Walmart Reviews in Shreveport, LA | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Walmart Shreveport Reviews

Updated Jul 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 35 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Walmart CEO Doug McMillon
Doug McMillon
14 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Shreveport, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Truly a great place to work. Patience and empathy is a trait to possess when dealing with your associates and customers. Promotion is possible as long as you desire to move up. the pay and benefits are above par and the USA minimum wage requirements.

    Cons

    You work with the majority of associates that are "set in the ways." Reprimanded when doing your job as a Assistant Store Manager (ASM) or Store Manger turns over a decision made (ie, coachings, Gains, etc.) which has an effect for the ASM to loss confidence in superiors and subordinates losing confidence in you.

    Advice to Management

    Store Managers need to have confidence in the decisions of your ASMs and support their decisions. The WalMart ASM training school needs to train more in the full responsibilities as a ASM (for example, If I am trained on the Front End; then that should be my focus for my 10 hour work day....I cant speak on why the truck is not unloaded).

    Walmart2019-07-06
  2. Helpful (1)

    "It’s a job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmacy Technician in Bossier City, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Guaranteed hours Insurance 401k (if you plan on a retail career) And then other opportunities

    Cons

    Too many to list honestly .

    Advice to Management

    Advice to management doesn’t matter. It will not be heard unless it’s a small fix or benefits the business

    Walmart2019-07-21
  3. "I’ve been with the company of Walmart for 10 plus years and I’m looking to try something different"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Manager in Shreveport, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Walmart offers good associate benefits

    Cons

    The downside of working for Walmart is that they cut hours and doesn’t offer raises anymore

    Walmart2019-07-08
  4. "WORST JOB EVER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Shreveport, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay at this time was good as well as time off.

    Cons

    TOO too many to name

    Advice to Management

    don't forget those who are faithful

    Walmart2019-05-18
  5. "I think over all the company is ok but a job is a job. The hardest part is dealing with the coworkers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CAP II Supervisor in Shreveport, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The opportunity to get half of your check earlier. The feeling you get when you can find things customers are looking for.

    Cons

    Doing one then one task at a time sometime. Having to move or touch freight more then one time as far as the backrooms go.

    Advice to Management

    Actually listen and investigate when lower level supervisors give their input on things going on in the work place.

    Walmart2018-12-12
  6. "Hard Work with Little Control Over Hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance in Bossier City, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Highest paying retail & plenty of opportunities if your record stays clean

    Cons

    Management is really authoritarian. The employee really doesn't have much say over their schedule. At least I didn't.

    Advice to Management

    Loosen up, be flexible. Its okay for someone to give hours back and give them to a team member who needs them.

    Walmart2018-10-19
  7. "I enjoyed the majority of my years here, but the corporate culture has moved too far from our founding principles."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Asset Protection Manager/Assistant Store Manager in Shreveport, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A high volume, high demand environment is a good place to gain experience.

    Cons

    Job reduction/elimination resulting in very low job security and increasing workload.

    Advice to Management

    Bring integrity back to the open door policy. Increase salesfloor associates to elevate customer service and deter theft. Return focus on theft, it is at increasingly high levels in high shrink stores. Too much focus away from theft and only on processes.

    Walmart2018-08-04
  8. "I am ready to leave."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Remote Associate in Bossier City, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart for less than a year

    Pros

    I am paid 11 an hr.

    Cons

    Managment and other associates not following policy

    Walmart2018-07-18
  9. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Shopper in Shreveport, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The best thing Iike avout working at walmart is serving our customers

    Cons

    The downsidd of working st walmart is that the customers arent always checking in to mobile check in

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees how you want to be treated

    Walmart2018-06-24
  10. "You're only as strong as your leaders allow you to be."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSM/Department Manager in Bossier City, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There's always something to do, job security is easy to come by. This place truly has the potential to shine, 5 star quality, if your management is on point with store success, communicating effectively and holding everyone accountable.

    Cons

    Terrible management at almost every location I've worked for. Most stores do not have the "blue box" set up properly, or enforce it the way they should be and people are generally poorly trained or thrown to the wolves still, skipping CBLs and Pathways.

    Advice to Management

    Do right, hold everyone equally accountable...don't pull your entire fresh team to go stock GM every other morning and monitor your evening crew better, not just the front end.

    Walmart2018-06-21
Found 35 reviews