Walmart Reviews in Rochester, NY | Glassdoor

Walmart Rochester Reviews

Updated Aug 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 65 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Walmart CEO Doug McMillon
Doug McMillon
27 Ratings
  1. "Best Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Geneseo, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great. Lots of opportunities for growth and development

    Cons

    Nothing i can think of

    Advice to Management

    None

    Walmart2018-11-27
  2. "Retail management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Geneva, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    401k, cash bonus, employee discount

    Cons

    Vacation / sick time extremely difficult to use. 50+ hour weeks.

    Advice to Management

    Be expecting an intense demand for results in a high stress environment. Work life balance is key and you must fight for it

    Walmart2019-08-23
  3. "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Overnight Stocker in Canandaigua, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, good hours, always needed.

    Cons

    The people there are rude and don't really care about the job too much.

    Advice to Management

    Have a higher standard before hiring.

    Walmart2019-07-08
  4. "Not bad, I enjoy the people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmacy Cashier in Macedon, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people I work with. Decent pay. Hours could be better but not awful.

    Cons

    Not too much at all.

    Walmart2019-04-08
  5. "Fresh Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fresh Associate in Canandaigua, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of advancement opportunities and great experience.

    Cons

    Work load can be way to much at times

    Advice to Management

    Divide workload better

    Walmart2018-09-09
  6. "Walmart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Rochester, NY
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Hourly associates are treated quite well. Salary positions pay very well.

    Cons

    Once in salary you are treated differently but paid for that.

    Advice to Management

    Don't forget that everyone is important.

    Walmart2018-09-16
  7. "I agree..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cap I in Canandaigua, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Yes great co-workers & customers. Shift is reasonable. Commute - how much closer could I have gotten?

    Cons

    Commute... actually too close. I thought I had all the time in the world & didn’t. Before I knew it, I had used up my points. However, I never was given a “coaching “, about it, so I had no idea how close I was to using up my points. Also, yes, I was aware that when I took the job, I would have to deal with frozen foods, but I also thought I would be provided the appropriate equipment like the appropriate gloves...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Yes, instead of telling the team to go “Faster” figure out a smarter & more efficient way of getting products from the back warehouse to the store shelves. Team people up that work well together that way, the work gets done twice as fast, especially with the higher shelves, & with up& down stocking.

    Walmart2018-08-28
  8. "Overnight Baker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Overnight Baker in Rochester, NY

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay, 40 hours

    Cons

    Temporary, you rarely see the manager over the area.

    Advice to Management

    Let the worker know it's a temp job before hiring into the position.

    Walmart2018-06-23
  9. "Modular Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Modular Team in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Opportunities to get promoted, Good working environment.

    Cons

    I would like more "best practices" activites, to show everyone the skills to help get out jobs done.

    Walmart2018-05-05
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Electronics Department Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electronics Department Manager in Victor, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Walmart has plenty of opportunities for those willing to put in the work, and are able to handle the stress. In the stores I’ve worked at there has been a hugely diverse group of associates working, and generally co-workers are friendly and helpful. Also Walmart definitely is not a company that is stuck in their ways. They are constantly changing routines and processes in an attempt to become more efficient (which can...

    Show More

    Cons

    You’re mileage will vary hugely depending on your store and your direct manager. Walmart also generally attracts a lower grade of customer so you’ll need to develop a thick skin as salaried managers will rarely side with the associate. If you do happen to have a bad store / manager consider sticking it out. Mangement rotates every year and there is almost always a nearby Walmart you can transfer to as well.

    Advice to Management

    Remember that it’s JUST WALMART, and you’re working with human beings. I know it’s easy to get sucked into process, but cultivating a positive and happy work environment will do wonders for moral and productivity.

    Walmart2018-03-29
Found 65 reviews