Walmart Staff Reviews | Glassdoor

Walmart Staff Reviews

Updated Jul 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 90 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
38%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
Walmart CEO Doug McMillon
Doug McMillon
29 Ratings
  1. "There is scale and then there is Walmart scale."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Site Reliability Engineer in Bentonville, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The sheer size of the retail operations presents some one of a kind challenges to work on. Company is big and diverse enough that you can jump around and feel like you moved to a whole other company.

    Cons

    It's undergoing a transformation from a lot of legacy tech. Technical debt and people debt gets in the way sometimes. Can't use AWS for anything so it sometimes means having to re-invent the wheel.

    Advice to Management

    We keep smoothing out the culture and pretty soon we won't be different. Sundown Rule, Ten foot Rule, Grassroots, etc... The Walmart specific culture mix is being left behind hastily.

    Walmart2019-04-26
  2. "Always changing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Pharmacist 

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The pharmacy will close down for a half hour for lunch. Constant training Very policy-driven

    Cons

    Short on staffing. Always coming up with new tasks to integrate into the workflow with less help. You can lose your job at any time for no reason.

    Advice to Management

    Please give more staffing hours in the pharmacy. It cant function well or safely without it.

    Walmart2019-07-16
  3. "no opinion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Pharmacist in Milledgeville, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It has a good structure

    Cons

    I do not have an opinion

    Advice to Management

    I do not have any advice for management.

    Walmart2019-07-10
  4. "Great company but heading the wrong direction for employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Pharmacist in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits with good pay.

    Cons

    Heading to automation and are focusing less on employees. More and more layoffs all the time.

    Walmart2019-07-09
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Walmart drastically cutting pharmacy team hours throughout company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Pharmacist in Dayton, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1/2 hour lunch break. employee discount.

    Cons

    Focus of pharmacy has shifted completely. The company used to put patient safety above all else. That has fallen to the wayside. Profit is everything going forward.

    Advice to Management

    Corporate greed corrupts everything.

    Walmart2019-06-25
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Management not very honest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Pharmacist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of part time hours if that’s what you want

    Cons

    Lack of respect for pharmacist as a highly educated professional.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your pharmacist with respect that you give independent optometrist

    Walmart2019-06-10
  7. Helpful (1)

    "an average retail company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Pharmacist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    updated computer system, a lot of hard working associates and opportunities to update skills through different programs.

    Cons

    inappropriate staffing especially on critical days, privileged management, no appreciation of hard work.

    Advice to Management

    listen to associates, have realistic expectations, have your upper management meet appropriate standards, lead by example, eliminate ignorance as a normal occurrence.

    Walmart2019-05-11
  8. "Be careful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Pharmacist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good money and good co-workers

    Cons

    You Can’t trust the management

    Advice to Management

    Be faithful, fair, and honest to your employees

    Walmart2019-06-14
  9. "Not parted very good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Engineer in San Bruno, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good salary.Good benefits. that's it.

    Cons

    Your life is over. No balance.

    Walmart2019-06-11
  10. "PoOr"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Staff 

      I worked at Walmart part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      None because it is Walmart

      Cons

      Meh they really are blah

      Advice to Management

      None

      Walmart2019-06-09
    Found 90 reviews