Walmart Reviews in San Antonio, TX | Glassdoor

Walmart San Antonio Reviews

Updated Jun 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 153 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Walmart CEO Doug McMillon
Doug McMillon
56 Ratings
  1. "Horrible company to work for!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Overnight Stocker in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Being thankful to have a job to say the least

    Cons

    Low pay...no ladder for advancement...horrible management that everyone is afraid of...racist!!!

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees fairly

    Walmart2017-11-29
  2. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Cashier in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I was able to interact with customers and co-workers alike on a daily basis, which put a smile on my face everyday; which in turn made smiling customers.

    Cons

    Sometimes the managers would make you work longer even when you didn't want to. It would be time for my break, but they would make me work another 30 minutes.

    Advice to Management

    Please make sure that everyone gets their breaks/lunches ON TIME. You don't want employees complaining anymore.

    Walmart2017-10-10
  3. "It was a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You occasionally get stellar customers that genuinely care about your well being. You get raises pretty regularly. Some managers are willing to work with you. Scheduling is pretty flexible.

    Cons

    You're overworked. Some people in management act as if they own you. You work every holiday except christmas day, unless you're lucky. Really rude customers that treat you like scum and very few managers are willing to stand up for you.

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to your employees, they aren't slaves and they don't get paid enough to deal with customers that call them every bad name in the book.

    Walmart2017-10-14
  4. "CAP Team 2"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cap Team II in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    some of the crew members are amazing

    Cons

    Management is toxic. some stores need to fire current management and start again.

    Advice to Management

    hire management that understand people and are open to advice from people that may have other experiences that would help.

    Walmart2017-10-13
  5. "Walmart is Walmart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - All in San Antonio, TX

    I worked at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    you can work flexible hours if your in school

    Cons

    its pay is low for what management has you do, 1 employee= 4 so your doing 4 times your normal job because they cant hire enough workers for the department

    Advice to Management

    get more workers. regardless of upper tier management putting stress on a department that is understaffed try to relieve stress. don't make people quit because they are overwhelmed.

    Walmart2017-10-06
  6. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate Military 2239 in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    short hours, no push for customer interactions, task focused. Operationally efficient.

    Cons

    Management is completely untrained and clueless. Most associates are thrown into the position with little to no training. The job isn't hard, but they are harsh and rude when something is not done correctly by someone who was never trained. I was put in jewelry on my 2nd day (no register login, no register training, brief rundown on location of merchandise) totally in control of diamond and fine jewelry with ZERO training....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get it together. Train your people and respect them!

    Walmart2017-10-18
  7. "long hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    not a boring job, good people

    Cons

    long hours no overtime pay

    Walmart2017-09-19
  8. Helpful (1)

    "It's good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is ok and the co workers were nice

    Cons

    Mean ppl and customers were evil evil evil

    Advice to Management

    Better hours and more higher 💰

    Walmart2017-08-22
  9. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Department Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    What I appreciate are the benefits, my pay, and the wide range of career opportunities.

    Cons

    What I dislike was the initial training, which is starting to change and the team building in some locations.

    Walmart2017-08-24
  10. "Overall very poor. They do not treat their employees well and misuse them terribly."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmaceutical Sales in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Wal-Mart discount is given after your probationary period. They also give you a discount voucher during Christmas.

    Cons

    Overwork and underpay employees unless you are amoung the favorites.

    Walmart2017-09-01
Found 153 reviews