice to Management

    be human

    Walmart2019-07-09
  6. "Consider this a temporary job or a stepping stone which helps you improve communication and customer service skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends

    I worked at Walmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I improved my communication skills, marketing skills (through selling extended warranties for electronics and Walmart Rewards MasterCard), learnt customer service, grocery bagging skills. The 10% discount card saves a lot of money on groceries.

    Cons

    Walmart is the busiest grocery store because it offers price match and most items are genuinely priced. So, working there is very hectic. Working long hours on the cash and handling heavy items will lead to chronic back pain. Walmart has switched to self-checkout in most of their stores in Ottawa, ON. There are 6-8 cash counters left. People still prefer going to a cashier which leads to long lines on the cash. So,... you wouldn't get any respite between customers. Cashiers at Walmart are paid minimum wage but looking at the amount of hard work they do compared to associates in other departments, they should be paid more. Sometimes, angry customers can make it hard to be happy at the workplace. You have to develop a thick skin to deal with unruly people and not take things personally.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Some managers (or assistant managers) prefer to promote people who lick their feet and give them attention. Loyalty to the managers is valued more than loyalty to the company. Then there are managers who pass their work over to their immediate subordinate in exchange of a promotion.

    Walmart2019-07-15
  7. "Eh, not good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Experience Associate in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone hates the job as much as you.

    Cons

    Everything.Flexibility.managers.customers. pay. treated like crap

    Advice to Management

    Get GOOD

    Walmart2019-07-16
  8. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart part-time

    Pros

    Walmart allows you to gain experience fast and expand your skill set.

    Cons

    You may have to work very fast when it is busy period.

    Walmart2019-06-16
  9. "Walmart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Floor Associate in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Helped me improve my communication skills, gaining a lot of experience to tackle every situation.

    Cons

    The team spirit there in my Walmart is not that impressive

    Walmart2019-06-11
  10. "Awful Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Ottawa, ON

    I worked at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Hours Not a demanding job

    Cons

    Less pay awful management

    Walmart2019-07-18
Found 80 reviews