Walmart Reviews in San Antonio, TX | Glassdoor

Walmart San Antonio Reviews

Updated Jun 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 154 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Walmart CEO Doug McMillon
Doug McMillon
56 Ratings
  1. "Overnight Stocker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Overnight Stocker in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of hours and organized

    Cons

    None I can think of

    Advice to Management

    None

    Walmart2018-06-23
  2. "Back to basics the SAM WALTON'S way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Part Time Cashier in San Antonio, TX

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Most people as very nice

    Cons

    Some management put themselves ABOVE all. INTEGRITY and ETHICS is NOT followed and they mean is a matter of who you talk to and what position they hold NOT what is written (management discretion)

    Advice to Management

    FOLLOW ALL RULES as Written. I am sure Mr Sam Walton didn't want his company to NOT follow his ways

    Walmart2018-05-14
  3. "Great place, rewarding , and challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ASM- Assistant Store Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, benefits, culture and training

    Cons

    Work life balance can be a serious challenge

    Walmart2018-04-02
  4. "Need improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - TLE Service Tech in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Steady and stable job, most of your fellow employees are outgoing and easy to work with. Decent starting wage now.

    Cons

    Some fellow employees will be lazy and will not work well, if at all. Walmart has a horrid attendance policy, allowing only 6 callins per 6 month period (though it will take a full year for these "violations" to fall off, so they can still punish you for that for up to a year). No support for their employees, they will look for reasons to fire those that do/want to work, and find reasons to keep those that do not want...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Learn to take care of your employees better, the way the founder Walt would have wanted and intended it to be. Support them when they are having RL issues, because they will and not everything is about the company. Real life exists outside of work, and your employees are the ones who have to take the first and greatest brunt of the customer's abuse than you are willing to protect from. Stop violating laws and those that...

    Show More
    Walmart2018-04-07
  5. "Terrible Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Custodian in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Observing weird behaviour of customers made the day go by faster.

    Cons

    Pretty much everything. Long hours. Terrible Pay. Poor management.

    Advice to Management

    Quit.

    Walmart2018-03-23
  6. "Co-Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Co-Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Bonus structure. Opportunity for promotion

    Cons

    Company re-structuring has created uncertainty.

    Advice to Management

    Look at other opportunities within the company.

    Walmart2018-02-28
  7. "Not bad but not good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Overnight Stocker in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Standard pay, full benefits are available, and it's not hard to switch shifts or stores usually.

    Cons

    Management is usually corrupted, little room to really move up, and low amounts of raises. And what raises you do get you will Be lucky if it's over twenty cents.

    Advice to Management

    Just to actually try to help emloyees, too often do management consider simple advice as a "coaching" which is basically a write up.

    Walmart2018-02-02
  8. "Poor the quality for work is terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Meat Sales Associate in San Antonio, TX
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are no pros that I can currently think of there is so much improvement needed its rediculous

    Cons

    We are not allowed to have meat cutters to help cut meat for customers the pay rate is to low for working with biological pathegons there only me at night the customers leave for heb because we don't have the right draw to keep them here we need live food demos to encourage meat sales but all my suggestions are ignored.

    Advice to Management

    Get full staffing

    Walmart2018-01-14
  9. "Can be good at times."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The customer experience and skills you CAN learn from the department managers.

    Cons

    Any store you work at it is only ever about which assistant manager loves you. NEVER about what you know or how well you do your job.

    Walmart2017-12-17
  10. "Over night stocker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits good pay opportunity to move up

    Cons

    Schedule, overnights stressful, no time for personal life

    Advice to Management

    Really listen to your employees advice and suggestions. Store managers should pay more attention to the overnight crew then the day time

    Walmart2017-11-13
Found 154 reviews