Walmart Reviews in San Antonio, TX | Glassdoor

Walmart San Antonio Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 152 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Walmart CEO Doug McMillon
Doug McMillon
54 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Asset Protection Associate in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    It’s very fun catching shoplifters!

    Cons

    Working weekends and holidays and nights! Also dealing with shoplifters with guns. There’s a lot of danger involved in this job!! Can’t be scared to deal with some bad individuals.

    Walmart2019-05-21
  2. "Wisdom to know right and wrong in your job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Associate in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    The customers make you feel appreciated even if no one else does just saying goodmorning and smiling makes huge difference that enjoy going to work knowing customers and my hard work taking pride in my work I see happy customers

    Cons

    I didn't know calling my concerns would now have me scare I might lose my job for doing the right thing in trying to get help to correct what's happening in the store that wrong due manager being vacation no one cares they running it to ground

    Advice to Management

    If employee comes to you with a concern that's very important do the right thing in looking into it seen if there concerns do need to be addressed and find out why it happened what will it take to bring sales back up never punished that employee for doing the right thing

    Walmart2019-05-13
  3. "Too much work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Cashier in San Antonio, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Walmart part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      The best reason to work for walmart is the breaks and lunches. If you work over 6 hours, they give you 2 15 min breaks and 1hr lunch.

      Cons

      they always understaffed and too much work

      Advice to Management

      If they really understand how to manage the employees, they should hire more people.

      Walmart2019-05-09
    • "It was ok till at the end"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Unloader Associate in San Antonio, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Discounts and benefits if full time

      Cons

      Dealing with management and rude people

      Advice to Management

      Its a ok job they just need learn respect for there associates

      Walmart2019-05-09
    • "I unloaded trucks then pulled the merchandise to the floor. Later stocked the items onto the displays."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Walmart Unloader in San Antonio, TX
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      The work is relatively easy. The work is a little fast paced and hard on the body. So just remember to lift with your legs. You will sweat.

      Cons

      The management is some of the worse I've ever seen. They lack communication dispite the fact that they mostly chit chat. You cannot find them when they are needed. They expect overtime then cut your hours, and demand you take a longer lunch.

      Advice to Management

      Enough with the micromanagement. Enough with the chit chat. Enough with the disappearances. And if someone tells you they have to take off their vests in order to perform a task, listen to them. You try pulling 800 lbs while wearing that blue vest. You overheat and it's uncomfortable.

      Walmart2019-04-16
    • "Review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Certified Pharmacy Technician in San Antonio, TX

        I worked at Walmart part-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Professional experience in a medical profession

        Cons

        Not the most organized company, but could have just been my store specifically

        Walmart2019-04-01
      • "Great part-time work opportunity"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Front End Cashier in San Antonio, TX
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Walmart part-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        - Flexible with my school schedule - In-the-know about the clearance deals - Opportunities for advancement - Employees soon become family - great, supportive culture - Management is different from store to store

        Cons

        - Work long hours especially during holiday seasons - Pressure to meet certain standards for sales and profit - Can be fast-paced managing a variety of customer concerns - Promotion can be a slow process if you're not close to management

        Advice to Management

        - Listen to associates when they want to be promoted, Take care of their concerns - Continue to be flexible with your workers and keep those communication lines open, workers can introduce ideas to be more efficient

        Walmart2019-03-29
      • "It’s not bad"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Cashier in San Antonio, TX
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Walmart part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        - I work at the neighborhood market so it is not as chaotic. - Pay is solid - 2 Breaks + Lunch for long shifts

        Cons

        - Lots of standing/walking. (Can deal with it)

        Walmart2019-02-22
      • "They are a fine inbetween job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Cashier in San Antonio, TX
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Good company to work for, it is a positive working environment

        Cons

        The work can get boring sometimes

        Walmart2019-02-21
      • "The Gentle Giant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Certified Pharmacy Technician in San Antonio, TX
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Benefits and pay. Pay is $2/hr more than previous employer and $4/hr more than nearest competitor. There's also a bonus program for ALL associates based on location performance. There's a 10% discount on non grocery items and produce available to all full-time associates beginning at 90 days and part-time associates available after 1 year. The pay for my position is the second highest in my market. There is a stock...

        Show More

        Cons

        The worst part is how people talk about the company. I've only been with the company a few months, but it's hard hearing the world bash something that has drastically improved my life. Everyone is held accountable for their assignments. If you want to slack off you're going to hate it. If you go to work to get things done, you'll love it. Customer First practices by corporate and upper management means bad behavior...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Grow a spine. Stand up and shout to the heavens (and the media) exactly what our company offers in the way pay and benefits in comparison with the rest of the retail and grocery market. Stand up to your customers, too! There's no reason to not require civil behavior from patrons.

        Walmart2018-12-15
      Found 152 reviews