Walmart Reviews in Tennessee | Glassdoor

Walmart Tennessee Reviews

Updated Jun 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 518 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Walmart CEO Doug McMillon
Doug McMillon
177 Ratings
  1. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Hohenwald, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good people to work with,

    Cons

    Wants you to work on your unavabile time

    Advice to Management

    Keep to the employee's requested time. Don't switch jobs before Associate gets to work.

    Walmart2019-05-07
  2. "my experance in (Hohenwald TN)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cart Pusher in Hohenwald, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It a hard job and a good way to lose weight. some team member are awesome to be around and work together as a Team the health insurance is worth getting.

    Cons

    sometime you be working alone on holidays and/or Black Friday you be doing the training for other co-worker and not management. (not in job description or extra pay for giving training) management won't give you proper supply or support when asked, fire employ for refusing to do a job due to health issues. harassment by management, threaten to be terminate if you did not enter there office for "coaching" when...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    more camera in there stores, mainly in office area to avoid any future harassment from management or assistant management change the term "coaching" to write up. due to false information

    Walmart2019-06-11
  3. "Worked In Michigan Alabama Tennesee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmacist in Decherd, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good Company Leadership Complex Structured

    Cons

    Management is political and can not provide any documentation.

    Advice to Management

    They can allow politics affect decisions

    Walmart2019-06-07
  4. "Walmart Claims associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Associate in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Easy to move up in the company, decent pay, good benefits.

    Cons

    Managers push for to manage product more than managing people. In claims you’re doing quite a lot of lifting.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your claims associates really well, because they manage so much of your stores information and money by controlling what goes out. They really should pay more for all the extra work that Claims has to deal with.

    Walmart2019-05-31
  5. "Did not like it here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Asset Protection in Johnson City, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is a job, a rather high paying job for the area

    Cons

    Very Stressful, doesn't really care about it's employees well being or happiness, lots of gossip and favortism

    Advice to Management

    Hire more employees so that the job isn't so stressful, treat employees better...care more

    Walmart2019-05-29
  6. "Liked working in a neighborhood store but there’s no way to move up !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Self Checkout Host in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Helpful associates and supervisors, decent pay rate

    Cons

    Poor management and lack of moving up opportunities

    Advice to Management

    Favoritisms will never get you any good!

    Walmart2019-05-14
  7. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Gas Station Attendant in East Ridge, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked at Walmart for 3 years and I consider the pay great compared to the other jobs around in my city

    Cons

    Despite being a dedicated and hard worker, once I recieved my new position as a Gas Station Attendant, they would not give me a raise and would task me with handled things like giant Hornet's nests on my own

    Advice to Management

    Care more about your employees

    Walmart2019-05-13
  8. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Overnight Cashier in Humboldt, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible and plenty of hours.

    Cons

    None! Overall a great place to work.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up 👍

    Walmart2019-04-27
  9. "It pays the bills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Front End Cashier in Hixson, TN

      I have been working at Walmart part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      I have a job. I get an employee discount of 10% on some items in the store.

      Cons

      No insurance and being a part time employee no insurance is offered unless your status changes to full time, which is very hard to get. It is my understanding after you have been on the job for a year insurance may be offered.

      Advice to Management

      Listen to your workers...whether it be good or bad comments, all comments should be taking into consideration at the store level and if at the store level something can't be done it may need to be passed upward to go as far as Corporate.

      Walmart2019-05-09
    • "Sucks"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in Clarksville, TN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Walmart full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Almost every single thing except

      Cons

      The attendance policy is easily the worst ever.

      Walmart2019-04-11
    Found 518 reviews