Walmart Reviews in Portland, OR | Glassdoor

Walmart Portland Reviews

Updated Jul 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
24%
Recommend to a Friend
22%
Approve of CEO
Walmart CEO Doug McMillon
Doug McMillon
11 Ratings
  1. "good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    co workers and customers and stocking the shelves and video games

    Cons

    hours management sometimes bathroom cleanups

    Advice to Management

    hekp when asked for it

    Walmart2018-05-04
  2. "If you value your time never work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier/StockRoom in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of over time Dont get in trouble if you are rude to someone who clearly deserves it..lol

    Cons

    Rude management Everyone looks like they want to off themselves (they seriously look dead inside)

    Advice to Management

    Stop being so rude and listen to your employees no body wants to work for a rude selfish community....bleh....get your head out your butts...its just walmart..get off your high horse

    Walmart2019-07-19
  3. "Solid company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Frozen/Dairy Department Manager in Portland, OR

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Job isn't too hard, once everyone is on the same page and on routine . The pay isn't too bad for the work done. Most people complain about working at Walmart, But the job is what you make it. If you want to make it a career, there are plenty of opportunities. You just need to put in the effort.

    Cons

    At certain stores managment treats you like you're not important. Some employees don't even try and make everyone else pick up the slack. Lack of training. Lack of effort in some members of management.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure to train all employees right, so the job can be done correctly and efficiently so the company can make more profit. Treat your employees right and you'll get more work out of everyone.

    Walmart2019-03-05
  4. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy advancement opportunities fair pay

    Cons

    Stand on feet for most of the day, hard work

    Advice to Management

    More training

    Walmart2018-12-03
  5. "Regarding Paid Holidays"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fresh Production in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Day off for Christmas. PTO Hours will be given instead of Holiday Pay.

    Cons

    To receive the PTO Hours given for Christmas Day...You have to make a request, by filling out PTO request form..Then those hours will be added to your paycheck. The week of Christmas, and a few weeks after Christmas, just about everyone's hours will be reduced.

    Advice to Management

    Reducing hours to associates, is dissapointing, sad , and financially frustrating. Stores need to be fully staffed to meet customers demands.

    Walmart2018-12-24
  6. "eh, its ok if you dont have real bills to pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Cashier in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    get yo work with some cool people and the registers are kinda fun

    Cons

    they don't give you nearly enough hours to live off

    Advice to Management

    if your going to say full time to an employee then you should hold to your word and give them what you promised.

    Walmart2018-02-05
  7. "Walmart review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working at Walmart was a good first experience for my first time being employed.

    Cons

    At times co-workers left me on the sells floor by my self, knowing that I didn't have any experience working.

    Advice to Management

    Maybe help a little more with new employees.

    Walmart2018-01-19
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Assistant Manager(Neighborhood market)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Advancement opportunities, ability to transfer nearly anywhere if you want to move, lots of PTO, 401k, 15% match on stock purchase, health/dental/vision benefits, performance based annual bonus. One of the few retailers that is doing well and offers some job security in the current market. Worked my way up from cashier to ASM over 5 years and the pay is pretty good now.

    Cons

    Long and inconvenient shifts, sometimes 50-60 hours a week, can be stressful due to under staffing, health insurance could be better.

    Advice to Management

    Consider raising hourly pay in areas with a high minimum wage, in Oregon it can be hard to keep the store staffed because entry level jobs are only minimum wage and rent is high here. Make sure store managers are following company guidelines and treating their people well, the work/life balance and stress of this position is almost entirely based on the store manager you work for. I have a good SM currently but have... heard a lot of horror stories from other managers and associates.

    Show More
    Walmart2017-11-04
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Not good but not bad."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Overnight Dairy/Frozen Stocker in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart

    Pros

    Good bonus checks. Flexible scheduling. Easy to move up.

    Cons

    Long hours No respect for employees Poor wage for a lot of work.

    Walmart2016-06-01
  10. "Bleh, discrimination"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Associate in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy tasks, a few managers who are humane to you.

    Cons

    Rude managers. Cutting hours to not exceed 39.99 Managers who do not act when you are harassed for being LGBT Ethics who do nothing

    Advice to Management

    Look beyond your own ego.

    Walmart2016-03-11
Found 26 reviews