Walmart Reviews in Peoria, IL | Glassdoor

Walmart Peoria Reviews

Updated May 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 33 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Walmart CEO Doug McMillon
Doug McMillon
8 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "walmart careers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Peoria, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    longevity, incentives, caring, accomodations, diverse

    Cons

    micro management, favoritism, discriminate, pay, flexibility

    Walmart2019-03-25
  2. "Poor management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cap Team II in Peoria, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    $11 an hour isn’t awful, the coworkers can make the job slightly less miserable sometimes.

    Cons

    Being taken advantage of by management, the lazy ones get to do whatever and the ones that work hard get more work loaded onto them each day until they’re burnt out.

    Advice to Management

    Get it together

    Walmart2019-05-01
  3. "Cons outweigh Pros"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashiet in Peoria, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very good pay and benefits

    Cons

    Lack of leadership, communications, ethics, bias immaturity

    Advice to Management

    Managers should spend more time on the floor because you can't lead from the backroom. Use your best associates trouble shooters in poorly performing departments. Having to do the same CBLs year after year is a waste of time. Communicate better by giving everyone an email account. Currently unless you attend the morning meeting you don't get important information. Sometimes that is done deliberately because some...

    Show More
    Walmart2019-01-30
  4. "Part-timer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Peoria, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible Scheduling for College Students.

    Cons

    Pay was minimal and employee retention was low

    Walmart2018-11-27
  5. "The work itself is easy and I’m often barely monitored by managers which I like"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Online Orders Clerk in Peoria, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I can shop for my own things while at work lol

    Cons

    I can’t wear my headphones

    Walmart2018-10-22
  6. "Stocker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Stocker in Peoria, IL

    I worked at Walmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Stocked shelves ,orangnized the shelves ,cleaned the shelves

    Cons

    I didn't like the late night shifts .

    Walmart2018-06-23
  7. "Stay for the people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Pekin, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Coworkers and management are easy to get along with and talk to. I've been in multiple areas in the store, but apparel is probably one of the easiest on second shift. I have great benefits that do cover all of the medical costs I have. Plenty of PTO/Vacation time racked up over several months. Customers can be great, I know a few regulars.

    Cons

    Understaffing AND less hours. The new scheduling system is awful and doesn't give me enough hours to keep my full time status. Working on first shift, I learned that management can be a lot harder on you and expect the absolute impossible (one person running 15 pallets of apparel freight alone between 5am and 2pm). Not enough cashiers, ever. Cashiers get different pay, so floor associates have to leave their jobs on the...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stick to one thing, I know Sam Walton was all for change, but with how things are turning against associates, I'm fairly certain he'd be rolling in his grave. Fix the scheduling system. Stop understaffing and cutting hours. Work for the associates, the employees rather than for the company. Make us want to stay, make us happy rather than pushing everyone away.

    Walmart2017-08-08
  8. "Good benefits, not so great work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Morton, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of benefits, decent pay for long term employees, every day was something new

    Cons

    High turnover, lack of consistency, work all hours and all shifts, thin staffing

    Advice to Management

    Take the time to grow and develop your employees, otherwise they will leave. I'm hoping by now corporate has backed off on their constant revamping of operating structure, which makes it so hard to get a grasp on what you are doing.

    Walmart2017-08-05
  9. "Im a cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Peoria, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I like helping others and meeting new people and like working at a fast paced and also talking with the customers.

    Cons

    There are none i just don't like when I can't get more hours to work..

    Advice to Management

    None..just keep up the good work.

    Walmart2017-08-01
  10. "Not the company I hired into"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Pekin, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    the best thing that kept me there was the people. some of the associates had been there for thirty years.

    Cons

    It seems that they were changing the rules for those that had been there more than 5 years. Seems like a person had to fight for what they earned by being there.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your associates that have been there for a long time. Appreciate them.

    Walmart2017-06-11
Found 33 reviews