Walmart Professor, English Reviews | Glassdoor

Walmart Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 41014 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Walmart CEO Doug McMillon
Doug McMillon
11947 Ratings
  1. "Fast paced and builds people skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - GM Support Manager in El Mirage, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Easy, great benefits, flexible hours, and very fast paced.

    Cons

    Managers not being on the same page. Rude customers, and walking all day might be rough for some people.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your associates like human beings. Listen and acknowledge your associates. Every manager should all be on the same page and come to an agreement.

    Walmart2019-02-10
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great work life balance with pleasant and smart employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer II in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great engineers and coders. Work life balance. Utilization of newest technologies.

    Cons

    Walmart is a huge company, so you're very disconnected from business decisions. There is also a ranking system to get raises and promotions. There is a forced bell curve for employee performance, so someone is always going to be screwed.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the ranking system and keep the standards high for new hires.

    Walmart2019-05-23
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Asset Protection Associate in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    It’s very fun catching shoplifters!

    Cons

    Working weekends and holidays and nights! Also dealing with shoplifters with guns. There’s a lot of danger involved in this job!! Can’t be scared to deal with some bad individuals.

    Walmart2019-05-21
  4. Helpful (1)

    "How I rate my Walmart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Manager in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    You get your hours, uniform,things you need to start your daily routine.

    Cons

    Not enough people for the work load you have to do. If another department needs help, then that’s where you’re heading to help that department get all stocked while in the back of your head you’re thinking who’s gonna help me with my department.

    Advice to Management

    It’s not management who’s the problem. Management has so much on their plate too. It’s the way higher ups that calculate this and how fast to do things when in reality, you need more than 1 person to do the job accurately or we will always have issues with plugging and empty shelves.

    Walmart2019-05-20
  5. "Salary Base"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Asset Protection Manager in Alva, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    APM base salary for an experienced person.

    Cons

    At time there will be long hours.

    Walmart2019-05-24
  6. "Working at Walmart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time

    Pros

    Great staff and great benefits

    Cons

    Rude customers and you had to work every area

    Walmart2019-05-23
  7. "Not So Bad!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dual Licensed Optician in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Very flexible when scheduling hours.

    Cons

    Very difficult to find full time.

    Walmart2019-05-24
  8. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Store Manager in Redding, CA

      I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      High paying job. Good processes.

      Cons

      High level stress. Company is changing for the better too fast and not enough time to let managers catch up.

      Advice to Management

      Take it one day at a time. The grass isn’t greener on the other side. :) Cherish your company. Take care of your employees and the rest will fall in the right direction.

      Walmart2019-05-24
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great job for a helpful people person"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Cashier in Albuquerque, NM
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Decent pay Many associates, easy to “fly under the radar” if you want. Easy to excel as there are many who don’t care to; excellence gets mgt attention.

      Cons

      Not great pay, increases come in small increments Erratic hours make life difficult

      Advice to Management

      Lead by example CBWA Show some care and concern for your associates and they will work hard for you!

      Walmart2019-05-21
    • "Assistant manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Forrest City, AR
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      The best benefit of working for one of the world's largest retail companies, is that I have the opportunity to meet and work with new people everyday. Being in a customer service industry allows me to make a positive impact in my customers' day, no matter how small it may be. Sometimes it's the small things that make a huge difference.

      Cons

      The biggest set back about working for such a large company, is that it takes so much time away from my family. Family is everything to me, and sometimes I feel like I'm missing out on the most important part of my children's lives.

      Advice to Management

      I would encourage every manager to take the time to get to know your people. Realize that you all are a part of a team, and that the only way your team will succeed is of you all work together. Understand that you can learn something from h person on your team. Recognize their strenths and identify where they will best be applied to make the biggest impact. Take care of your team and they will take care of you.

      Walmart2019-05-22
    Found 41014 reviews