Walmart Reviews in Valdosta, GA | Glassdoor

Walmart Valdosta Reviews

Updated Aug 31, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
57%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Walmart CEO Doug McMillon
Doug McMillon
8 Ratings
  1. "Do not work for them they blame u for others problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Valdosta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None they duo no care

    Cons

    Poor management not wanting to listen

    Advice to Management

    Poor some of of them

    Walmart2017-02-13
  2. "Working at walmart was good I met lots of new people ."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Walmart Cashier in Valdosta, GA

    I worked at Walmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    When I worked at walmart they treated me fair its a great place to work when you like working with people around you.

    Cons

    Having to work at walmart as a cashier it quite challenging because you have more than one thing to do, attend the costurmers and have everything organiz.

    Walmart2016-11-19
  3. "overseeing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Valdosta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart for more than a year

    Pros

    it is a good place to work

    Cons

    u have to train yourself how to deal with the way they train u

    Walmart2015-09-21
  4. "Salesman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Valdosta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    One will receive a paycheck.

    Cons

    Too many to listen, not pay enough money, management is horrible, workers are worked and treated as nothing.

    Advice to Management

    nothing let them sink like the titanic.

    Walmart2015-08-07
  5. "cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Associate in Valdosta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart

    Pros

    Its the best job to ever have.I'd love to have my jjob back.

    Cons

    Haven't. any thing bad to say bout workin for walmart.

    Advice to Management

    Management worked with me but I just lived to far away to drive

    Walmart2015-06-02
  6. "I am a new hire, hopefully I will have a good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Walmart Cashier in Valdosta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart

    Pros

    Good starting pay for an entry job.

    Cons

    no cons to be discussed

    Walmart2015-05-03
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Electronics Department Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Valdosta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Walmart full-time

    Pros

    Fast paced environment, always something to do.

    Cons

    Pay raise for supervisor positions were a joke.

    Advice to Management

    Try more positive reinforcement.

    Walmart2015-04-23
  8. "Underpaid worker bee company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Salesfloor Associate in Valdosta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Somewhat flexible with shifts Employee discount available with any payment Once per year additional discount on one big ticket item Lots of emphasis on cross-training so you get a variety

    Cons

    Unreasonable attendance - even hospital stays with a doc note count to unapproved absence Staff is stretched thin - you are expected to work like a slave with no recognition Nobody is safe from hour cuts, but you're still expected to accomplish the same amount of work, the more you are cross-trained in the thinner they will stretch you.

    Advice to Management

    Share some more profit from your mega chain's massive earnings with the working class that bears the brunt of the workload instead of keeping such high ratios for the white collars.

    Walmart2013-09-01
  9. "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Automotive Technician in Valdosta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I can't think of any pros to be honest. The people in my department (TLE) were okay.

    Cons

    Everything, the employees, managers, their priorities are completely out of order.

    Advice to Management

    Too many managers, none of them ever seem to be on the same page, maybe it would help if you had few managers.

    Walmart2013-01-20
  10. "Its a job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Unloader in Valdosta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The hours posted are the hours you work. You rarely will ever get called in. You are expected to work no overtime even during the holidays. During the holidays you can ask for overtime. You see your manager often so everyone is on the same page as far as tasks that need to be taken care of throughout the shift. Walmart does not like to hire full time. If you are full time after a year you are capable of... getting benefits from them. If you are not a full time associate you can still ask and work full time ours.

    Show More

    Cons

    Walmart will always tell you that you can build a career with them. I think it is just to keep you working there. Management will try to convine you to stay late and put in more hours, but later in the week they will force you to leave early. In the end you only put in your origional 40 hours, this happens very often. I tried to turn in a set of my orders leading up to deploying. The manager would not accept... them and I left work with no formal leave of absnece. All of my managers knew my situation. I also tried to turn a set into the personel office. The personel office does not open until after the night shift is over. Every manager knew I was given orders to train and deploy. Walmart still fired me for not coming into work. The personal office had all of my telephone numbers and my emails. It would have been an easy fix had my employer let me know there was an issue. My unit or jag I beleive would have been more than happy to get in touch with them and fix it had I known there was a problem. I hope to resolve it when I go home.

    Show More
    Walmart2012-11-27
Found 21 reviews