Walmart Reviews in Peoria, IL | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Walmart Peoria Reviews

Updated May 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Walmart CEO Doug McMillon
Doug McMillon
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "walmart careers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Peoria, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    longevity, incentives, caring, accomodations, diverse

    Cons

    micro management, favoritism, discriminate, pay, flexibility

    Walmart2019-03-25
  2. "Poor management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cap Team II in Peoria, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    $11 an hour isn’t awful, the coworkers can make the job slightly less miserable sometimes.

    Cons

    Being taken advantage of by management, the lazy ones get to do whatever and the ones that work hard get more work loaded onto them each day until they’re burnt out.

    Advice to Management

    Get it together

    Walmart2019-05-01
  3. "Cons outweigh Pros"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashiet in Peoria, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very good pay and benefits

    Cons

    Lack of leadership, communications, ethics, bias immaturity

    Advice to Management

    Managers should spend more time on the floor because you can't lead from the backroom. Use your best associates trouble shooters in poorly performing departments. Having to do the same CBLs year after year is a waste of time. Communicate better by giving everyone an email account. Currently unless you attend the morning meeting you don't get important information. Sometimes that is done deliberately because... some managers, CSMs are jerks. It is a subtle form of harassment. That includes the people who work in the personnel office. Require all associates to know how to run a cash register within 90 days of being hired and have every associate on a register at least once a week. Do away with the current classification system and use the is system: Front end Aassociate, Grocery side Associate, General Merchandise Associate and Backroom Associate.

    Show More
    Walmart2019-01-30
  4. "Part-timer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Peoria, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible Scheduling for College Students.

    Cons

    Pay was minimal and employee retention was low

    Walmart2018-11-27
  5. "The work itself is easy and I’m often barely monitored by managers which I like"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Online Orders Clerk in Peoria, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I can shop for my own things while at work lol

    Cons

    I can’t wear my headphones

    Walmart2018-10-22
  6. "Stocker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Stocker in Peoria, IL

    I worked at Walmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Stocked shelves ,orangnized the shelves ,cleaned the shelves

    Cons

    I didn't like the late night shifts .

    Walmart2018-06-23
  7. "Im a cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Peoria, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I like helping others and meeting new people and like working at a fast paced and also talking with the customers.

    Cons

    There are none i just don't like when I can't get more hours to work..

    Advice to Management

    None..just keep up the good work.

    Walmart2017-08-01
  8. "Good for a temporary job (I guess)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electronics Sales Associate in Peoria, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay was great in the electronics department Even though I was hired part-time, hours were plentiful. I had approved overtime very often. Very lenient attendance policy

    Cons

    You run out of things to do very fast and end up zoning/facing for half of your shift Management will constantly pull you out of your department to do other, lazier people's jobs After being told for months that I was next in line for a promotion to department manager, they gave an open position to someone who knew absolutely nothing about their department (and this happened a total of three times before I left)... Upper management is very disorganized, prone to mistakes that seriously effected the work of lower employees

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't try to fire someone after they quit, then lie about who fired me and when. Thanks for six months of unemployment benefits. Promote people who deserve it, stop hiring people who have no idea what they're doing.

    Walmart2017-05-09
  9. "cahier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Peoria, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Walmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    $10.00 an hour and friendly co-workers

    Cons

    the supervisor seemed really aggressive,

    Advice to Management

    make it as easy on the workers as it is for you

    Walmart2017-04-22
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Somewhere decent not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Truck Unloader in Peoria, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    some benefits, paid time off (easier to gain if full time), 401k, relaxed environment

    Cons

    bad management, poorly shipped trucks, staff drama

    Advice to Management

    Get together and speak with one another to come to agreement and treat your staff better

    Walmart2016-07-21
Found 18 reviews